How Nike’s Slogan Helped Me Win an Award From Singapore’s President

Just Do It.

Sau-Yin Chua Bernadette
Authentic Solopreneurs
3 min readApr 16, 2021

--

Photo courtesy of the author. With the President of Singapore Mdm Halimah Yacob and Minister for Transport Mr. Ong Ye Kung

Just a few days ago, I chatted with a friend about how “Just Do It” moments are important at times — when we took action in spite of our concerns, fears, or naysayers.

I am certainly grateful for Nike’s slogan as it is my go-to mantra whenever an opportunity presents itself to better my life.

One example was in 2018 when I stumbled across information on Singapore’s highest skill award for individuals known as SSG|SkillsFuture Fellowships. Presented by the President of the Republic of Singapore, the SkillsFuture Fellowships honour individuals as masters of skills and mentors of future talent.

When I read through the judging criteria and the bio of the past year’s recipients, self-doubts surfaced. That’s when I muttered to myself — “Just Do it!”, and initiated the steps for application. It was a process that took a few months including interviews by a panel of assessors.

By the time the email notification that I had won the award came in, it was a surprise as I had assumed the worst when I did not hear from them.

All recipients were invited to a gala awards ceremony. As I walked across the stage to receive the award, two thoughts flashed across my mind. “Thank you, Nike!” and “Thank you, Carol Dweck, for sharing about the growth mindset!”.

Interestingly, another ‘Just Do It’ moment presented itself during the dinner.

I had brought along a copy of my book Fly Free as a gift for the president. By the time dinner started, there was still no opportunity to give it to her and I heard she was about to leave shortly.

“I really want to present her with my book, shall we walk to her table?”, I whispered to my friend Melvyn who was my invited guest.

“If you want to, I will go with you,” came his loyal reply. Loyal because we will be doing something unexpected and who knows, the possible repercussions.

“Let's Do It!” Once again, Nike to the rescue.

My heart was thumping real quick when I walked real quick across the ballroom to her table. And yes, I managed to present her with a copy of my book!

She was really lovely and graciously accepted the book. Photo courtesy of the author

My friend Melvyn quipped later that evening, “Now you can say the President of Singapore is a reader of your book”.

Final Thoughts

Winning the award was a milestone on both my personal and professional journey.

As for my book, I am not sure if she has read it. But it certainly makes for an entertaining story to share with friends on how ‘Just Do It’ can help us create awesome moments.

What’s one “Just Do It” moment that brought you great joy or a sense of accomplishment? Love to hear your sharing!

--

--

Sau-Yin Chua Bernadette
Authentic Solopreneurs

Dancer of Life 🌸 Believer of transformative possibilities 🌸 Business Culture Architect