“5 things I wish someone told me before I became a VP” with Wendy Johansson, GVP at Publicis Sapient

An Interview with Phil La Duke

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

--

Make sure you are empowered to build the team you choose, rather the team you inherit. When I took over an existing team at my startup, I thought it was a unique challenge since I had built great teams, but never “fixed” a team into greatness. I inherited many people, but they lacked the skills to succeed at scale. It was finally when I hired people with key skills I identified over time, that we saw rapid success.

As a part of my series about powerful women leaders I had the pleasure of interviewing Wney Johansson GVP of Publicis Sapient. Wendy built her 25-year career on leading UX teams as an early employee at successful early-stage startups. She was the first designer at Loopt, Sam Altman’s YC-funded startup that later sold for $43 million. As the UX manager at Ooyala, she helped build the marketing, videography, and UX teams before the company were sold to Telstra for $400M. Wendy also led the global UX team at AppNexus

--

--

Phil La Duke
Authority Magazine

Author of “I Know My Shoes Are Untied. Mind Your Own Business”, “Lone Gunman. Rewriting the Handbook on Workplace Violence Prevention”, and “Blood on my hands