Most Podcasting Conventional Wisdom Is Crap

Matt Wolfe
Authority Insider
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2016

I was on Facebook the other day, inside a discussion group about podcasting.

One person in the group was sharing a case study about a successful podcast launch that he’d just been a part of.

It had great insights and tips for launching your own podcast. However, one statement that he made just did not sit right with me…

He said something to the effect of “If you want to start a podcast, interviewing entrepreneurs to inspire other entrepreneurs, that ship sailed about 2 years ago.”

This is complete bull shit. Excuse my language but this couldn’t be further from the truth.

He was referring to the fact that there are a ton of podcasts out there that interview entrepreneurs and that you would just be another cliche, adding to the mix…

Here’s the thing…

I started my podcast for a few reasons.

  1. I wanted to have an “excuse” to network with people…
    If I was to email someone and ask to “pick their brain”, I’d never get a response. However, if I email someone and ask them to be on the show and I’d share them with my audience, I typically DO get a response.
  2. It expands my comfort zone…
    I’m a bit of an introvert. Having a twice weekly podcast, forces me to get out of that comfort zone, chat with people I don’t really know, and get more comfortable in uncomfortable situations.
  3. It builds my “perceived credibility”…
    Each guest that I have on the show is now, in a slight way, associated with me. If I have a guest that others see as an authority, some of that authority trickles down to me through association.
  4. It grows my audience and personal brand…
    Every time I have a guest on my show, I email them after the show, thanking them for joining me. I also give them a link and ask if they wouldn’t mind sharing the show with their audience. This puts me in front of potentially new people who may not have heard of me before.
  5. I learn so damn much!
    Every guest that I have on the show gives ME a new “aha moment” or some piece of wisdom that benefits my personal life or my business. I manage to get info and training from people who would typically charge thousands to consult on the topics they discuss on my show.

So yea… Has the ship really sailed on that type of podcast?

By creating another show like that, are you not going reap those same benefits?

And… On another tangent…

Even if you decided to create an interview podcast with the sole purpose of creating a business around it, there IS still room for more unique voices.

No one is going to ask the same exact questions that you’d ask.

No one has the same experience and perspective that you are coming from.

No one has the exact same network and will bring the same guests to the table as you do.

No one else is you…

Meaning that the ship has only sailed if you decide that you are not unique and that your voice and perspective doesn’t matter.

--

--

Matt Wolfe
Authority Insider

Matt Wolfe is a father, husband, author, advisor, angel investor and a bit of a hacker. He is the co-founder and editor at http://EvergreenProfits.com.