Actor Kelsey Caesar On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career in TV and Film

Always be the best representation of yourself, regardless of what you’ve got going on, before and after meetings.

As a part of our series about creating a successful career in TV and Film, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Kelsey Caesar.

A Houston, Texas native, Kelsey Caesar is an accomplished actor, model, and athlete. With over a decade of experience in acting, Kelsey made his TV screen debut with a role in the 2007 biopic about rapper Mike Jones titled The American Dream. 2017 brought him his first box office debut starring alongside Chris Staples, Michael Irvin, and Jose Canseco in the 2017 film Slamma Jamma. Kelsey has also worked with major networks like MTV and Disney, with one of his more recent projects working with director David Katzenburg on his new Disney+ series Just Beyond. Kelsey’s highly anticipated all-black cast slasher film “B**** A**” is set to be shown at the SXSW Film Festival from March 11–20 2022. The film is directed by Bill Posley, who is best known for his writing on Kobra Kai and Keenan.)

Ranked as one of the top track and field athletes out of high school, Kelsey was a highly coveted recruit, receiving interest from schools such as USC, Texas A&M, UCLA, Florida State, and Stanford just to name a few. Caesar would ultimately end up choosing ASU where he was a PAC-12 Champion for 4x400m.

When Kelsey is not acting, you can find him hiking, running, or lifting weights, as he likes to stay in peak physical shape! Caesar is passionate about the environment and is a supporter of the Leonardo DiCaprio Environment Foundation. He hopes to get involved in more charities that deal with global warming and the species that feel the effects of it.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in Houston, Texas, in a family of four. We were your typical, middle-class, African American family. Living in Texas, sports, especially football, was like a religion, especially if you are a boy, you are going to be playing football. If you’re a girl, you’re on the cheer squad of your brother’s team. For me and my older brother, sports were a lifestyle. My dad definitely pushed me and my brother for an athletic lifestyle, which gave us our discipline, and taught us how to deal with adversity.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

I was always fascinated with entertainment. As a kid, my family would always watch movies together; movies were and will always be a part major part of my family dynamic. Movie night is family night!

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

To tell you the truth, I’ve met many celebrities, rock stars and Olympians, but having my film premiere at SXSW is one of the biggest highlights of my life.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

Omg. This is so embarrassing. I remember being pressured by some college “film” student who claims she was casting director to do one of her scenes in front of her class. hahaha. This was when I first started so I was a little naive. We all have been there at some point…I did it..thinking she’ll cast me in something…smh.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

Having a film that’s Premiering at SXSW this March entitled called “B*tch A$$”. Bold title, right? It’s a rough one, because I can’t tell my grandmother what it’s called. It’s the first all-black cast in a horror-slasher feature…a first of its kind. “Candy Man’s,” Tony Todd is in the film.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

I always say that if you want to be an actor, do your research. Understand as much about the business as possible from the artist side as well as the business side.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

For me, diversity and representation really matter, because everyone, no matter what race, gender, sexual orientation, should be able to see themselves on TV/Film. What really drove me, to really want to pursue acting, was seeing legends like Kenan Thompson and Kel Mitchell, on “All That” and “Kenan and Kel Show.” Two young African American kids on TV, entertaining a diverse audience, was absolutely inspiring. I think there is a truly positive impact on our culture, by people being able to see their own representation aka, to see life outside their box.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1) I wish someone would’ve told me that your representatives were more of a collaborative piece of your career, more than just a one-sided relationship.

Story: I just remember being so scared to talk to my reps and trying to impress them. Which I currently think that’s just trying too hard. You just have to realize that they are normal people who want you to succeed as much as you do. Well at least that’s how it should be in a team…so communication is key!

2) Don’t cut corners on headshots.

Story: It’s the one thing that’s so important. It’s your calling card. You should just make the investment. Literally, the first thing casting sees…typically, the reason you may not be getting auditions.

3) Don’t ever pay to play!

Story: I started off at a so-called school, that was attached to an agency. Never pay an agent to get you a job.

4) Learn the basics of editing and photo retouching.

Story: I believe having this basic skill, helps you out in so many ways. You just ultimately save so much money. Photographers and editors literally make money off these kinds of things, because it’s a basic skill that people just aren’t aware of, that one can actually learn fairly easily… Youtube University. haha.

5) Always be the best representation of yourself, regardless of what you’ve got going on, before and after meetings.

Story: When I first started out, my rep at the time, set me up with a general. At the time, I was running track, training for the Olympics. I had track practice right before my meeting. Pressed for time, I forgot my casual clothes to change into. I got in the elevator with a guy, glistening from practice. The guy looked at me and said, “Where are you heading?” I responded: to a meeting. He said, “Oh nice.. dressed like that?? I said: “yeah, I just got out of track practice, and I forgot my change of clothes.” He then says, “Oh nice, you’re an athlete… that’s pretty cool… you’re probably heading to my office then.” He introduces himself, then says: “Well, I’m looking forward to the meeting you, but next time you should be better prepared!”

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

My recommendation is to find balance; you have to have balance in everything! Learn a new hobby outside of Tv/Film, that allows you to decompress and honestly makes you more well-rounded. It also shows range and is a benefit when conversing with reps, directors, casting and producers, even craft services. Nobody wants to talk about acting all the time, especially those in charge of hiring potentially hiring you.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would love to start a movement of equality…Equality for everyone! I think nowadays, there is so much misunderstanding of one another because there are too many people surrounding themselves with likeminded thoughts. No one nowadays are listening to one another. We agree only when we absolutely must. We should all be allies to one another regardless of labels.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

My father. My father may have pushed me so hard growing up into sports, however, he has always been super supportive with everything I have done. My brother and I, actually laughed at how we used to hate that he would be at all our practices and games, because everyone, especially the coaches knew he was going to be there. We want to know what it feels like to have a little bit of freedom. But, when I got more and more competitive in my sport, my dad was a necessity. He made sure I had everything, in order to get the best results out of competitions. It’s that support, that I always have loved.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

“I’ll never forget where I’m from. It’s essential to remain humble and evolving.” I love this quote, because no matter how far you have gone in life, everything you’ve worked for and achieved, started because of where you came from. Your home, your family, all the people who impacted your life in some way, lives with you.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

I honestly would love to talk to Pharrell Williams. I’ve always loved his creative mind in music and style. Those kinds of people are special. The way they see the world is just a little bit different. Hey Pharrell, let’s do lunch. I’d love to pick your brain! :)

How can our readers follow you online?

You can follow me on Instagram: @Kelcaesar on all socials!

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.