5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became a CEO: With Dr Tianyi (TJ) Jiang, Co-Founder of Avepoint

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readAug 13, 2018

--

I had the pleasure to interview Dr. Tianyi (TJ) Jiang who oversees product strategy and business development for AvePoint’s global businesses. He is one of the main architects in guiding AvePoint’s evolution from a SharePoint infrastructure tools company to an information management solution focused Microsoft cloud expert, helping enterprises in their digital transformation to cloud. A recipient of Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year award in New Jersey in 2010, Dr. Jiang received both B.S. and Masters in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Cornell University, and a Master of Philosophy and PhD in Data Mining from Department of Information Systems, Operations Management, and Statistics, Stern School of Business, New York University.

What is your “backstory”?

Prior to AvePoint, I was a software developer and architect who designed and implemented high performance real-time systems such as fixed-income trading systems and equity program trading platforms for big banks.

I have a passion for education, which has helped shaped me into the person I am today. I taught classes during my graduate studies at both Cornell and NYU. Seeing my students not only understand the subject matter but actually take a real…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator