Why I Don’t Do “No Questions Asked” Guarantees

Matt Wolfe
Authority Insider
Published in
2 min readMar 25, 2016

I’m a fan of automation…

One of the emails that goes out automatically, after someone has attended one of my webinars, is a “what did you think?” email.

It essentially asks them what they thought of the webinar and asks what led to their decision to either buy or not buy… It’s a way to collect great intel and further optimize my webinar.

Anyway, I’ll get into automation in a future post…

A few days ago I received a reply to this automated email that said something along the lines of “I would have bought your course but you didn’t offer a ‘no questions asked money back guarantee’ and that’s why I didn’t buy.”

They’re right… I don’t offer that.

In all likelihood, I never will again either.

Here was my response:

“Thanks for your email and the feedback!

Yes — I am one of the rare people that doesn’t believe in “no questions asked, money back guarantees”.

There’s a simple reason too…

It gives people an “out”.

It gives people an excuse to not do the work, procrastinate, move on to some other shiny object, and then ask for a refund because they decided not to take any action on it whatsoever.

I completely understand that it means that I’ll have a lot less sales.

I’m completely ok with that, knowing that the people that do buy my programs are 10 times more likely to take action, 10 times more likely to see results, and 10 times more likely to evangelize my courses and training.

Saying all that, I DO believe in results-based guarantees.

I actually DO promise money back if someone takes action, follows through, and still sees zero results…

People who don’t see that as a strong enough guarantee are typically people that either just want a “peek” at the course or people that know they have a tendency to purchase courses and not follow through.

I’m ok if those people don’t purchase.”

--

--

Matt Wolfe
Authority Insider

Matt Wolfe is a father, husband, author, advisor, angel investor and a bit of a hacker. He is the co-founder and editor at http://EvergreenProfits.com.