Actor Brock O’Hurn: Why a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people would be one that focuses on self-love

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readJan 28, 2019

If I could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people it would focus on self-love. From body shaming to low self-confidence. I honestly believe that when we truly learn to love ourselves, all those negative emotions begin to dissipate. I’ve never heard someone who’s truly happy say something bad about another person so if there was more love.. it would only make the world a better place in my opinion. It all starts with us.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Brock O’Hurn, an actor, model, social media influencer and fitness expert. Brock garnered fame in 2015 after he posted a video of himself creating a “man bun” that quickly attracted millions of views and created a media frenzy. Brock has since turned his popularity into a thriving acting and modeling career that includes feature film and television appearances, directing and producing. Brock has starred in Box Office Hit Tyler Perry’s “Boo! A Madea Halloween“, “Boo! 2 A Madea Halloween,” and made his TV debut in Tyler Perry’s “Too Close to Home” (season’s 1&2) that aired on TLC.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Thanks for having me! Yes, I’d be happy to! I decided to take this career path because it’s what I love. I’ve always been an artist in one form or another. From painting and drawing when I was younger to skateboarding and surfing as a teenager. I moved constantly as a child and the one thing I always had consistently was TV and Film. I fell in love with it! When a film could take me on a journey or tell a story that I felt like I was a part of… I knew there was something there. I’d see an action film and felt like I could take on an army as I walked out of the theater. So naturally, I gravitated towards acting and creating. I want to be able to give that imagination and storytelling that I was given to others. That’s the reason I do what I do now. To entertain and inspire others!

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

The most interesting! Honestly, there have been so many incredible experiences that I have been grateful to have but one comes to mind right off the bat. I was telling this story earlier today actually. When my social media started really taking off, I was invited to do the Steve Harvey show. We did the show and after all the jokes and fun was had, he turns to me and said, “This stuff is going to change your life.” I said to him, “Thank you. I really do hope so,” as I was very unsure but still hopeful. As serious as he could be looked to me and said, “No. I mean it. This is going to change your life.” The next time I saw Steve Harvey was over a year later to do another segment on the show to promote my first film, Tyler Perry’s Boo! A Madea Halloween. We taped at Tyler Perry’s house; as they set up to film, Steve walks out, and out of all the people in the room he comes to me and says, with a big smile on his face, “You did it! You actually did it!” That was one of the coolest full circle moments.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I think the funniest mistake I’ve made was a scene on my first TV show, TLC’s Too Close to Home. I had an intimate scene where I had to kiss my co-star. I’d never kissed on camera before. Well… After we shot the scene she snuck over to the director and whispered in his ear. In front of about 200 crew members he yells, “Hey Brock, you’re NOT supposed to use tongue” and I was clearly embarrassed but it was hilarious. We all laughed. So all in all, I learned not to use tongue while acting in a kissing scene.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I have a few things in the works right now that I am really excited about! The top project for me is actually a content-driven website, Brockohurn.com (launching early 2019). Which makes sense right? haha. I am inviting people deeper into my life and creating all kinds of content; from original content to health, nutrition coaching and more. I just want to add value to peoples lives in as many ways as I can.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

I’ve been fortunate to meet and come across so many incredible people in this industry all over the world. I had an opportunity years ago to help protect elephants from poachers in Kenya. I got to be there on the ground floor tracking them, so we could put collars on them to track their movement and vitals. The man leading us was a Maasai Warrior. He was 70 years old and didn’t break a sweat as we hiked through the jungle in Kenya. The thing that amazed me was not only his interest in U.S. history but also his knowledge. He knew more than I did and he was incredibly passionate. He opened my eyes that even a world away… you can have an impact on someone through your actions. I try to carry that with me daily and strive to be the best version of myself for reasons just like that.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Live knowing you are capable of doing all that you set out to. When you do so with good intentions, when you truly believe and when you take action to achieve those goals. There is no limit to what you are truly capable of!

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

If I could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people it would focus on self-love. From body shaming to low self-confidence. I honestly believe that when we truly learn to love ourselves, all those negative emotions begin to dissipate. I’ve never heard someone who’s truly happy say something bad about another person so if there was more love.. it would only make the world a better place in my opinion. It all starts with us.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

• Live Knowing. — I didn’t start accomplishing things until I started believing. Knowing I could do what I set out to do.

• Believe in yourself more than anyone else ever could. — When you do this if there is ever a shadow of a doubt you can’t do something, it fades away. If you first start out and no one believes in you, people will see your unshakeable faith in yourself and I promise those people will one day ask you how you did it. (You just have to believe)

• Be True to Thine Own Self — Be true to who you are in your core. Be a good person and spread good when and where you can. If you’re offered something and you know in your gut it’s not for you. Be true to that and don’t be afraid to stand behind it.

• Bring Your Own Uniqueness into the World. — There are billions of other people in the world and only one of you. Don’t live in fear of being who you really are. If something interests you that isn’t the norm or even if it is.. own it. You never know who might share your same interests or what you may do in that field that changes your world, somebody else’s or the whole world for the better.

• Never Give Up on your Dream and NEVER SETTLE! — If you quit you will never achieve your goal. But if you keep working at it. Learning from your mistakes and more intelligently begin again… There is no telling how far this life or that dream can take you. How much you can and will achieve.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I actually shared it in the question above. “Believe in yourself more than anyone else ever could.” It’s relevant in my life because there have been many times where people have told me what I can’t do or I can’t achieve. Those opinions never stole my belief in myself. I am new in this field. But I’m here to grow, to learn, to share, to inspire, to create and so much more on the highest levels I can. I will always be a student. I’m just excited to see where this journey takes me!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I can honestly say, my mom. She’s inspired me and challenged me along the way. Whether she realizes it or not her strength has taught me so much in this life and I carry her with me everywhere I go. She’s my rock.

Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

I can’t say there is any one person in particular but there are a lot of people I would love to meet. I find inspiration in so many forms. Whether it is from a story being told in film or even in person. Whether it is from someone who owns a hedge fund or works at a flower shop. I always say I will forever be a student. Regardless of what field somebody works in or what they do, I’m always interested in meeting people and learning. You never know what you might learn or even teach someone. So if I’m supposed to meet someone who’s read this column I hope they reach out and we get the chance to.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational!

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator