5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became the CEO of Cambridge Capital, with Benjamin Gordon

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readSep 3, 2019

--

It’s important to be a great listener! In the beginning, I thought I had the answers. I remember holding an employee meeting, and feeling good about answering every question that came up. Later, I realized that I had probably talked too much. Sometimes it’s better to let others talk; to think about the answer; and to wait until the end before talking. I wish I had learned that skill sooner (and better).

I had the pleasure to interview Benjamin Gordon. Benjamin has founded four companies over the course of his career. In 1999, while still in Harvard Business School, Benjamin founded his first business, 3Plex. At 3Plex, Benjamin built one of the first Internet-based transportation management systems (TMS) companies. At Harvard, Benjamin and 3Plex were finalists in the HBS Business Plan Competition. Thereafter, he raised $28 million, built a team of over 200 people, and earned recognition in the New York Times, Business Week, and elsewhere. Benjamin and the 3Plex team sold the company to Maersk in 2002.

--

--

Carly Martinetti
Authority Magazine

2x pet tech founder, publicist, writer, and dog mom. I love learning about what makes CEOs tick.