Apple Watch Series 4: The End of “I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up?”

Jordan S. Savitsky
Authority Magazine
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2018

Are Medical Alert System companies finished?

We’ve come a long way since the system on the right, introduced in the early 1980s.

Did you see Apple’s big announcement yesterday? Based on the number of phone calls I’ve received, it appears a lot of people have read about their new watch product which is the first to ever offer “Fall Detection.”

“What does this mean for your business??” “So, your whole industry is kaput, right?”

These are just a couple of the questions I got. Sounds like I had a great day, right?

Well, actually, Apple’s announcement came as neither a surprise to me, nor a disappointment. Dare I say it’s an opportunity? But first, some quick facts:

Automatic Fall Detection has been around for 10 years or so and was first introduced to the market by Medical Alert System manufacturers. It has since become a relatively popular feature for both my own customers as well as those of my competitors. The problem is, it’s never been completely accurate. While the technology has improved over the years, it still causes a lot of false alarms and doesn’t always trigger in the event of a real fall.

This happens across the board. If you go to any Medical Alert company’s website and look at their Fall Detection feature, you’ll see a disclaimer identical or similar to the following:

“Smart” fall detection does not detect 100% of all falls. Users should always push their buttons when they need help, if possible”

So, the first important question about Apple’s new watch is this: will there be a way to push a single button for help in case fall detection doesn’t work properly?

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “Well, it’s Apple, so it must work pretty well!” Let me be the first to say, I agree, and I hope so!

If Apple just perfected the Fall Detection algorithm to make it more reliable, then it’s a welcome addition to my business. Unlike Apple, my business is about the customer care and service we provide and not about “a button” or Fall Detection alone.

Who’s on the other line when the Apple Watch user falls? Calling a family member is great….if they’re available and can immediately come to your aid. But what if you live across the country and your parent falls at 4 a.m. when your phone is on silent? Or what if you don’t have service and miss the call? That’s where my 24/7 monitoring center comes in.

Fall Detection and buttons are all just equipment features that enable the service, which is the true product my competitors and I provide.

One other issue Apple’s new watch will face is battery life.

Today’s Med Alert equipment is built to have long-lasting batteries. My own emergency mobile device can last 3 days on a single charge. This is important because if an older adult at risk of falling is relying on their device for help, they don’t want to be using up its battery life by listening to music or chatting on the phone.

By Apple’s best estimations, the battery on the new watch will last only 18 hours….an eternity by phone standards but an unfortunate drop in the bucket for those really needing a Med Alert to rely on. Believe me, grandma isn’t interested in stopping by Starbucks to plug her watch in for a couple of hours if it’s low on charge while she’s out-and-about. If the battery doesn’t last more than a day, it isn’t sufficient and could leave your loved one without protection.

So, am I toast?

No, not even close.

Apple’s introduction of Fall Detection is a fantastic step forward for my industry and could certainly come to replace some of today’s Med Alert equipment. But until it’s proven to be dependable and reliable, Fall Detection can’t be a sole safety net without a one-push button to initiate a call for help. Unfortunately, lots of adults will think just that and may wind up without help when they need it most.

Time and time again, Apple has proven itself incredible at creating hardware which enables amazing software and services to improve people’s lives. This is no different. The question to my competition is this: Will you capitalize on the opportunity to improve your customers’ lives with better equipment? I certainly will.

--

--