Neon

Abhimhanyu Vijayaraghavan
Aurora TLS
Published in
1 min readFeb 14, 2022
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Like red and frilly at a black-tie event

Wondering if I was the only one, not god-sent

Wishing I never had to dig deep and drill

Wishing nobody bothered me; their screams loud and shrill

Afraid of my opinions being judged by people

I stayed mum, sickly and feeble

I felt out of place; like neon on a palette of monochrome

Like I belonged elsewhere, never really at home

Never did I find footing, always wet behind the ears

Smiling away and hiding behind my insecurities and fears

Now I know there’s so much more to lean on than just marks and mistakes

There’s no such thing as broken bridges and lost stakes

I’m too young but have no time to waste

I want to live the primadonna way, lavish and with taste

So what if the conformers want our heads on a pike

Here’s my canvas and I will desecrate it as I like

After all, I couldn’t be worse than pineapple on pizza

--

--