Angela P Harper of zant On The 5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career In The Health and Wellness Industry

An Interview With Jake Frankel

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
12 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Avoid burnout by diversifying career perspectives and positions throughout one’s professional journey.

The global health and wellness market is worth more than 1.5 trillion dollars. So many people are looking to improve their physical, mental, and emotional wellness. At the same time, so many people are needed to help provide these services. What does it take to create a highly successful career in the health and wellness industry?

In this interview series called “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career In The Health and Wellness Industry” we are talking to health and wellness professionals who can share insights and stories from their experiences.

In this particular interview, we had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Ms.Angela P. Harper.

Angela P. Harper is a Licensed Professional, Counselor Associate and a Certified Grief Educator trained by world-renowned grief expert, David Kessler. She earned her M.S. in Community Counseling from Texas A&M Commerce~ Mesquite. With over a decade of experience providing non-judgmental, compassionate, Strength-based Recovery & Resilience support, Angela has experience working with individuals from diverse identities, cultures, communities and circumstances.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you grew up?

I grew up in a military family, and we moved to the States when I was 3 and ½. I won’t give the exact year to keep things timeless. We settled in Austin, Texas, not far from Bergstrom Air Force Base. Coming from a strict authoritarian household, my siblings and I developed our own private language as a way to bond and feel safe. Due to the significant age gap between my older siblings and I, I grew up mostly as the youngest child but also as an only child at times.

I spent my Freshman year at the University of North Texas in Denton before diving into marriage and motherhood. Now, I’m proud to say I have two adult children, aged 26 and 20, whom I adore. It was during their childhood that I decided to finish off my undergrad degree and pursue a career in the mental health field.

Starting with internships and various roles like case management and psychological assessment, I gradually built my career path. Direct counseling always seemed to be calling me, even back in high school when I served as a peer mentor. That’s the journey that led me into mental health.

Was there a particular person or event that inspired you to live a wellness-focused lifestyle? Can you tell us about your main motivation to go all in?

Growing up, I found solace and safety in the outdoors and physical activity. In my household, fun and recreational activities weren’t commonplace. Instead, it was all about chores and labor tasks. So, for me, being outside, riding my bike, climbing trees, and soaking up the sun became essential coping mechanisms, although I didn’t recognize them as self-care at the time. As I grew older, I began to understand the importance of nutrition and how it affects overall health. It took some time, especially during my teenage years, but eventually, I realized the impact of food on well-being and adjusted my habits accordingly.

Most people with a well-being-centered lifestyle have a “go-to” activity, exercise, beverage, or food that is part of their routine. What is yours and can you tell us how it helps you?

Back in high school, I started learning more about vegetarianism, particularly through articles I read in Essence magazine. These articles featured black vegetarians, which piqued my curiosity because I hadn’t encountered many people who looked like me following that lifestyle in Austin. While I’m no longer strictly vegetarian, that experience led me to pay closer attention to reading food labels and ensuring a balanced intake of vital nutrients. I believe most people can benefit from increasing their consumption of fruits and vegetables, regardless of their dietary preferences. Personally, I consider myself a flexitarian now, meaning I adapt my diet based on what my body needs. While some individuals may have dietary restrictions- integrating

a wide variety of colorful fruits and vegetables can promote overall health. I firmly believe in the benefits of incorporating an organic apple a day into your diet for digestion and gut health. Additionally, staying hydrated with spring water is essential for cleansing and hydration, which is my preference.

To live a wellness-focused life is one thing, but how did it become your career? How did it all start?

I never considered delving into health and wellness consulting until I faced a significant health scare myself. It was a dramatic wake-up call that prompted me to dive deep into researching chronic illness. As I began to uncover valuable information and strategies to overcome my own health challenges, friends and acquaintances started to take notice. Word of mouth spread, and soon, people were reaching out to me for advice and guidance. Initially, I didn’t think about charging for my services; I simply shared what I had learned, recommending books, resources, and recipes to help others. It wasn’t until someone insisted on compensating me for the help I provided that I realized there was potential to turn my passion into a career. It all started as a journey of self-preservation, but it gradually evolved into something much bigger.

Can you share a story about the biggest challenges you faced when you were first starting? How did you resolve that? What are the main lessons or takeaways from that story?

