Actress Karen Cliche Of ‘Thanksgiving’ On What It Takes To Shine In The Entertainment Industry

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readNov 30, 2023

--

…My academic background is in psychology from Concordia University, and I initially aspired to be a social worker, psychologist, or activist. Now, as a coach and acting teacher, I’ve realized my role extends beyond teaching acting; it involves nurturing people’s self-esteem and life skills. This isn’t just for those aspiring to be professional actors. I’ve witnessed transformative changes in my students when they gain self-confidence and take risks. The feedback has been phenomenal. I’d love to start a movement where everyone takes acting classes, not necessarily to become actors, but to experience this personal growth. It’s about igniting a fire within and boosting confidence. Alternatively, engaging in any creative outlet can be transformative. So, my broader vision is a movement of kindness, where we cultivate more compassion and understanding in the world…

I had the pleasure of talking to Karen Cliche. Karen is a versatile Canadian actress, renowned for her dynamic performances across a variety of genres. Born in Sept-Iles, Québec, Canada, Cliche has carved a niche for herself in the entertainment industry.

Her acting journey began after a brief stint in psychology and modeling. Cliche’s passion for acting led her to leave university to pursue her dream. Her breakthrough role came in 2001 with the television series “Vampire High,” where she played the character Essie Rachimova. This role marked the start of a flourishing career in television.

Cliche has graced several popular TV series, including “Adventure Inc.,” “Mutant X,” “Young Blades,” and “Flash Gordon.” Her talent extends beyond television to the silver screen, with notable performances in films like “Saw VI,” “Steal,” and “Killer Mom.” Her role in “Killer Mom” as Jessica, a mother reconnecting with her daughter, showcased her range as an actress.

In addition to her acting career, Karen Cliche is a dedicated mother and a vocal advocate for women’s issues and against sex trafficking. She briefly stepped away from acting to focus on motherhood, raising her daughter in Ottawa. Cliche’s return to the screen has been marked with significant roles, including a part in Eli Roth’s thriller film “Thanksgiving,” based on a mock-trailer from Quentin Tarantino’s “Grindhouse.”

Cliche’s role in “Thanksgiving,” which released in November 2023, adds to her impressive portfolio, which has led some to label her a scream queen for her performances in horror films like “Saw VI” and “Thanksgiving.”

Off-screen, Karen Cliche engages with her audience through social media platforms like Instagram and keeps her fans updated on her latest projects and advocacies. Her dedication to both her craft and personal causes makes her a respected and admired figure in the entertainment industry.

Yitzi: It’s a delight to meet you. Thanks so much for joining us. Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn about your origin story. Can you share this story of your childhood and how you grew up?

Karen: Sure. I am French Canadian, born in a small town in Quebec. My father was in the armed forces, so we moved every two to three years during my childhood. We lived in places like Virginia Beach and Germany, which made me more of an Anglophone. I sort of lost touch with my French for a while. Being the new girl every few years was a significant part of my life. Then, my parents got divorced, and we moved to Montreal. I spent most of my life in Montreal and about 15 years in Toronto, with some travel for work in between. That’s the gist of my busy childhood.

Yitzi: So what brought you to this path as a successful actress?

Karen: Acting was always my dream, something I’ve wanted to do since I was young. I had other interests, but my heart was set on acting. I spent a lot of time in my room, either journaling and writing my life story, not for publication but as a form of self-expression, or practicing monologues and drama in the mirror. I’ve always loved it. So, yes, pursuing acting has been a lifelong dream, and I’m thrilled to be living it.

Yitzi: Amazing. So you probably have many fascinating experiences and memories. Could you share with our readers one or two stories that exemplify your life and career or your favorite stories or memories?

