This Father’s Day, I’m Sharing What Matters

Aura
Aura Blog
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2018

by Jonathan Harris

It’s almost Father’s Day, and I’ve been thinking about how quickly my kids are growing up. Moore is 23, and Kate just turned 21.

My kids mean everything to me.

When they were younger, I was on the road a lot. Like a lot. As SVP of Intergalactic Sales for GoPro, I basically lived on planes, jumping on conference calls in taxis to meetings in cities around the world. It sounds glamorous. It’s not!

The time I got to spend at home was, frankly, priceless. And while I was away, every photo of our kids my wife texted put a huge grin on my face. These photos — the little slice of home — never failed to make my day a little better. If I was having a long week, or a particularly rough day of meetings and travel, that one snapshot of my kids would instantly transport me home.

I was fortunate. Our team worked hard, and the company turned into a global success. This success gave me the freedom to retire early, and I leaped at the opportunity.

I guess I don’t do anything half-heartedly… even retirement. With my newfound freedom, I spent every possible moment with the kids. We went to college sports games, we watched amazing concerts, and we traveled like mad. I chronicled all our fantastic adventures with my iPhone.

Here’s the thing: all of those amazing photos? They just sat there on my phone.

Last year I got a call from Abdur and Eric who I’ve known for a few years. They provided some of the early magic (and tech genius) to disruptive companies like Twitter and aol. They told me they’d created a solution to a problem we all share: how do we move photos off our devices and into our lives? Their answer was Aura.

Share the moments that matter with the people who matter, with Aura

These guys are like me. We’re busy. We don’t have time to get photos printed (who does?).

When they told me about the technology behind Aura, I was intrigued. When I saw the thoughtful design that goes into each frame, I was sold. Finally, I thought, anything on my phone can be displayed in my home, instantly.

I joined the Aura team almost as quickly as I fell in love with their products.

As a leader in this company, I’ve seen how Aura brings a bit of joy into every day. Friends sharing their best high school moments with buddies across the country. Siblings keeping each other involved in their kids’ childhoods. Snapshots from family vacations that instantly appear thousands of miles away. And I’ve seen my aging mom’s eyes light up when we share a new photo of the kids with her Aura.

People who already have an Aura are our best advertising. They talk about Aura on social media. They give Aura to friends and loved ones. In fact, one of my top priorities this year was launching a rewards program for our most loyal customers (and there’s a lot of you!). Everyone you refer gets $50 off their purchase, and you get $30 sent to you through PayPalⓇ. Like Aura, our Ambassador Club is easy to use and it’ll put a smile on your face.

This Father’s Day, I hope you’ll join me in sharing the magic of Aura. Trust me — you’ll be glad you did.

Happy Father’s Day.

JH

Jonathan Harris is the president of Aura Frames.

--

--

Aura
Aura Blog

A smart picture frame designed to fill your home with beautiful photos and unforgettable memories. Now that's something to smile about.