Actor Robert Gossett On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career in TV and Film

There is no failure in Art. There is a lack of work. In this business, learning how to live while you are out of work is part of the job.

As a part of our series about creating a successful career in TV and Film, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Robert Gossett.

Robert Gossett is known for his decade-plus run starring as ‘Commander Russell Taylor’ on TNT’s hit programs “The Closer” and spin-off “Major Crimes,” which ended its tenure as Cable TV’s highest-rated drama and netted Robert five SAG nominations. He is starring in the soon-to-be-classic holiday film THE JENKINS FAMILY CHRISTMAS that premiered on BET on November 18th. Robert is a fixture on TV, often starring in roles that capitalize on his authoritative stature. He conveys a mix of warmth, intensity, and world-weariness that ground his performances with grit and authenticity. Whether as an officer, agent, judge, doctor, DA, or pastor, Robert builds trust with his audience and commands their attention.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

I grew up in the south Bronx in New York City and I am one of four children. My mother is a Jamaican immigrant, my father was born here in the south. My father joined the New York City Police Department in 1946 after returning home from Europe after World War II. He served in the racially segregated United States Army where he rose to the rank of sergeant and was assigned to the famous Red Ball Express supply group in Europe. My mother worked at various jobs, house cleaning, laundry, eventually becoming a nurse’s aide. My childhood was filled with nothing but joy!

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

The story I can share that brought me to this specific career path is as follows. In the late 60s, there was an anti-poverty program called neighborhood youth Corps. It was designed to give disadvantaged youth an opportunity for summer employment. One of the jobs was performing street theater plays throughout the boroughs of New York City. No experience is necessary, so it seemed like a fun thing to do.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

One of the most interesting stories that have happened to me since I began my career maybe occurred a couple of weeks ago. As I was walking to my car, a woman drove up and asked if I was the actor that was just introduced on the daytime series “General Hospital,” when I replied “yes” she said, “WOW you look so much better in person.” I didn’t know how to take that at that moment and perhaps I still don’t, however, I found it interesting.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

A funny mistake: while in performance, during the play “River Niger” the phone on stage ran out of sequence during a crucial emotional moment and not knowing what to do, I picked up the phone and then handed it to my fellow actor on stage telling him it was a phone call for him. I guess the lesson is don’t let the egg be on your face.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I’m really enjoying working on “General Hospital”. I enjoy all the people working on the cast and crew. It’s great to be able to play a character that is constantly developing in different ways and not simply one-dimensional.

You have been blessed with success in a career path that can be challenging. Do you have any words of advice for others who may want to embark on this career path, but seem daunted by the prospect of failure?

There is no failure in Art. There is a lack of work. In this business, learning how to live while you are out of work is part of the job.

We are very interested in diversity in the entertainment industry. Can you share three reasons with our readers about why you think it’s important to have diversity represented in film and television? How can that potentially affect our culture?

Diversity must be the most important thing, not just in this industry, but in our country. In a country, whose motto is, “Out of Many, One,” anything less than diversity is an existential threat to that country.

Second, art holds a mirror up to society. In that reflection, we find ourselves and others, and thereby gain a better understanding of who we are as people.

Third, I like seeing that other people are just as neurotic as I am.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

Five things I wish someone had told me:

I wish someone would’ve told me to buy Amazon.

I wish someone would’ve told me to continue dating the beautiful Persian lady I met in Toronto, Canada thirty years ago, I wonder where that would have gone. Maybe I’d be fluid in Farsi by now.

I wish someone would’ve told me what a waste of time cocaine would be.

I wish someone would have told me that I would always have work and then have a wonderful family, and everything would be fine.

I wish someone had told me to call my mother more often.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would recommend a healthy diet to prevent burnout.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I would love to inspire a movement that would help people understand that we are physical manifestations of God itself. That our purpose is to love. Love family, love children, love your job, love your community, love your country, love the planet, love all people, love the animals, love, love, love! Through love we grow, anything less we regress.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

There are way too many people who have helped me to mention. I’ve been helped by perfect strangers, teachers, my parents, my children, my friends, colleagues, and more. I am a sponge and have soaked up many lessons and beautiful things from the people I’ve come in contact with. I only hope I can give it back or pay it forward as they say.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

My favorite life lesson quote? Take it easy. I think it speaks for itself.

We are very blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

Yeah, I guess I’d like to have a breakfast or lunch with Donald Trump, to understand why and what he is so afraid of.

How can our readers follow you online?

https://www.robertgossett.com/

Thank you so much for these amazing insights. This was so inspiring, and we wish you continued success!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is the Founder and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. He is committed to telling stories that speak to equity, diversity, and inclusion.