75. UPI Journey

Aditya Kulkarni
Auth-n-Capture
Published in
3 min readJan 28, 2023

2023… another leg of a new journey… in last one month, we already have some exciting developments in payments (e.g., UPI for NRIs, buzz around 3DS 2.0)… let’s see how the payments ecosystem will shape up this year!

Talking of journey… The blog that you are reading also had a wonderful journey…. 4+ years, 75 articles, many readers, 1000+ followers… blog helped me write India’s first book on basics of digital payment — Auth and Capture.

Thank you all for being part of this journey.

UPI…. my second favourite payment mode (first is… ‘cash’).

UPI is omnipotent and omnipresent… comes in various shapes and forms that offers various functionalities…

UPI has evolved over the period… The journey that began on Apr ’16 is still going on… Multiple regulations, hundreds of circulars and many innovations shaped UPI and UPI based solutions.

Reference Articles: UPI, UPI AutoPay, Virtual VPA, Payout, e-Rupi, UPI Lite

Here is the journey of UPI through those NPCI circulars and various key events.

Legends

I am not sure how useful this article is to you…Frankly, I didn’t think about the utility… I wrote it because I like payments, I like UPI and at some point last year, I had plenty of time on hand and nothing to watch on Netflix :)

I did enjoy going through hundreds of circulars and drawing the journey map… and I hope you enjoyed UPI’s journey.

Note: I will update the timeline chart either next year.

Till then…. Onwards, Upwards and outwards!

--

--

Aditya Kulkarni
Auth-n-Capture

Trying to follow Richard Feynman’s words “do what you can, learn what you can, improve the solutions, and pass them on”.