Author David Kouri: “Anyone can be a hero; It doesn’t matter your size, shape, color; none of that matters”

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
5 min readAug 24, 2020

Anyone can be a hero. It doesn’t matter your size, shape, color, none of that matters. My book tells the reader to let your voices be heard. Stand up for what you believe in, and fight for that belief until you can’t fight anymore.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing David Kouri.

David Kouri was born in Houston, Texas in June of 1975. He graduated from high school in 1994 and has been writing regularly since the early nineties. David studied at the Los Angeles film school from 2001–2003 and at the Oklahoma City University where he studied under Grey Fredrickson, Academy Award-winning Executive producer of The Godfather parts one and two, Apocalypse Now and The Outsiders. While attending school in Oklahoma he also studied under Fritz Kiersch, director of the original Children of the Corn, Tuff Turf and many other notable films. David lives with his wife and family in the Texas Hill Country.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

Back in high school, I used to create short stories and crazy scenarios for my friends. I would write small little scripts and have my friends act them out in the hallways and even in the classroom. I guess you could say storytelling has always been in my blood.

Can you share the most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your career?

The most interesting story that has occurred to me over the course of my career would have to be my screenplay Heroes and Heroin, which covers my life from the ages of 14–26, and the screenplay, The Normals, which is about the past 6 years of my life with my wife and out three children.

What was the biggest challenge you faced in your journey to becoming an author?

The biggest obstacle has just been getting my work out there. My newest novel, Elyria, has taken a while to get any real notice on the market, but that seems to be changing as we speak.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

I guess the funniest mistakes I’ve made would have to be in the spelling area. I have caught myself numerous times putting words into some of my sentences that change the whole aspect of the thought I was trying to create. It has taught me to be extra prudent in my editing, that’s for sure.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

As I said, Elyria is my newest project. It is about vampires and monsters, and one particular vampire with the power to save the world. I am also working on, like I said, the screenplay Heroes and Heroin, along with the teleplay for The Normals. I also have a sci/fi, action, horror screenplay I’ve been working on entitled, Chopshop which I think has the chance to be a big winner as well.

Can you share the most interesting story that you shared in your book?

The most interesting thing about Elyria is that you expect it to be this horror-filled thing, but it also has a very serious debate on diversity, love, and acceptance, which is something that all of us are striving for in this day and age. I believe it makes a very strong statement for the time that we are living in at the moment.

What is the main empowering lesson you want your readers to take away after finishing your book?

Anyone can be a hero. It doesn’t matter your size, shape, color, none of that matters. It tells the reader to let your voices be heard. Stand up for what you believe in, and fight for that belief until you can’t fight anymore.

Based on your experience, what are the “5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author”? Please share a story or example for each.

I would say that the five things you need to know to become a great author would be, you must know how to create your story, know where you’re going with every chapter. Create memorable characters, characters that people can get behind within the first page of your story. The plot must be original, strong, creative. The plot can be a tricky thing, considering that a lot of times the plot might actually change. Make sure you know how to edit, or at least make sure that the people who do your editing for you know what the heck they’re doing. Believe in your story. Believe in your characters, because if you don’t, then who will.

What is the one habit you believe contributed the most to you becoming a great writer? (i.e. perseverance, discipline, play, craft study) Can you share a story or example?

The best thing that has always worked for me is perseverance. Perseverance, support, of your family, and once again, and I cannot stress this enough, belief in yourself. I started working on a novel a little over 20 years ago. It was a difficult process because I had never tried to write this type of novel before. I gave up on it numerous times, that is until my dad and mom found it, read it, and told me that it was worth pursuing. That is my next project.

Which literature do you draw inspiration from? Why?

Literature that I draw inspiration from. My favorite authors are people that are not afraid to be real, honest, and take chances. Books like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Dr. Hunter S. Thompson. The Shining by Stephen King. J.R.R. Tolkien with The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series, and C.S. Lewis.

You are a person of enormous influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your ideas can trigger. :-)

If I could start a movement it would be to tell the entire world, no matter where you are to let your voice be heard. Now we can do that in many, many ways, but the best way to start is to get out and vote. Take the power away from those that want to destroy our freedoms. Don’t let others tell you how to live your life, or what you should be, or how you should be. Be your own individual and stand up for those that don’t have a voice.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Readers can follow me on my Facebook page at World of Elyria. My website is also worldofelyria.com.

Thank you so much for this. This was very inspiring!

Thank you as well. The questions were awesome and I truly enjoyed answering each and every one of them.

--

--