Andy Adler On Five Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career As A News Anchor

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readAug 26, 2024

--

…Do it your way. Don’t try to emulate someone else. We’re not actors — I’m certainly not an actress. I only know how to be me. There are many versions of a generic whatever, but if you can always stay true to yourself, that’s what matters. It might sound cliché, but it’s crucial. Trying to be someone else just doesn’t work in this field…

I had the pleasure of talking with Andy Adler. Andy is an accomplished sportscaster and journalist, known for her work as a sports anchor and host of high-profile pre-game shows in two of the largest media markets in the United States. Andy is best known as the first female sports director in New York and has served as a news anchor for NBC in Los Angeles, sports anchor for Channel 11 (WPIX) in New York, host of the New York Yankees, Los Angeles Lakers, and Dallas Cowboys pregame and postgame shows and the host of Emmy-nominated interview segment “One on One with Andy Adler.” Throughout her career, she has interviewed some of the most prominent figures in sports, demonstrating a unique ability to connect with her subjects and present their stories to a wide audience.

Born and raised in San Diego, California, Adler’s passion for sports was ingrained in her from an early age. Coming from a family where sports were a central part of life, she was influenced by both her father, who used sports as a metaphor for life lessons, and her mother, who introduced her to the personal stories behind athletes. This early fascination with the human side of sports laid the groundwork for her future career in journalism.

Adler attended Stanford University, where she not only excelled academically, graduating cum laude, but also immersed herself in broadcasting. She anchored and managed the college television station and interned with CBS Sports in San Francisco. These experiences solidified her desire to pursue a career in sports journalism. While still in college, Adler took a brief hiatus from school to intern at “The Late Show with David Letterman” in New York, an experience that left a lasting impression on her, particularly following the events of September 11, 2001.

Her professional journey began in earnest when she was accepted into the NBC Page program in Burbank, California. From giving tours on the NBC lot, Adler quickly moved up the ranks, securing her first on-air position as a reporter for the NBC affiliate in Monterey, California, at just 20 years old. This opportunity marked the beginning of a dynamic career that would see her work across various major networks and markets.

Adler’s rise in the broadcasting world continued as she moved to New York to join Fox 5 (WNYW) as an evening sports anchor and fill-in host for “Good Day New York.” During her time at Fox, she covered significant events such as the New York Giants’ Super Bowl 42 victory and the New York Yankees’ 2009 World Series Championship. Her role also included hosting the New York City Triathlon and serving as the field reporter for the New York Giants’ pre- and post-game shows.

Adler later relocated to Los Angeles to join KNBC, where she co-anchored “Today in LA” and hosted the Los Angeles Lakers’ pre-game, halftime, and post-game shows on Time Warner Cable SportsNet LA. Her tenure in Los Angeles allowed her to work alongside NBA legends like James Worthy and Robert Horry, further establishing her reputation as a leading sports broadcaster.

Adler returned to New York to take on the role of lead sports anchor for Pix11 News (WPIX), where she continued to break new ground. She secured exclusive interviews with sports icons such as Magic Johnson, Derek Jeter, and Kobe Bryant, among others. Her ability to draw out candid responses from her interviewees made her a standout in the industry. In addition to her on-air work, Adler has made appearances on national platforms such as MSNBC, Fox Business News, and NBC Nightly News.

Throughout her career, Adler has been recognized not only for her professional achievements but also for her commitment to philanthropy. She is actively involved with several charitable organizations, including The World of Children, Children’s Health Fund, and NAMI-NYC, where she has served as a host and emcee for countless fundraising events.

Andy Adler’s journey in sports journalism is marked by her dedication to telling the stories behind the athletes, her resilience in a competitive industry, and her unwavering commitment to using her platform to make a positive impact. As she continues to evolve in her career, Adler remains focused on the human element of sports, striving to bring depth and authenticity to her coverage while exploring new opportunities to connect with audiences.

Yitzi Weiner: Andy, it’s a delight and an honor to meet you. Before we dive in deep, our readers would love to learn about your personal origin story. Can you share with us a story of your childhood and how you grew up?

Andy Adler: Well, first of all, the pleasure is all mine, Yitzi. Let’s see… How did I grow up? Here’s the cliff note’s version: I was raised in San Diego, California and my first language was Spanish (which tends to surprise people). My teachers would tell my parents that they needed to speak to me in English because I didn’t always understand what was happening in class. I learned English quickly and then it was a matter of the teachers telling my parents that I couldn’t stop talking in class :)

In many ways, sports were the epicenter of everything in my family’s life, and every life lesson was taught through sports metaphors. My brothers played sports.. I played sports… My Mom and Dad are massive sports fans… so knowing sports wasn’t really an option, but rather inevitable. Didn’t know it at the time, but it was almost like a culture that would later become the world I felt most comfortable in. Thanks Mom and Dad! Must say, I have the best parents in the world — I’m very lucky. They just celebrated their 49th wedding anniversary! Anyhow, San Diego was a beautiful place to grow up, but I always felt there was more to explore…I always loved an adventure. I lived in San Diego until I was 17, and then went to college in Palo Alto.

