Do This if You Are Embarking on a Long Project

One simple tip that can keep you on track

Ranjani Rao
Authentic Solopreneurs
4 min readApr 16, 2021

--

Photo by Marc A on Unsplash

I received an unusual planner for 2021. It was part of a gift box subscription from Books That Matter. Although it arrived a couple of months after my birthday, thanks in part to Covid-19-related shipping delays to my address in Singapore, it appeared in time for my annual rumination about the new year.

Although I am a compulsive list-maker, I am on the fence when it comes to new year resolutions. Writing down your thoughts is a good way to make them concrete, but making a checklist has pros and cons.

Over my lifetime, I have lived through years when unexpected events beyond my control (even before a global pandemic), turned my life topsy-turvy.

Therefore, I prefer to set vague or generic goals such as “eat less sugar, write more, get more exercise”.

The difference between professional and personal goals

Anyone who has been through an annual goal-setting exercise in the corporate world knows the acronym “SMART”. Employees are encouraged to set goals that are:

  • Specific
  • Measurable

--

--

Ranjani Rao
Authentic Solopreneurs

I write insightful personal stories about my scientist, immigrant, travel life. 4 books http://bit.ly/RanjaniRao. Share memoir journey -www.ranjanirao.com