Author Carol Baldwin On How to Get a Publisher to Publish Your Book

An Interview With Teri Gault

Teri Gault
Authority Magazine
7 min readMay 29, 2024

--

I try to listen as carefully and non-defensively as possible. The person who read my work has taken the time to analyze my writing and provide honest feedback. I owe it to them, to myself, and to my book to pay attention to it. I often agree with what the critiquer has said. If I don’t, I need a very good reason to not change my work.

Navigating the publishing industry can be a daunting task for many aspiring authors. From crafting a compelling manuscript to understanding the intricacies of book marketing, the journey to getting published is filled with important decisions and steps. As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Carol Baldwin.

Before Carol wrote for children, she published two adult nonfiction books and many articles for kids and adults. An active member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI), Carol also enjoys blogging about books, teaching writing, and sharing books with her nine grandchildren. Her forthcoming debut YA historical novel, Half-Truths, is scheduled for publication in April 2025 by Monarch Educational Services. Find her on social media at https://linktr.ee/carolbaldwin.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to “get to know you” better. Can you tell us a bit about you and your backstory?

Frequent library trips, Saturday mornings reading in bed, word games around the kitchen table, journaling, and letters to pen-pals — these are the photographs from my childhood. My parents, German immigrants, valued books and reading — my siblings and I were taught to do the same.

I started by publishing nonfiction because I felt comfortable translating my observations and experiences into words. After all, I’d been doing that for years! Gradually, I left the safety of my experiences and worked into writing fiction. I didn’t leave nonfiction behind though. Every book I hope to write is rooted in real events and real places.

What was your inspiration to become an author?

My mother told me, “You have a way with words.” I believed her and grew into that blessing. My father read to us every night and his obvious admiration for stories and the written word inspired me. Thirty years ago, a friend gave me one of Cynthia Voigt’s books and I was hooked. I wanted to write a book for young readers that would capture the intricacies of relationships and show tenacious, brave characters.

Can you share the story of your publishing journey from the genesis of an idea to the fruition of becoming a published author?

Ha, Ha! How much time do you have? If you want to read the whole story, I’ve posted my journey on my blog.

The shorter version is that seventeen years ago, I had a story idea. I had moved to Charlotte, North Carolina from Pennsylvania about ten years earlier and I wanted to know what was life like “back in the day.” I dug for stories that had literally been paved over. What events led up to the civil rights movement? Where were the old plantations and graveyards? What did it feel like to see a “White’s Only” sign over a drinking fountain? I looked for Charlotte’s forgotten history.

I imagined a story about a White girl and a Black girl, the connection they would forge, and how their friendship would be tested. Along the way, I researched, read writing craft books, and interviewed 100 experts. I attended SCBWI writing conferences, was in a critique group, wrote a kazillion drafts (or so it seemed), hired a writing coach, had a generous mentor who guided me, learned how to write a good query letter, hired an editor, and researched agents and a publisher.

Let’s break it down into steps. Based on your experience, what are 5 main steps that you would recommend for someone to get their first book published with a publisher?

1 . Learn the writing craft. Take classes, read craft books, attend appropriate writing conferences.

2 . Get a thick skin. Be willing to receive feedback.

3. Be prepared to revise. Over and over again.

4 . Learn the publishing business. Figure out who wants the book you wrote.

5 . Persevere.

What are your thoughts about the pros and cons of signing with a Literary Agent?

I looked for an agent and a few wrote personal, complimentary rejection letters. Nothing panned out. I think an agent could have possibly gotten my foot in the door to a larger publishing house, but I’m happy with the independent publishing house I signed with.

What are your thoughts on the pros and cons of self-publishing versus traditional publishing?

As a book reviewer, I see too many self-published books that aren’t well-written or edited. I know that is not the case with all self-published books, but I think too many people rush into self-publishing without taking the necessary steps to create a good book.

Can you share your most thrilling moment as an author? Was it when you signed up with your publisher or received a box of your books? Something else? Please share the story with us!

So far, it was when Jen Lowry the publisher of Monarch Educational Services, responded to my query the very same day I sent it! She loved the query and immediately asked to see the full manuscript. I was blown away. Signing the contract, looking at possible cover images, receiving advance endorsements — that’s also been super cool. My book comes out in April 2025 and I imagine when I get my first book I will run up and down the street, waving it around and showing it to all my neighbors!

Thank you for sharing that fun story! Do you have any new or exciting projects coming up?

Right now, I’m busy getting the word out about Half-Truths. Since it’s a local story, I’m contacting community organizations, libraries, schools, and media outlets. It’s a time-consuming job! My next project is a middle-grade historical fiction novel, Out of the Flame. The main character is the grandfather of my protagonist in Half-Truths, a young glassworker in South Jersey in 1893.

Can you share some of the most surprising things you’ve learned about the publishing industry?

I heard how much work authors need to do pre-publication to create traction for their books. But I didn’t know how much that was true was until I started working toward the the release of Half-Truths.

What do you think are the most important qualities of a successful author?

Perseverance and the ability to receive solid feedback about your work.

How do you handle feedback and criticism about your writing?

I try to listen as carefully and non-defensively as possible. The person who read my work has taken the time to analyze my writing and provide honest feedback. I owe it to them, to myself, and to my book to pay attention to it. I often agree with what the critiquer has said. If I don’t, I need a very good reason to not change my work.

I’m pretty sure that most of us have experienced writer’s block. Is there any particular book, quote, or concept that has helped you overcome obstacles along the way?

Honestly, I haven’t experienced writer’s block much. I have too many ideas that are begging to be worked on! Scribbling notes helps when I’m stuck trying to figure out what happens next or what a character says next. Sometimes I sketch out the setting. I start a new document and interview my character. If all else fails, I go for a walk or bike ride. Those techniques help me push forward.

How do you stay motivated and disciplined in your writing practice?

I believe the stories I want to share with young people are worth telling. That keeps me coming back to the keyboard.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about them?

I am dedicating my book to two older gentlemen — one who is deceased now — who believed in my story. Price Davis was 90 when I first met him. He grew up in the Black neighborhood in Charlotte, NC in which my story takes place. He told me about being beaten by the police when they saw him with a light-skinned girl who they presumed was white. He was scared of the police and scared of his own anger. Soon after that, he left to work in New York. When he returned in 1950, the police stopped him because he was driving a nice car. One time he drove me around his old neighborhood but was self-conscious about driving a white woman in his car. He repeatedly told me to make my book authentic. That’s what I have endeavored to do. I am sad that I won’t be able to share my book with him.

The other man is Robert Toupal, my husband’s uncle. “Uncle Bob” as he is known to everyone, is 94 now. Throughout my journey to write and find a publisher, he repeatedly told me to never give up.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

Read books, including the Bible. Listen deeply to other people and don’t judge them. Think critically about what you read, hear, and believe.

How can our readers follow your work online?

https://carolbaldwinbooks.com/ — my website

https://linktr.ee/carolbaldwin — links to my social media accounts

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational.

Thank you for the opportunity!

About the Interviewer: Teri Gault is a published Author of Shop Smart Save More with Sheryl Berk, published by HarperCollins. As founder of The Grocery Game, Teri has been seen on Good Morning America, Today Show, ABC 20/20 and more. Teri is currently a Publicist and a Purveyor of Hope and Health at www.Unite2020Pandemic.com

--

--

Teri Gault
Authority Magazine

Teri Gault is a published Author of Shop Smart Save More with Sheryl Berk, published by HarperCollins