10 Questions with Jewel, Singer-songwriter, Poet, Actress, 2x New York Times Best Selling Author + Mental Health Advocate

Karina Michel Feld
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readAug 13, 2021

…”Only kindness matters” was a lyric in one of my songs but it’s really become a profound insight 25 years later into the way I want to live my life. When I first wrote these kinds of lyrics many people thought I was too sweet or naïve, and I’m glad that nowadays people are starting to see the importance of love and kindness.

Irecently had the distinct pleasure to interview Jewel. Jewel went from a girl who grew up with no running water on an Alaskan homestead, to a homeless teenager in San Diego, to an award winning, Multi-Platinum Recording Artist who released one of the best-selling debuts of all time.

Through her career Jewel has sold over 30 million albums worldwide, earned 26 Music Award nominations, including The Grammys, American Music Awards, MTV Awards, VH1 Awards, Billboard Music Awards, and Country Music Awards, winning 8 times. Jewel has been featured on the cover of TIME Magazine, Rolling Stone, performed on Saturday Night Live, at the Super Bowl, the NBA Finals, for The Pope and The President Of The United States. She has experimented with several genres over her career with top hits in Folk, Pop, Club, Country, Standards, Children’s and Holiday music.

Mental health and mindfulness has been a lifelong passion of Jewel’s. She offers free mindfulness exercises and an online mental health community at JewelNeverBroken.com.

Jewel just celebrated the 25th anniversary of her multi-platinum debut album, “Pieces of You” with an exclusive Anniversary package of the album. Jewel has been hard at work on a new studio album and a forthcoming book.

How did you grow up and what was your childhood like?

I grew up on a beautiful homestead in Alaska, with no electricity or running water. I come from a family of talented, bright, and adventurous people. Everyone wrote their own music and poetry. Some of my favorite memories are singing and playing self-taught instruments together or sleeping under the stars. At 5, I began singing with my family in shows and by 8, I was singing in bars throughout Anchorage with my father.

Midst the beauty of adventure, there was also darkness. I often refer to my childhood as “chaotic”. My mother left our family of five when I was eight years old. My father, who I have a wonderful relationship with today, was a Vietnam vet struggling with PTSD and self-medicating with alcohol, which resulted in a lot of abusive and unintended neglect.

What are the memories that stand out to you the most?

I recall laying on the grass in the middle of nature on my Homestead and feeling An overwhelming love and support from nature itself. My father often said that our childhood in Alaska was extremely challenging and filled with adversity yet the very same nature also had the antidote.

When you think back.. What was it (was there a certain event) that made you want to become a singer/songwriter?

There was not a certain event or a single moment in time when I decided to become a singer songwriter. In fact, I don’t think becoming a singer songwriter is something I chose — it chose me. Having to face abuse and transience as a child, my life led me down a path of struggle. Writing was a way I could document and navigate this struggle; it was my coping mechanism. There was a lot of beauty and pain weaved into my experience. My songs became a soundtrack to my life. I did not anticipate it turning into a career, but I’m so grateful it did.

I believe the heart of every songwriter has been touched by struggle, and this inspired their soul to cultivate deep empathy and awareness for others. This is living expression of an inner poetry and beauty created by our suffering, benefiting also those who suffer around them. We feel an obligation to ask questions and push back on dictates & dogma that doesn’t make sense… and to encourage awareness and a new expression rather than just an escape in the form of song. I strive to offer a solution by going towards the pain. A healing through music and word, expressed with raw emotion.

When you look back was there a person who really helped you along the way or influenced you?

I can’t help but look back and be grateful to my father. He infused music into every day of my life, when I was with him. My mentors were other writers who had an unapologetic perspective on life. Loretta Lynn, Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Merle Haggard, Bukowski and Anais Nin. They wrote of love, and the real human experience. They refused to be phony. They never used art as propaganda to make themselves seem more perfect that they actually were. They had courage, we’re open and honest about who they actually were- worts and all. And that courage inspired me to write honestly.

Authenticity is so important, and you’ve always seemed to have embodied this so well. What are your thoughts on this?

Being a whole and happy human is really the greatest treasure we can have in life. I have always been astounded by how little education we receive to help us feel connected, happy and healthy. In a world of rising disconnection and anxiety, I am proud to help be part of the antidote by co-founding The Wellness Experience festival & by sharing what I use in my own life on www.jewelneverbroken.com. I am proud to share my life’s mission of being a healthy, satisfied person with others and to share the tools, advocates, teachers and champions I have learned from.

