Understanding the climate crisis — why the youth must rise up

Humanists Australia
Australian Humanist
6 min readOct 31, 2023

By Chris

My name is Chris. I’m a 16-year-old high school student who loves the beach and hates homework! Until recently, I was just another normal teenager, but something happened to me which changed my life forever. I never imagined that at 16 years old, I would be representing my community, and my country, in communications to the UN, or that I would have a documentary being made about my achievements in climate activism. I also didn’t ever expect to confront politicians and bank CEO’s head on, and almost being arrested in some cases! This all started 3 years ago:

I started getting really worried about climate change when my Grandparents’ house in the Blue Mountains almost burnt down in the Black Summer bushfires. The fire came within 100 metres of our house. We were lucky, but lots of people did lose their homes and even their lives.

After that I started reading more about the climate crisis and getting active with a few local groups. That helped me with the anxiety that I was feeling, and to feel like I was making a difference. But then, just a year later, when I was on a holiday with my family in WA, we got caught in the middle of Cyclone Seroja. It flattened 80% of the town, and tragically, a man was electrocuted and died just a few metres away from me. It was a terrifying experience that I’ll never forget.

We had to fly out of there and leave the car behind because the roads were far too damaged to drive. Having a birds eye view of the damage and destruction that had occurred really moved me. That was when it really started hitting me about how bad climate change is, and that it is happening right now. I had loads more mental health problems after that which really impacted my daily life. But I realised that there wasn’t anyone else who cared. Most of the adults around me were nothing but apathetic and every single politician was either paid off by the fossil fuel industry or wasn’t able to get the votes to make meaningful change. I had an epiphany, there was no one else who could solve this. It had to be me.

Fortunately, I wasn’t the only young person who felt this way, as taking down some of the most powerful and wealthy groups in out countries history would be impossible on my own. I found so many amazing young people who were also taking action in school strike for climate and the Australian youth climate coalition. I joined the fight with them and never turned back. I’ve been all over the country, from Brisbane to Canberra to fight for climate justice and it’s lead me to where I am today. Having a platform to speak on and being able to write an article for this amazing publication.

Whilst myself and the other people I’ve worked with have achieved so much already, from supporting climate focussed politicians to stopping funding for numerous fossil fuel projects, we still have so much more work to do. We are facing an ecological crisis on a scale never seen before and those in charge are prioritising lining their own pockets over doing what’s not only right, but necessary, to avoid further death and destruction. Whist we are reliant on fossil fuels for a number of different things, the time to implement a gentle “phase out” passed decades ago and for governments and businesses to say it would cause energy shortages and higher cost of living is a shallow excuse because they know better than anyone that if we don’t accept and confront those challenges now their will be far worse ones to come. The hole we’ve dug ourselves into is a tricky one to escape and it will cost us to do so but the last thing we should be doing is to keep digging deeper, hoping we find something better on the other side.

I am appalled at the fact that our government, along with many others, are doing just that. Opening some of the biggest and most polluting fossil fuel projects in our country’s history. The lack of integrity disgusts and confounds me. The fact that fossil fuel corporations can give thousands of dollars to the people in charge of regulating them and have free access to enter some of the most highly controlled areas of our parliament whilst we, the next generation affected by these decisions, can’t even vote! In fact, I have been denied access to the public lobby of parliament simply because of my past as an activist. I have no criminal record and have not been charged with committing any crimes, yet still, they classed me as a “danger” whilst letting the people who are ripping away my chances at a normal future and enabling the deaths of thousands to roam free in parliament is beyond belief.

Our new government was elected to do more on climate change yet they’ve only shown us that no matter who’s in power profit will be the number one priority. It’s time we hold our government accountable for their actions and demand a change. The continued support for and investment in fossil fuel projects is not only detrimental to our environment but also a betrayal of the trust placed in them by the people. As a concerned citizen, I am deeply troubled by the lack of integrity displayed by our government officials.

The fact that fossil fuel corporations can wield such influence over the decision-making process is a clear indication of the corrupting power of money in politics. It’s disheartening to see those responsible for regulating these corporations accepting financial contributions from them, compromising the objectivity and impartiality that should be the foundation of our governance.

What is even more frustrating is the blatant disregard for the voices of the younger generation, who will bear the brunt of the consequences of these short-sighted decisions. We, the next generation, are the ones who will inherit the world affected by climate change and the environmental damage caused by these fossil fuel projects. Yet, we are denied the right to vote and have our voices heard in the same halls of power where those who perpetuate this environmental crisis freely roam.

Witnessing the current government’s failure to live up to its promises on climate change is disheartening. We had hoped for more decisive and meaningful action to combat this global crisis. Instead, we see a continuation of policies driven by profit rather than prioritising the
well-being of our planet and future generations.

Now more than ever, we must come together as a collective voice to demand change. We must hold our elected officials accountable and push for a transition towards renewable energy sources and sustainable practices. The urgency of the climate crisis leaves no room for complacency or half-hearted measures..

Together, we have the power to make a difference. Whether it’s participating in peaceful protests, supporting renewable energy initiatives, or engaging with family, friends, or even your local politician, every action counts. We must amplify our voices, educate others, and mobilise for change.

The future of our planet and the well-being of future generations hang in the balance. Let us be the generation that stands up, resists, and fights for a sustainable future. Together, we can create a world where the integrity of our environment is valued above all else. it is our responsibility to ensure that our voices are heard and action is taken to preserve the planet for generations to come which is why I implore anyone and everyone to get involved any way you can. To join the movement visit

https://www.aycc.org.au/volunteer or find a local climate group so you can help make a difference!

--

--

Humanists Australia
Australian Humanist

Helping Australians live an ethical, meaningful and compassionate life.