Karen: Well, I have a funny memory. One of my first acting gigs was a Francis Ford Coppola movie, and we were shooting in Australia and Hong Kong. I was around 20 or 21 years old, really young and inexperienced. The flight was a long journey, starting from Montreal to Toronto, then Vancouver, Honolulu, Sydney, and finally Coolangatta, all in first class. I was thinking, “Wow, this acting thing is amazing.” In Vancouver, there was a complete blackout. This was back in 1998, so technology wasn’t as advanced. When we got to Honolulu, I boarded a double-decker plane and found a man sitting in my first-class seat. I told him it was my seat, ready for my mimosa. But he showed me his ticket, and due to the blackout in Vancouver, the boarding passes were printed manually, and both of our passes had his name. I got kicked off the plane and was only allowed back on because the pilots let me stay in the cockpit for the nine-hour flight to Sydney. I slept in the bunk beds, chatted with the four pilots, and had a beautiful view of Sydney at sunrise.

Yitzi: How did you convince them to let you in the cockpit?

Karen: I didn’t convince them. They offered. They saw me crying at the gate by myself. It’s a crazy experience, something that would never happen now because of 9–11. It’s one of those unique stories I love to tell.

Yitzi: It’s been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Do you have a story about a humorous mistake you made when you were first starting and the lesson you learned from it?

Karen: Oh, God, I have to think about that one. Well, I don’t know if it’s a mistake or not, but I’m sure I have a better story to tell you. I think I took things for granted a bit at the beginning of my career. I started working fast and just thought, “Oh, this is great.” But I didn’t have a strategy or a vision; I was just out there having fun. I didn’t save as much as I could have, nor did I strategize my career. After taking several years off to be with my daughter, I left the business for a while. Coming back now, I feel mature, older, and wiser, and I have more of a vision. I just wish I could have taken advantage of my youth a bit more and started sooner with that vision. But it’s never too late. I’m still alive and well, so it is what it is.

Yitzi: I’m sure you have an amazing career ahead of you. The best times are yet to come.

Karen: Thank you. I’m going to hold you to that.

Yitzi: Is there a person who made a profound impact on your professional life? And if there is, could you share a story about that person?

Karen: Yeah, there’s several people. I’ve been really fortunate in my life, especially in acting, with people helping and believing in me. Based on my reputation as a hard worker, responsible, and easy to work with, I got offers and job opportunities. Producers who had worked with me highly recommended me to others. I’m really proud of that and very honored that these people thought so highly of me. There’s not one specific person, but many specific people who I’m very grateful for. They thought I was worth it, and for that, I’m truly thankful.

Yitzi: OK, so let’s pretend you are the queen of Hollywood, meaning you could snap your fingers and make things happen. What changes are you happy about seeing in the show over the past five years? And as the queen, what would you do to change things moving forward?

Karen: Well, I am happy about the changes I’ve seen in the last 10 years. It was around the time I started watching The Good Wife that I noticed more women in their 40s on screen, looking like they’re in their 40s. They were beautiful, strong, independent women. I always played those roles, but when I was younger. So when I came back into the business in my 40s, I was thrilled to see a bit of a shift in this aspect. There are more roles written for women in their 40s now, exploring their sexuality and other interesting topics that me and my friends talk about but weren’t represented in these shows. That’s what I’m really happy about. If I were to make any changes, I would insist that every production shoots in Hawaii. That’s not too much to ask, right?

Yitzi: How about New Zealand? (Laughs)

Karen: That could be after Hawaii. I’d love to see New Zealand, actually. I really want to go there. But let’s do three-quarters of the shows in Maui, and then we’ll go to New Zealand, deal?

Yitzi: OK, super. Can you share with our readers the exciting projects you’re working on now? Tell us more about Thanksgiving and any other exciting projects coming down the pipeline.

Karen: Well, we just got out of a strike, which was a tricky few months. Productions are now revving back up, which is exciting. I’m looking forward to what’s coming out of this. A couple of months ago, I shot a comedy in Toronto called Race Walkers, set to release next year. I love doing comedies and was super happy to do that. With the holidays approaching, things are busy, but I’m ready to work a lot and make up for lost time. Thanksgiving was an amazing experience, working with Eli and the incredible cast. It was a unique experience for me, especially dying on camera in a way I never have before. It was challenging and invigorating to be pushed to my limits. I’ve done lifetime movies, but I was really happy to dive into some juicy drama and interesting roles with Thanksgiving. It was an incredible experience.

Yitzi: That’s great. Thanksgiving is highly rated. From your insider perspective, what do you think captured people’s attention and imagination about the film?

Karen: The anticipation from Grindhouse created a 15-year buildup for a specific fan base. The movie engaged all senses. Some friends were initially terrified to see it, but they found it enjoyable because it wasn’t just pure fear. There was humor, a great story, a mystery, and really great characters. It’s a fun movie to watch, which encompasses everything. Eli’s cult following also helped.

Yitzi: So, aside from the drama and special effects, are there lessons you think society can take from the movie’s message?

Karen: Yes, the movie’s core message revolves around the disdain for people’s greed. For instance, during Black Friday, everyone gets caught up in shopping, and the true meaning of Thanksgiving, which is about being grateful for simple things, gets lost. The film exaggerates this idea, but at its heart, it’s about questioning where our humanity lies in the face of rampant consumerism. It’s a reminder to return to the basics, and I think that’s a moral aspect that resonated with the audience.

Yitzi: That’s wonderful. How would you compare yourself, Karen, to the character you play, Kathleen, in the movie? In what ways are you similar or different?

Karen: Oh, we couldn’t be more different. Kathleen could easily have been portrayed as a superficial, materialistic trophy wife, but I wanted her to be seen as genuinely loving her husband. It was important that she had some relatable humanity, even if she might seem shallow or tacky in her style. The tension with her stepdaughter adds to her complexity. Personally, I can’t relate to her experiences, like marrying rich or having a contentious relationship with a stepdaughter. But as an actress, I always look for something human or likable in my characters, which helped me connect with Kathleen and enjoy portraying her.

Yitzi: I’m curious, from your perspective, is it less scary acting in a film than watching it? Without the thematic music and drama, and knowing it’s an act, does it feel less frightening?

Karen: Funny enough, I don’t find either scary. When I watch films like Thanksgiving, I’m often laughing and giggling. I can’t detach myself from the production aspects. For example, I’ll remember it was hailing during a scene. However, acting in a film can be a bit scarier. To portray fear convincingly, you really have to immerse yourself in the emotion. For instance, I was in this huge industrial-sized pizza oven for a scene. I was completely enclosed, filmed from the outside. Thankfully, I’m not claustrophobic, or it would have been genuinely terrifying. So, watching a film, I feel more detached compared to when I’m acting in it.

Yitzi: That’s amazing. Have you always enjoyed horror films?

Karen: Honestly, horror isn’t my favorite genre. I prefer comedies and dramas. I did act in Saw 6, which was quite gory, about 15 years ago. Horror films aren’t usually my first choice, but engaging with fans of this genre is starting to change my mind. They might just turn me into a fan.

Yitzi: OK, so this is our signature question that we ask in all of our interviews. So you’ve been blessed with so much success now. Looking back to when you first started, are there five things you wish you knew when you first started your career as an actress?

Karen: Good question. Five things. Well, I think I would have had more of a vision and a strategy for my career. I feel blessed with the roles I’ve had. As a woman, it was important to me to be a proactive feminist, and I’m proud of the roles I played, so I wouldn’t change that. My career took a nice direction, and I’m proud of it. But I probably would have spent more time in L.A. As a Canadian actress, I played it safe and stayed here, working a lot, which I used as a reason not to go down. But I think I should have done that sooner for working papers and expanding my opportunities.

The advice I would give, which is what I followed, is to not take things personally in this business with its rejection, instability, and emotional attachment. Keep a part of yourself 100 percent separated from this business. I’m not ‘Karen the actress’ most of the time. I go to work, do my auditions, and then clock out. I go to the gym with no makeup, look like hell, go to the grocery store. I really keep these compartments of my brain just for me. I don’t talk about my career separately. Keeping these two aspects of my life separate has kept me sane. It’s important to keep a nice part of your life separate and normal and see acting as a job.

Yitzi: Can you share with our readers any of the self-care routines or practices that you do to help your body, mind, and heart thrive?

Karen: Definitely, self-care is crucial for me. I exercise almost every day, primarily at the gym. I used to be into hot yoga, but now I’m more focused on cardio and strength training, which I’ve grown to love. Being social with my friends is another form of therapy for me. I cherish my friend group and stay active on social media, as I believe in the importance of community and friendship. During a tough phase a few years back, I took hour-long walks and listened to podcasts like Super Soul Sunday and Dr. Shefali’s Radical Awakening to help process my emotions. Those activities were instrumental in my growth. Nature walks provided me with peace and helped me internalize the wisdom of others, aiding in my decisions. I’ve also embraced journaling, particularly a gratitude journal, and annually update my vision board to stay hopeful and excited about life. Among my many tattoos, two are particularly meaningful: one reads ‘no dress rehearsal,’ reminding me that life is a one-time opportunity, and the other, ‘anything can happen,’ which encourages me to appreciate and live in the moment.

Yitzi: OK, this is our second to last question. With your significant influence from the work you’ve done and the platform you’ve built, if you could start a movement or spread an idea to bring the most good to the most people, what would it be?

Karen: That’s a fantastic question. Let me give some context. My academic background is in psychology from Concordia University, and I initially aspired to be a social worker, psychologist, or activist. Now, as a coach and acting teacher, I’ve realized my role extends beyond teaching acting; it involves nurturing people’s self-esteem and life skills. This isn’t just for those aspiring to be professional actors. I’ve witnessed transformative changes in my students when they gain self-confidence and take risks. The feedback has been phenomenal. I’d love to start a movement where everyone takes acting classes, not necessarily to become actors, but to experience this personal growth. It’s about igniting a fire within and boosting confidence. Alternatively, engaging in any creative outlet can be transformative. So, my broader vision is a movement of kindness, where we cultivate more compassion and understanding in the world.

Yitzi: This is what we call a matchmaker question. We’re very blessed that prominent leaders in entertainment and business read this column. And this is a chance maybe we could connect you. Is there a person in the world or in Canada or in the US with whom you would like to have a power lunch with, share a coffee with, share a beer with? Because maybe we could tag them and maybe we could connect you and see what happens.

Karen: Oh, my gosh. Wow. Definitely, the first thing that comes to mind is that I would want to meet Gloria Steinem. She’s been a huge role model for me since I was young. So I’m going to say her. I say, let’s tag Gloria and have a glass of wine together.

Yitzi: How can the readers continue to follow your work online? How could they support what you do? How could they support anything that you’re doing, whether it’s your businesses or the work you put out? How can they follow, follow your work and continue to support your work?

Karen: Amazing. Well, I’m always on Instagram. I mean, I’m a bit on Twitter, but Instagram is where you’ll find me twenty-three seven. I love Instagram. So follow me at KarenCliche, that’s my handle. And if they want to follow some amazing accounts that I love, these charities that I love, I love the David Sheldrick Foundation. It’s an elephant sanctuary rescue in Africa. They do amazing work. I love Knuckle Buck Farms. She’s an amazing girl in Florida who rescues farm animals and does beautiful work there. I would love it if you guys could follow them and support them as well. And that’s pretty much it.

I also do some private coaching at https://acting.skillshub.life/ where you can find me. If anybody wants to get into acting or voice work, you can find me there.

Yitzi: So this has been so informative and instructive. It’s a pleasure to meet you, Karen. Hope we do this again and I wish you continued success.

Karen: Thank you so much for having me. That was really fun.

--

--