Actor Bill Kelly On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career In TV and Film

You’ll learn something every single day you’re on set. Some of it will make you a better actor. Some of it will make you a better person.

As a part of our series about creating a successful career in TV and Film, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Bill Kelly.

Originally from Richmond, Kentucky, Bill decided to move to the Sunshine State after graduating from Eastern Kentucky University and has called it home ever since. He began acting professionally in 2011 and has appeared in over 50 television and film projects, including “Hillbilly Elegy”, ABC’s reimagining of “The Wonder Years”, “True Detective”, “Bloodline”, “MacGyver” and “Queen Sugar”. Bill has shared the screen with numerous award-winning actors including Anne Hathaway, Samuel L. Jackson, Glenn Close, Amy Adams, Mahershala Ali, Mark Wahlberg and others. Alongside acting, Bill has over 39 years of radio broadcast experience working for Clear Channel Radio/iHeart Media.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

My upbringing was pretty normal for a kid growing up in the ’60s and ’70s. We were outside all the time. Playing baseball, exploring, riding bikes, building tree houses and more. We had 3 channels on TV and the stations went off the air at 11 pm every night. And it’s true, we really did have the best music and bands. (No one today has any idea what a drum solo is!).

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I became interested in acting as a senior in high school when auditions for the senior play rolled around. I had been pretty shy about putting myself out there but was determined that I was going to try-out just to see what happened. I ended up getting the lead role and had a blast doing it! Then it was crickets for about 24 years. I had moved to Tallahassee, Florida and got word that the Film School at FSU would be holding open auditions. I tried out, did about 30 student films and decided to try getting an agent. And here we are!

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Where do I begin! There are so many fun and interesting things that have happened over the past 10 years. I find it interesting that half the time when I get recognized it’s because they think I’m Robert Patrick! I really want to do a film where I play his brother!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting?

I was in Atlanta shooting and had a 7am call-time for the next morning. I had gone to bed earlier than usual the night before, wanting to get a good night’s sleep. I woke up at 7:12 in a panic that I was running late. I hurried downstairs just as everyone was starting their day and went racing through the streets. I called the 2nd AD and apologized for oversleeping. She sounded a bit confused before informing me that it was 7:15 “PM”…the same night rather than the next morning. I felt stupid but laughed my butt off on the way back to the hotel!

Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

That ya gotta laugh at yourself.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I recently auditioned for a very exciting project, but I can’t tell you about it. Those darn NDA’s. I also recently shot a pilot and am hoping that it gets picked up. But I can’t say anything about that one, either. I believe I’ll jinx it for sure.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

Forget about failing. It’s the ones who don’t try who fail. I didn’t start acting professionally until I was 50 years old. I’m sure I embarrassed myself quite a few times before people started taking me seriously. Even my closest friends thought I was nuts. Go for it now and never give up. You don’t want to be looking back in life saying, “what if”.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Great people come in all different types, sizes, ages, colors and more. The more we come together the better our society will get. Martin Luther King Jr said in his famous ‘I Have a Dream’ speech that he hopes his kids would “one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.” We’ll get there.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Don’t sweat auditioning. It’s part of your craft. But do it and forget about it when you’re done. It will save you a lot of time agonizing over something that is totally out of your control.
  2. Cheer for the people who get the part you auditioned for. It’s nothing personal. And they will remember you for it.
  3. You’ll learn something every single day you’re on set. Some of it will make you a better actor. Some of it will make you a better person.
  4. Put your t-shirt on before you go to the hair & makeup trailer.
  5. Don’t visit crafty and fill up on junk. Your waistline will thank you for it.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Never take what we do for granted. Count your blessings every day for everything. 99% of the world will never get a chance to even come close to doing what we do. And learn a different craft. Welding, construction, phlebotomy….whatever you want. Give yourself something else to appreciate.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would like to influence them to forget about social media and actually talk to each other. It would do the world a lot of good. Social media is the equivalent of ‘road rage’ to me. People say the worst things to and about other people they’ve never met before. Our society focuses on our small differences and not the vast number of things we have in common. If you don’t agree with someone, just scroll on by. It will save you a lot of anguish.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are?

Frank Patterson, former Dean of the FSU Film school. He was very encouraging along the way and supported my acting career 100%. Collectively, every student who went through the FSU Film school while I was doing student films. We learned a lot from each other that has transferred over to my work on a professional level. They are invaluable to me.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

Always help who you can on the way up, because you never know who you’ll need on the way down. I live by that motto on a daily basis. If your gut is telling you to help someone, help them. Even when no one else will. And count your blessings. It makes giving to others that much easier.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Morgan Freeman. Hands down. What an incredible gift to our world he is.

How can our readers follow you online?

www.billkelly.net

https://www.facebook.com/billkellytallahassee

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1536771/

https://twitter.com/billkellyactor

https://www.instagram.com/accounts/login/?next=/billkellyactor/

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.