You’ve been so vocal about your struggles with anxiety and how you got through it. What’s your advice for others who may be struggling in the industry or in life in general?

At a young age I began to look for ways to deal with my anxiety, because I was tremendously overwhelmed. I found whenever I was able to write about my pain or sit with my pain it actually calmed down. I learned that being curious about it actually soothed my anxiety. This was the beginning of my mindfulness practice.

I’ve learned anxiety usually means my mind is telling lies about myself, or a future that hasn’t happened yet.

It doesn’t matter what you’ve been through, what damage you may perceive you have, we are all capable of living whole happy satisfied lives. Happiness is for everybody. I’ve talked a lot about this in my book never broken and I have a free website called JewelNeverBroken.com

You’ve done quite a bit with charity work and lending a hand to help those in need. How would you encourage your fans to get out and do the same thing?

I’m proud of the Inspiring Children foundation I’m involved with. For 20 years we have been helping at risk youth with anxiety, depression and suicidal ideation by giving them a whole human approach to working on their physical , emotional and mental health.

I actually address this directly in my online lesson “Angels” on jewelneverbroken.comwhere we encourage people to be everyday angels.

Growing up in the poverty cycle, I was able to witness a vicious cycle of negativity. The more we focus on our own misery, the more self-centered we become. It turns into a cycle where our negative thoughts feed on each other. Finding myself caught in this cycle, I looked for ways to pull myself out.

I’ve since learned that nothing saves us from our own misery like helping one another. It is empowering to be of service to others. I encourage people to focus less on themselves and more on others. Giving to others bolsters self-esteem and reminds us of how much we have to be grateful for.

I would love to hear more about your partnership with Kroger and what you’re doing with “The Wellness Experience” this fall?

I was introduced to Kroger through Inclusion Companies, my partner for this venture. Kroger has been amazing to work with and their commitment to championing a healthy lifestyle is what attracted me to this great event.

I’ve been extremely passionate about health, wellness, emotional & mental health since I was a child. Coming from a traumatic background, ending up homeless and having childhood health problems, it was my passion for wellness and mindfulness that got me through it. I had to retrain my brain to learn to make a habit out of happiness, and overcome anxiety and panic attacks. I learned to eat well and to take care of my body. Now I’m passionate about helping others go from surviving to thriving. This festival fits perfectly with my life long passion and focus on helping people to become whole humans. I’ve been wanting to do this for years, and put that out there. Trevor Drinkwater, my partner, reached out because Kroger had an identical mission. Our partnership could not be stronger and more meaningful to me. They truly live the brand and I am deeply grateful to be a part of this event with them. Rodney, their CEO and Colleen who runs Kroger Health have done an incredible job of helping us to make this the best music and wellness festival in the country. We wanted to make physical, emotional, and mental health inspiration fun and I feel we have achieved that.

The Wellness Experience is happening this fall in Cincinnati OH. It marries my passion for music and art directly to my other passions of health and wellness. I truly believe everyone can be well. The goal of this festival is to bring physical, emotional and mental health resources to the masses. Festival goers navigate through 4 stages of health: Health, Fitness, Nutrition, and Inspiration. We have great food, live music and meaningful conversation!

I know a lot of people are probably wondering.. Will you also be performing there?

I will not be performing publicly, but I will be talking on a lot of panels and I’ve helped curate some incredible artists. We have amazing talent coming in. Quinn XCII and local Cincinnati talent Blessid Union of Souls will be kicking off the festival with an Opening Day Concert on Friday. Also on Friday, I will be sitting in as a judge to Keen On’s Opening Act competition featuring up-and-coming talent. The winner of the competition will get to open Saturday’s Shine On concert featuring Cassadee Pope and Willie Jones. We also have a great partnership with the Reds and they’re going to do hip-hop music night after the game which will be very cool.

I know in my house we’re still big fans of the lullaby album.. It’s great for calming down the little ones. Any new music coming out?

That’s funny that you say that. I get so many comments about that album which was a passion project for me, writing songs for my son and singing him to sleep. I even had the head of the CIA tell me that he listens to it every night to relax. As far as new music, yes I have written more in the last year than probably any time in my career and I’m really looking forward to releasing my next album — Freewheeling Woman.

Is there a certain mantra you live by or favorite quote you have?

Only kindness matters was a lyric in one of my songs but it’s really become a profound insight 25 years later into the way I want to live my life. When I first wrote these kinds of lyrics many people thought I was too sweet or naïve, and I’m glad that nowadays people are starting to see the importance of love and kindness.

--

--