Yitzi Weiner: Amazing. So can you share the story of what brought you to your successful career in broadcasting and journalism?

Andy Adler: I think having a goal at an early age was very helpful. I loved watching the news as a kid. My Mom actually planted the idea in my head… I was little, like nine. We were watching the local newscast one day, and she pointed to one of the anchors and said, “You could do that.” And I remember thinking, “Yeah, I want to do that.” I had a direction… and if you know where you want to end up, the path is a little clearer.

In college, I ran the television station and at the same time, I interned in the sports department at CBS in San Francisco. The team there would let me do a lot of hands-on work. I was really lucky because the people at that internship gave me so much practical experience… The lead sports anchor was a man named Dennis O’Donnell who was always kind to me. (I always say, the true testament of someone’s character is how you treat the intern). The more I did, the more I realized I wanted to keep doing this.

From there, it was all about saying yes. Double shifts… ‘yup’. Holidays… ‘of course’. Seven day work weeks.. ‘Let’s go!’ And that mentality never really went away. I worked in a couple of small markets before taking a chance on moving to New York. I was around 24 years old when I was offered a three-year contract to be a sports anchor in Miami with CBS. Simultaneously, I was offered a freelance job at Channel 5 in New York. The New York job was risky because they could let me go at any moment, but I thought, “I may never get this opportunity to work in New York again.” So, I rolled the dice. Best bet I ever made.

I was fortunate to have a news director named Scott Matthews who took a chance on me. Genuinely forever grateful to him. After a few months, I earned a contract to be a sports anchor for Channel 5 in New York. Throughout my career, there have been many people who took chances on me, and I’m really grateful for them. There have also been many who just didn’t see it… and that’s ok too. So to answer your question, I think my career is a combination of working very hard, grit, playing the long-game, luck (because that’s always a factor), and making sure to be ready to meet the moment when opportunities arise.

Yitzi Weiner: It’s been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Do you have a story about a humorous mistake you made when you were first starting as an anchor or a journalist and the lesson you learned from it?

Andy Adler: Well, I’ve definitely made mistakes along the way. There’s that Steve Jobs quote, and I’m going to butcher it, but I use it all the time: “You can’t connect the dots looking forward, only backwards.” I’m not perfect and I certainly don’t pretend to be. I can remember, when I was first starting out.. I was 21 on air. My first live shot was great. I thought.. ‘Cool… this is easy’… My second time going live was a different story! Don’t try and google it… it was before youtube was popular:)

I was reporting on a crime scene and I tried to memorize verbatim what I was going to say. I just remember the sentences coming out of my mouth completely out of order. Nothing I said made any sense. And thinking to myself, “Whatever just happened on live television, I never want to do it again.”

That moment taught me that it’s not about memorizing facts. As my mom says, “Talk to your people.” She says it in Spanish, ‘habla con tu gente’. The concept is simple.. just speak to your audience and let them know what’s going on because that’s all they want. From that point forward, I focused less on memorizing and more on understanding the situation, taking in the facts, and then having a conversation with my people. And by “my people,” I mean the audience — I feel they’ve always had my back, and so I talk to them the way I would with my friends.

Yitzi Weiner: That’s great. You probably have so many amazing stories from covering all these Super Bowls and events, and meeting incredible people. Can you share with our readers one or two of your favorite anecdotes or memories from your professional life?

Andy Adler: Gosh, I’ve been very lucky to have a lot of incredible experiences. In this industry, especially when it comes to athletes, it takes a very specific kind of mindset and perseverance to reach that level. I’ve been fortunate to cross paths with and befriend many extraordinary people.

The best memories are rarely the ones that are planned; they’re often the moments before or after the interview. I always tell my cameraman to start rolling before the interview and keep rolling afterward because those are often the moments that reveal our shared humanity.

One memory comes to mind that left an impression on me.. I was interviewing Mariano Rivera and asked him, “Who do you look up to? So many look up to you.. Who do you idolize?” He said, “Pele.” Then, when I interviewed Pele, I mentioned that Mariano Rivera idolizes him. Seeing the humility on Pele’s face, realizing that one icon idolizes another, was really special.

There are so many stories like that, where you see the human side of these superstars, and it really inspires me. The stories of how these individuals got to where they are — no one, and I mean no one, gets to that level without going through some serious challenges. Some real tough STUFF… you know? Present company included — we all go through stuff. Anyone who’s had an easy ride or who’s been given things easily often doesn’t appreciate it as much, and it’s easier to lose it.

So, the stories that stick with me are about the people I’ve met along the way who’ve faced those obstacles and fought those uphill battles. You can feel their presence, their strength, and sometimes it’s contagious. They use hardship as fuel to drive them forward. Yitzi, there are so many memories… And if you had 12 hours, I could tell you about more of them — there are many!

