Adam Morse: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became a Filmmaker

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readAug 2, 2023

Pay it forward first and always offer before you ask — God will bless you with abundance as you continue to give to others. Keep contributing to help those around you, and you will receive great rewards. I now always notice a new door opening and an exciting new opportunity presenting itself after I act selflessly to support someone else.

As a part of our interview series called “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started”, I had the pleasure of interviewing filmmaker Adam Morse.

Adam Morse is again leading by example to show the world that people of determination like himself are, in his words, “differently abled, not disabled.” Morse is exceeding expectations once more, promoting his latest work as an actor/writer on the film festival circuit with psychological drama ‘SUPPRESSION’ which convincingly shows Morse as a fully sighted character despite him being registered blind in real life. Morse was diagnosed with incurable mitochondrial disease LHON (Leber’s Hereditary Optic Neuropathy) in 2009 when he was just nineteen years old, the rapid deterioration of cells dying in his optic nerve have left him with only partial peripheral eyesight.

Adam Morse was publicly hailed as a trailblazer after the success of his feature directorial debut ‘LUCID’ (starring Billy Zane), which was released on AMAZON PRIME in 2020. Adam managed to keep his blindness a secret during the entire production, and only revealed his condition a week before the World Premiere in VARIETY.

He has since been candid in the media about his experiences being discriminated against and is fighting to create a more inclusive entertainment industry for the disabled/differently abled community. Adam Morse is also the founder of CRYSTAL VISION FOUNDATION, a newly formed disability support charity that celebrated its launch at the 2023 Cannes Film Festival.

Thank you so much for doing this interview with us! Before we dive in, our readers would love to get to know you a bit. Can you share your “backstory” that brought you to this career?

My backstory is both typical and unique. I grew up loving to create art and perform. Entertaining family and friends with songs, funny impersonations, and crazy dance moves. It felt natural and destined that I would become a professional actor. I was diagnosed with an incurable mitochondrial disease called Leber’s when I was nineteen years old and lost most of my eyesight, which held all my aspirations as I had to readjust to living with blindness. Ironically, the loss of my sight blessed me with enhanced vision, and I suddenly felt compelled to go behind the camera and write/direct my own films. This seminal period began a spiritual awakening that motivated me to reinvent myself and start an unprecedented career with a positive mindset.

It has been said that our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I remember my first job as a runner on a movie set when I was eighteen. Someone asked me to get the talent some sides, and I ran to the catering tent to round up a tray full of French fries and onion rings. I swiftly returned to the cast tent with the production manager looking puzzled at me and pointing at the food, asking, “What’s this?” I replied, “You asked for sides?!” I then learned (much to my embarrassment) that sides are the script pages for scenes being shot that day. They had a good laugh.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Some of the most interesting people I’ve ever met all come from the same private community. It’s an exclusive network called “THE VINE” that was founded by Adria Dunn during the 2020 pandemic. She created a WhatsApp chat with different world leaders, business moguls, and fellow philanthropists like me, all with the purpose of instigating social impact. I could easily list a ton of people I’ve met from that club, but I have to say that Adria herself is top of the list. She is extremely intelligent and well-cultured, with an incredible vision for the future. Her plan is to bring her community onto a new application platform with its own AI concierge.

Which people in history inspire you the most? Why?

Jesus Christ, for his selflessness and unbreakable faith. Nikola Tesla, because of his mind and knowledge. Gandhi, due to his discipline.

Can you tell us a story about a particular individual who was impacted or helped by your cause?

We are a newly formed organization and just announced ourselves and our mission very recently, so we are in the process of finding donors to help us with our funding goals for us to have the resources to be able to scale our work and start impacting the lives of our growing membership. I am already mentoring several blind artists who aspire to be full-time professionals in the entertainment business. The best response I have seen firsthand, thus far, has been from my younger brother Jake who is also registered blind with the same condition as myself. Jake has struggled to find opportunities to express himself because of his disability, but CVF paid for Studio time for him to record an original song and play guitar on a track that will raise awareness and money for a rare mitochondrial disease, LHON (Leber’s Hereditary, Optic Neuropathy).

Are there three things that individuals, society or the government can do to support you in this effort?

Spread the word about Crystal Vision Foundation to any aspiring artists with disabilities. Share contacts and opportunities with our organization for us to cultivate and discover a new wave of differently abled artists. Send donations through the giving portal on our website, www.crystalvisionfoundaion.com, and become a patron.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why.

1. Protect your gut and keep a clear vision — The body follows the mind and vice versa. If you feed yourself a diet of alcohol and unhealthy food, then it will stifle your creativity and productivity. I quit drinking in 2019, and it was one of the best decisions of my life because my day-to-day output since then has gone through the roof. Not only that, but my input is much sharper and faster because I don’t need to deal with brain fog from hangovers. I wish I had started living cleaner sooner.

2. Choose carefully how you select your closest people — After a time, you begin to understand that you are the sum of the five people you spend the most time talking to, and it’s important to keep company with people to challenge and inspire you to be better. I find my consciousness expanding whenever I spend time with people wiser and smarter than myself.

3. Watch every word that leaves your mouth — It’s been proven that manifestation is a very real practice and a phenomenon we all can use to our own benefit. Meditating allows my thoughts to merge with my feelings and see into my own desired future; precognition is possible when you align your energy correctly.

4. Don’t chase anything or anyone — When you put pressure on a person or a situation and try to force an outcome, then it never seems to fly. Putting pressure on yourself is fine, but don’t stress when things don’t appear to be going your way because your instincts will always lead you in the right direction. The power of my own instinct has shown me how to navigate countless crossroads.

5. Pay it forward first and always offer before you ask — God will bless you with abundance as you continue to give to others. Keep contributing to help those around you, and you will receive great rewards. I now always notice a new door opening and an exciting new opportunity presenting itself after I act selflessly to support someone else.

If you could tell other young people one thing about why they should consider making a positive impact on our environment or society like you, what would you tell them?

Feeling happy and comfortable is overrated. If you want to feel maximum fulfillment in your life, then get up and make a difference in the world and fight for a cause you believe in, and the feeling of honor and pride will supersede any other form of happiness. Even if it requires serious suffering and serious discipline, your efforts will all be worth it in the end because nothing gratifies the soul more than dedicating yourself to a cause bigger than yourself. Legacy is priceless.

We are very blessed that many other Social Impact Heroes read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US, whom you would like to collaborate with, and why? He or she might see this. :-)

I would have to say Elon Musk and Professor Billy Carson. They are both thought leaders who are driving humanity to its biggest potential. Collaborating with those guys on how to elevate our species is a dream of mine. I’ve spent over ten years researching psychology, quantum biology, and how creativity can expand our collective consciousness.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

I hope it’s not too indulgent to quote myself here! “We use sight to map our physical surroundings, but we use vision to map our futures.” I use this quote to remind myself that I am blessed and not cursed to have experienced blindness in my life because it has unlocked so many other senses. I always use this quote to remind others that the negative stigma associated with disability is outdated and that it is time we open our minds to a new way of looking at ourselves and each other.

How can our readers follow you online?

@themorseforce on Instagram.

This was very meaningful, thank you so much! We wish you continued success!

--

--