“5 things I wish someone told me before I became a CEO” with Dawn Dugle

An interview with Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

Everyone wants to “pick your brain” When you do figure out your story and what you’re selling, you’re able to tell it well at a networking event. That’s the great news. The bad news is, now everyone wants to “pick your brain”. At first, you’ll be flattered and you’ll go to the coffees or the lunches where people ask you a million questions and come up with a plan for their business, without paying you for your time or helping build your business. I got smart a few years ago and started offering the “Pick my brain” price. When someone asks to “have coffee” or “pick my brain”, I ask: “Do you have a quick question or did you want to sign up a ‘pick my brain’ appointment? For x-dollars, I give you 90 minutes of my undivided attention to ask me anything you want.” And you know…

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands