7 Rules to Finding Your Authentic Self as a Solopreneur

Following these rules helped me become an authentic solopreneur

Rippy Gauba
Authentic Solopreneurs
6 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Lady working on her laptop on balcony
Image provided by the author

My journey as a solopreneur is not something that I had planned. My story of change started when I decided to leave my corporate job after 22+ years of working as we were shifting base to Singapore from India. For a person who is fiercely passionate about her work, this was a life-changing decision.

I was initially looking forward to this change as I was completely exhausted from multitasking the responsibilities of work and home. I was looking forward to a well-deserved sabbatical before plunging back into the corporate world.

There is no denying that the first few months were heaven with me indulging in doing things that I did not have time for. I became the best cook, the always available mom, and an ever-smiling wife. By the way, I was not that bad while working too, but somehow the work pressures still show in our demeanour.

I Needed To Reclaim My Authentic Self as a Solopreneur

But slowly, I felt that I had lost my identity and was missing the usual work buzz and a sense of purpose. I decided to go back to corporate life just at the same time when the pandemic chose to raise its head. But most of the organisations put breaks on hiring by then, and the job market had slowed down.

This was the starting point of my solopreneur journey

Certain triggers helped me take this plunge, and the most significant one was the desire to share my life experiences with like-minded people so that they can benefit from what I have learned. In other words, sharing my authentic self with my audience.

My definition of being “My Authentic Self” is:

Being true to what I believe in — in my actions, words and spirit.

This definition, though short, is not simple and has a deeper meaning hidden underneath. It is something most of us struggle with, especially in our youth. But as we go through the various stages in life, we realise that we don't need to pretend anymore.

I have these 7 basic rules which guide my actions. These have evolved over a period of time. Yes, I am saying ‘evolved’ because I believe that you do change over a period of time as you mature and gather life experiences. And these may alter some of your beliefs too.

Rule 1: List Down Things Which Are Important to You

When I was starting my journey as a solopreneur in the field of blogging, I jotted down things that were important to me:

  • Clarity of thought
  • Honest & relatable life experiences
  • Simple language

With these as my guiding principles, I started my writing journey. Whenever I am writing, and there is a debate in my mind, I go back to the drawing board and ensure these three are ticked.

Rule 2: Have Real Conversations

Let’s not just do lip service by telling people how important they are. Show this in your actions by putting that phone down and engaging in a real conversation with people who matter.

And this is not only with family but with anyone else — at the office, with friends or even your acquaintances. Be real in your conversations, in your concerns and your opinions.

When you have genuine conversations, you unknowingly share a side you may not know as you are paying attention.

I genuinely like talking to people, understanding their problems, and helping them out through my learnings and experiences. And that’s the reason why I started writing my experiences in my blog. They are real conversations I am having with my readers.

Rule 3: Be Open to Difference of Opinion

I may have a set of beliefs that I live by, and that’s why I am an authentic person. Similarly, others may have their own set of values which they live by.

Just because they think differently than I do, does not mean they are not genuine. They are their authentic self, and I should respect them for that. An open mindset to accept others point of view is a crucial step towards ending the conflict within.

When I decided to write, I was open to accepting feedback and different opinions of people. Some are kind and some not so kind, but the very fact that someone has taken an effort to read through my blog and comment is a great motivator.

Rule 4: Enjoy the Journey

Any new initiative or business takes time to grow & one needs to be patient and strive hard to make it a success. While we work towards our goals, let's not forget to enjoy the journey and look out for the green trees and blue skies on the way.

When I started writing, I had no experience, and the only thing I had written was office reports and proposals. This was different. I was writing my stories and experiences now, and there was nothing right or wrong. One did not have to worry about whether it would “Sell” or not.

I just wrote from my heart and started enjoying the process of writing. My new flagposts were my new blog or someone acknowledging that they relate to what I wrote.

Rule 5: Accept That You Can Make Mistakes

We all make mistakes. Especially when we are starting something new. But the important thing is to learn from these mistakes and move on.

I had instances when I had to redo my website and re-work my content. It was frustrating and time-consuming. I spent hours going through various Youtube videos to get things right. However, I have no qualms about accepting these mistakes, and I have shared these in my blog so that new bloggers can learn from them.

Rule 6: Self-Introspection & Self-Care

Time and again, we need to pause and reflect on ourselves and the life we are leading.

Ask these 5 questions:

  1. Is this the life I want?
  2. Are the things that I am doing giving me happiness?
  3. Am I always running after something or someone?
  4. Am I taking care of myself?
  5. If I were to die tomorrow, will there be some unfulfilled wishes?

Remember you need to be honest while answering these questions and course-correct wherever the answer is negative.

Have a self-care routine that will give you the much-required me-time for introspection and rejuvenation.

Rule 7: Express Gratitude

This is my favourite and never fails to work. Gratitude is a mirror that shows me how blessed I am and how happy I can be if I realise that. A mirror never lies. So, look at yourself and your life with closed eyes. Don’t you have anything to be thankful for?

Be truthful to yourself first, and then only you can be honest with the world.

Closing Notes

So, these are my 7 rules to lead an authentic life and the basis of my solopreneur journey. Did I grow up with these principles? I don’t think so. I think these evolved over a period of time and the various experiences I had in life.

I am at a stage in life that I don’t want to pretend anymore and lead my life my way. And as long as I don’t hurt someone on the way, I think it’s just fine.

--

--

Rippy Gauba
Authentic Solopreneurs

Lifestyle Blogger; Articles on Mindset, Motivation & Management covering challenges of Corporate life & Parenting. My Blog- www.my-ripple-effect.com