Andrew Varga On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
10 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

Read a lot — I think that almost all authors are readers first. For me, it started with reading hundreds of fantasy novels and learning the conventions of the genre and the style of writing and characterization that I enjoyed and that I didn’t.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Andrew Varga. Andrew is a lifelong student of history who took his love for the subject and wrote the Jump in Time series of young adult historical fiction books. Each one is a blend of adventure, mystery, and romance, all set in a historically-accurate environment. When not writing, Andrew enjoys travelling to far-off destinations with his wife Pam, reading history books, or playing any sport that gets his heart racing.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

I had always dabbled in writing throughout grade school, mostly short stories written for school, or the odd pieced that I’d submit to a local short-story contest. But I first started writing seriously just after graduating…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.