Yitzi Weiner: You have so much impressive work, Andy. Can you share with our readers any of the exciting projects you’re working on now and what you’ll be working on in the future?

Andy Adler: Well, I’m a big believer in not talking about things until they’re done, until people can see them. Maybe it’s that old adage, “talk is cheap.” That being said, I do have two projects I’m working on that are very close to the finish line. I’ve been working on these projects for a long time and am very proud of them. I’m really looking forward to sharing them very soon. In my business they call that a tease.. :).

Yitzi Weiner: With the rapid changes in media and technology, how do you see the role of a sportscaster evolving in the short to medium term? What skills do you think will be essential for the future of sportscasters?

Andy Adler: Great question. Obviously, at this point, social media is key, and I think it’s only going to become more significant in the next few years. When you look at where things were just five years ago, it’s a whole new landscape. It’s about keeping up, though many of the same skill sets still apply — getting the information and delivering it to people in a unique way. Regardless of how technology evolves, the core interests remain the same. People want something they can’t see everywhere else; they want an experience they can’t get just by watching the games. Personally, my passion is the business of sports.. and as technology advances, we’re going to see those two areas merging on another level when it comes to how people consume sports information.

Yitzi Weiner: That leads to my next question. Your segments, 1 on 1 with Andy Adler, have been Emmy-nominated, and you’re very successful at what you do. What’s your approach to interviewing high-profile athletes, and how do you prepare for your interviews and conversations? I’m interested because I know I can learn a lot from you.

Andy Adler: Oh, well, thank you for saying that. I think you’re very good at talking to people and making them feel comfortable — I’m experiencing that right now. For me, I see every interview as a conversation. I approach each one with pure intentions, genuinely wanting to understand what makes this person who they are. I hope the people I interview can feel that I’m just genuinely curious. Whether I’m interviewing a superstar athlete or talking to friends, I’m the same way. I’ve been curious by nature since I was a kid, so it’s never been a matter of turning it on or off. That part of my job has always been organic and easy for me.

I do my homework to understand what information is available about the person beforehand. But from there, it’s about creating an environment where we’re having a real conversation and getting to know the human beyond the superstar. Everyone has a “costume,” right? I’ve said it before to my producers — I’ll roll up to work with a baseball hat and sneakers, and after doing my prep, I’ll say, “I’m going to put my costume on now.” We all have that. The bigger the superstar, the more guarded they tend to be, and that’s understandable. Many of these athletes have been superstars since high school, then college, and so on, so they’ve built up those walls over time. It’s my job to help take those down.

I see it as a trust situation. When we have that conversation with the camera rolling, it’s an unspoken understanding that I take very seriously. I’m a vehicle to help tell their story — make it interesting… real.. and of course, have a little fun in the process.

Yitzi Weiner: This is our signature question. You’ve been blessed with a lot of success. Looking back to when you first started, can you share five things you need to create a highly successful career as a news anchor?

Andy Adler: Hmm, that’s a great question. Okay, off the top of my head — five things you need to create a successful career as a news anchor.

  1. Number one: authenticity. The audience is smart, and they can see through nonsense. When you’re ‘talking to your people,’ be you. Period.
  2. Number two: Grit. Being gritty is an underrated quality. There are going to be so many “no’s.” You have to understand that “no” is just another way of saying, “not right now.” Persistence, resilience.. Same applies to the best teams. They all have grit.
  3. Number three: don’t do it for fame. I can’t stress this enough. That’s not why you become a news or sports anchor. We’re here to tell other people’s stories, while hopefully bringing our own unique touch. Keep the noise out.. Focus on the job.
  4. Number four: do it your way. Don’t try to emulate someone else. We’re not actors — I’m certainly not an actress. I only know how to be me. There are many versions of a generic whatever, but if you can always stay true to yourself, that’s what matters. It might sound cliché, but it’s crucial. Trying to be someone else just doesn’t work in this field.
  5. And finally, number five: put in the hard work. There’s no replacement for that. Some people might have quick, overnight success, but that just hasn’t been my experience. There’s no easy way. If you take shortcuts, it doesn’t work. You have to do your homework. The same thing applies to athletes — the best ones aren’t just talented; they’re the ones who show up to practice first and leave last. The same applies to being successful in anything — you can’t cut corners because it always catches up with you. Stay humble, stay hungry.

Yitzi Weiner: Perfect answer. So how can our readers continue to follow your work online? How can they support your work in any possible way?

Andy Adler: Well, first, I have to say how extremely grateful I am to all the people who have supported me since I first started. So THANK YOU! As I mentioned, soon you’ll be able to see what I’ve been working on and I’m very excited to share more information on that. On social media, you can follow me on Instagram and Facebook @AndyAdlerTV, and on Twitter at Andy_Adler.

Yitzi Weiner: Andy, it’s been such a joy to meet you.

Andy Adler: Wonderful. Well, the pleasure is really mine.

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator