“5 things I wish someone told me before I became a CEO” with Melissa Kaiser of DISCOVERY Children’s Museum

An interview with Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

Be sure as you build your team that you hire people with skills and styles complementary to yours and to each other’s skills. It will assure diversity of thought and help the team learn to be respectful of other people’s differences. Never come in thinking you have all of the answers. Seek input from your team on your most important decisions and set goals collaboratively. Give your team respect and autonomy, reward their performance, and make sure you laugh together daily and often. Conversely, don’t try to stick it out with a team that isn’t working. Change fosters momentum and new energy and always ends up being better in the end. Most importantly, love what you do, and you will attract a team that does as well.

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands