A Message from the Founder of Austin Anthem

Josh Babetski
Austin Anthem
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2021

Hey Grackles!

Today I’m announcing my retirement from the role of President of Austin Anthem.

Since 2013, I’ve worked to help support the soccer community of Austin. Moving from New York, I quickly adopted the Austin AzTex, got involved and became President of the local American Outlaws chapter, and started to think about the potential for an MLS team in Austin and how I could help make that a reality. That resulted in founding MLS in Austin (now Austin Anthem), which launched, grew, and successfully led the community movement to bring Austin FC to town.

Many months ago, I communicated my intention to Anthem leadership that I intended to take a step back from the position of President. After many years of balancing work, life, and Anthem, it was time to better align my role for the betterment of all three. Playing in our own stadium and getting our first win at home felt like a good time to finally close out the checklist of “Bring MLS Club to Austin.” I’m grateful for the opportunity to have been personally involved in so many of the key moments that made Austin FC a reality; I’m excited for all of the milestones yet to come we will enjoy together as supporters.

As part of a transition plan, I’ve outlined a proposal for leadership with recommendations focused on updating our organizational areas around the needs of better supporting our members and where we are now as a soccer city. This group was literally founded on a then impossible idea: Bring MLS to Austin. While it’s my belief we need to continue to attempt challenging things, we also need to have strong fundamentals of member engagement and empowerment, committees, and strong agency for our membership when collaborating with the rest of supporter culture in Austin. As the mission and needs to support our club and city has evolved over the years, so has our organization. This change in my role is just the next chapter in the Anthem and Austin FC story.

This club and this group will continue to be a huge part of my life. I’m still going to be involved as part of the organizational team and to help and advise however I can to support our community, club, and you.

With that, I am pleased to be the first to publicly introduce Tony Cardone as the new President of Austin Anthem. His integrity, passion, and leadership gives me great confidence that the future of our SG is in good hands. Please join me in supporting and congratulating him.

Lastly, I encourage everyone in verde to get involved — in large and small ways. This is your organization and we’re still very much at the beginning of shaping our traditions and culture as an MLS city. Take it from me, it’s a once-in-a lifetime opportunity. Don’t pass it up.

It’s been a privilege to have been part of this movement with this group and with Austin FC. Thank you for the trust and support you have shown.

Always Verde. Always Los Zanate.

Josh Babetski
Founder

--

--

Josh Babetski
Austin Anthem

Growing soccer and supporter culture in Austin, Texas with @AustinAnthem. Knower of random things.