How writing a novel is like a scientific experiment

Patricia A Faber
Author With Training Wheels
6 min readMay 23, 2019

--

Photo by Ilya Ilford on Unsplash

There is a process to writing a book.

Some novice writers think all you have to do is sit down and write; put words on paper. That’s all there is to it. But that’s not all there is to it. There is a process to writing a novel, a good novel anyway. I didn’t know that, not really, when I started writing my first novel.

My previous experience with writing was writing academic papers and health-related articles. The process for that type of writing is based on the scientific method.

1. Begin with a hypothesis.

2. Decide what you want to determine. What are the questions you want to answer?

louis-reed-747379-unsplash

3. Collect data to support or refute your hypothesis.

4. Analyze the data.

5. Come up with a conclusion, answer the questions.

6. Test that conclusion.

Writing a novel is like that. Kind of. At least that’s how I went about it. The writing of that first novel was a kind of experiment. Trial and error. A lot of trials and even more errors.

--

--

Patricia A Faber
Author With Training Wheels

When I retired I felt at loose ends without a job to go to each day. I needed something to do. So I decided to write a novel. But I didn’t have a clue.