One of the significant challenges I faced when I entered the helping field was my struggle with prioritizing self-care. It’s quite peculiar because initially, I didn’t prioritize myself. Instead, I focused solely on helping others. Whether it was assisting individuals, children, or those in need, I neglected to consider my own well-being. I realized that in my fervent effort to aid others, I was inadvertently sacrificing my own mental and physical health. I was constantly on the go, grabbing quick meals, lacking proper rest, and neglecting my own needs. This realization prompted me to learn the importance of balance, recognizing that I couldn’t effectively support others if I wasn’t taking care of myself first. After all, you can’t pour from an empty cup.

Can you share with us how the work you are doing is helping to make a bigger impact in the world? Can you share a story that illustrates that?

Instead of recounting a specific story about one person, I’d like to highlight the profound impact of the work I’ve done in mental health and wellness over the years. The biggest impact often goes beyond what can be directly observed. When you help one person, even if they only take in a portion of what you’ve shared and pass it on to their children or others, it sets off a ripple effect that can’t be easily quantified.

I’ve encountered a diverse array of individuals throughout my career, including a significant portion of the indigent population, many of whom were experiencing homelessness. In moments spent at places like the Salvation Army or homeless shelters, I noticed something crucial — many of these individuals weren’t accustomed to being treated with basic human dignity. Simply acknowledging them, engaging in conversation, and treating them with empathy and respect could have a profound impact on their lives, even if it may seem small at the time. The ripple effect of human connection and compassion is immeasurable.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

I’m really looking forward to the next year or two, especially as I work towards completing my LPC and obtaining full licensure. Having those credentials will not only give me the confidence to branch out further in my career but also assure clients that I’ve put in the necessary work and dedication to be fully qualified in my field.

One aspect I’m particularly excited about is the opportunity for cross-licensing. This will enable me to reach and support individuals in different states, not just limited to Texas where I’m provisionally licensed at the moment. It’s a significant step towards expanding my reach and impact. Additionally, I’m eager to establish my own private practice, which will provide a platform for me to deliver personalized care and support to my clients in a way that aligns with my vision for the future.

You are a successful leader. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

Certainly! One lesson I’ve learned early on is the importance of managing expectations, especially when jumping into things with idealistic intentions. Sometimes, despite our best efforts to help, we might face unexpected backlash, which can be quite surprising. It’s essential to recognize that hurt people often hurt others, and in such situations, taking a step back and removing your ego from the equation is crucial. Developing a tough skin and maintaining an even temper can go a long way in handling such challenges without taking them personally.

Authenticity is another key factor that I’ve found to be incredibly impactful. Being genuine and showing up as your true self resonates well with people, much more so than putting on a facade of professionalism. People appreciate authenticity and relatability, so fostering open communication and demonstrating that you’re approachable can significantly enhance the therapeutic relationship.

Optimism, albeit somewhat unconventional, has also proven to be valuable in my experience. It’s not about downplaying or minimizing the challenges individuals face, but rather about reframing situations in a way that helps them see things from a different perspective. By highlighting the silver linings and encouraging positive outlooks, I’ve found that clients often become more resilient and empowered to navigate their circumstances with a renewed sense of hope and possibility.

OK, thank you for all of that. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. Let’s begin with a basic definition of terms so that all of us are on the same page. Wellness is an incredibly broad topic. How would you define the term “Wellness”? Can you explain what you mean?

Absolutely, it’s a vast topic, and when I envision wellness on a personal level, I see it as striving for a state of equilibrium or homeostasis where everything feels balanced. Of course, there are times when things might veer too far in one direction or the other, but the key is being able to bring it back into alignment. It’s about curating your choices, actions, and daily activities to maintain a healthy balance that works for you.

To illustrate, I like to think of wellness as akin to a well. Much like a well provides life-giving water, wellness provides us with nourishment and vitality. However, just as you’d take measures to protect and maintain a well — like screening it, covering it, and ensuring it’s not polluted — we must also safeguard our wellness. It involves finding ways to preserve its integrity, ensuring it’s not diluted or tampered with, and taking proactive steps to keep it in good condition.

As an expert, this might be intuitive to you, but it will be instructive to expressly articulate this. Can you please share a few reasons with our readers about why focusing on our wellness should be a priority in our lives?

As I mentioned earlier, I faced a severe health challenge. While I received a diagnosis back in 2005 and managed it quite well, things took a drastic turn in 2017. It was a scare unlike anything I’d experienced before, even prior to my diagnosis. I found myself confused because I thought I had a good handle on things since my diagnosis. However, this scare prompted me to reevaluate and overhaul every aspect of my life from a holistic perspective.

I realized that to truly recover, I needed to make adjustments in every area of my life. I took a multifaceted approach to my recovery, considering my mental, physical, and spiritual health. This scare made me confront my mortality in a way I hadn’t before. Previously, I had felt invincible, having managed my diagnosis for over a decade without major setbacks. But suddenly, I found myself questioning everything.

It took some time to piece everything together, but as I filled in the blanks, I began to feel whole and well again. This experience reinforced the importance of addressing all aspects of health — mental, physical, and spiritual — to achieve true wellness.

Since the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been an increasingly growing understanding of the necessity for companies to be mindful of the wellness of their employees. For the sake of inspiring others, can you share steps or initiatives that companies have taken to help improve or optimize their employees’ mental and physical wellness?

Certainly, I’ve noticed some interesting initiatives that companies have been implementing, which I find quite promising, especially in my field. It’s a bit odd to say this given the challenges brought by COVID, but it’s actually had a positive impact on reducing the stigma around mental health.

One notable initiative is the offering of Employee Assistance Programs (EAPs). I’ve personally utilized EAPs during my time in corporate jobs, and they were incredibly helpful. They provided access to counseling services, which was eye-opening for me. It made me realize that seeking help for mental health is just as important as seeking help for physical health.

Another great practice I’ve observed is companies offering gym memberships or exercise programs as part of their benefits package. This not only promotes physical health but also ties into mental well-being.

Additionally, some companies have integrated mindfulness practices into their routines, such as incorporating meditation or relaxation techniques before or during meetings. It’s refreshing to see employers recognizing the importance of mental wellness and taking proactive steps to support their employees’ overall health and morale.

What are your “5 Things You Need To Create A Highly Successful Career In The Health and Wellness Industry”?

  1. Prioritize Mental and Physical Health Foundation:

Establish a strong grip on personal mental and physical health as a foundational aspect.

Consider the holistic approach to well-being, understanding the principle of “garbage in, garbage out.”

Utilize reputable sources like NIH and Healthline for evidence-based information and support.

2. Address Inactive Components:

Recognize the importance of inactive aspects like sleep hygiene, which often go unnoticed.

Emphasize the significance of quality sleep for optimal functioning, aiming for 7 to 10 hours of restful sleep.

Develop personal coping strategies to combat burnout, drawing from the experiences of supervisors and seasoned counselors.

Explore various coping mechanisms such as comedy, aromatherapy, breathwork, warm baths, prayer, and naps.

3. Develop Coping Strategies:

As care providers, we absorb a lot of emotional energy from others, so it’s crucial to have coping strategies to prevent burnout.

Supervisors and colleagues often share their decompression methods, inspiring me to compile my own list of techniques.

Personally, I find solace in activities like comedy, aromatherapy, deep breathing exercises, warm baths with Epsom salt, prayers, and naps to maintain my well-being in this field.

4. Stay Informed and Updated:

Remain updated with the latest information, research, and regulations in the field of mental health and wellness.

Subscribe to reputable publications like Psychology Today, Psychotherapy Networker, and PESI, and engage with organizations like NAMI for ongoing education.

Participate in support groups on social media platforms for additional knowledge and networking opportunities.

5. Maintain Variety in Career Positions:

Avoid burnout by diversifying career perspectives and positions throughout one’s professional journey.

Consider engaging in a mix of roles such as private practice, professorship, community college involvement, group facilitation, and presentations to prevent compassion fatigue and maintain enthusiasm in the field.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would promote the most wellness to the greatest amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I’m a firm advocate of incorporating naps into our daily routine. Adopting a practice similar to Spain or Mexico’s country-wide siesta, where businesses shut down for an hour, could be beneficial for the US.

We are blessed that some very prominent names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this if we tag them.

It would be incredible to have a conversation with Dr. Gabor Maté because of his profound work in the realm of body psychology dynamics. Additionally, I’m curious about the possibility of undergoing psychotherapy myself. Incorporating individual therapy into my routine would be beneficial, especially in maintaining my mental and physical well-being in the helping field.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

You can find me listed on Psychology Today under my name, Angela P. Harper. Additionally, I’m a provider on grief.com for grief counseling services. The listing on grief.com should be up and running very soon.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for the time you spent with this. We wish you continued success and good health!

--

--