Amber Wang: I Am Living Proof Of The American Dream

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readJul 14, 2022

Embrace the change. The only thing that will not change is change. Change happens all the time. So don’t be stressed about change. Let’s face it.

Is the American Dream still alive? If you speak to many of the immigrants we spoke to, who came to this country with nothing but grit, resilience, and a dream, they will tell you that it certainly is still alive. As a part of our series about immigrant success stories, I had the pleasure of interviewing Amber Wang .

Born in Luoyang, China, grew up a very gifted basketball player, at age 14 she would win a national-level championship as a part of her local basketball team. A year later, she moved to the United States to further her education. Amber enrolled at Calvary Chapel Christian School and later moved on to Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, PA, though she left early to move back to China, where she established an English training center, Warrior Education at age 19. After spending time running Warrior Education, Amber decided to return to the states to finish her education at Penn State University. Here, she would struggle with mental health, as so many international students do, but with the help of friends and resources at the university, she found herself in a better place. Amber hopes to use her platform as an international model to highlight the struggles of international students, and advocate for mental health globally. When Amber is not on the set of a shoot, you can find her at the gym, cooking, doing makeup tutorials, and spending time with her fiancé Michael.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

Yes, I was born in Luoyang, China and then came to the United States when I was in middle school. I would later attend Penn State University. When I was 17 and shopping with my friend in a shopping mall, I discovered by a Barbizon kids model — but at that time I decided to continue my education. Though, from that moment I knew I wanted to start my modeling career.

Was there a particular trigger point that made you emigrate to the US? Can you tell us the story?

My parents sent me to study here when I was 14.

Can you tell us the story of how you came to the USA? What was that experience like?

The English we learn in the book feels different when you actually use it. I think the most practical lesson I learned when I just came here is how to use English to order a Starbucks- hahahah

Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped make the move more manageable? Can you share a story?

Jorge Duva. He is one of the most amazing and talented photographers that I ever met. He was the one that discovered me. He always has a way of finding the beautiful angel in me. Every time we have a photoshoot, we will have completely different styles, which is amazing. It feels just like how Steven Meisel would scout models in the ‘90s.

So how are things going today?

Calm and Joyful.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I really focus on helping international students with mental health problems. Because I know how hard it is for kids to travel to another part of the world and start their new life. There are so many challenges for them.

You have first hand experience with the US immigration system. If you had the power, which three things would you suggest to improve the system?

Just try your best maybe in the future machines and computers will make it easier.

Can you share “5 keys to achieving the American dream” that others can learn from you? Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Stay positive. I remember getting this advice from Maye Musk’s book [A woman makes a plan]. she said no matter what happens “ try to stay as positive as you can”. I feel it is something you can practice, the more you try and the more you get better.
  2. Embrace the change. The only thing that will not change is change. Change happens all the time. So don’t be stressed about change. Let’s face it.
  3. Don’t be shy. Try to communicate instead of just staying silent.
  4. Stay healthy and self-disciplined. Running for one day is not that hard but running every day is hard.
  5. Do what you are really passionate about. What I learned through the years is you will eventually go back to what you are really passionate about. I loved modeling when I was 6 or 7 years old. During that time I would watch the runway shows with my grandma and cut the pillow and become a dress and start to walk. Then 20 years later I went back to what I liked when I was a kid.

We know that the US needs improvement. But are there 3 things that make you optimistic about the US’s future?

I hope COVID gets better, but during the COVID I found people are actually spend more time with their family and loved ones. it let me realize how thankful they have each other in their life. Those grateful bring optimistic energy to all parts.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this, especially if we tag them. :-)

Gal Gadot has always been my idol!

What is the best way our readers can further follow your work online?

@amberwangwzy

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

Thank you!

--

--