5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became a Chef of Bonefish Grill,” With Justin Fields

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

Working in a restaurant means you won’t see your family a lot. You’ll miss Thanksgiving, Christmas and birthdays, because it will be almost impossible to spend those occasions together. You don’t know it until you miss it and there have been times when I questioned my career path because of it. In making this field my passion, I needed to understand the sacrifices.

As part of the series about the lessons from influential ‘TasteMakers’, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Justin Fields, Executive Chef of Bonefish Grill, which is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2020.

Growing up in the Bronx, Justin Fields was influenced by the hustle and bustle of NYC. From a young age he had a very creative personality, getting involved in art classes, reading comic books and emulating artists of the time. The multi-cultural environment mixed with his love to eat would be the building blocks of his culinary journey.

Justin attended the Culinary Arts program at Bergen Technical High School where his

--

--

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine

2x pet tech founder, publicist, writer, and dog mom. I love learning about what makes CEOs tick.