Author & Emmy Winning Journalist Jen Maxfield On The Five Things You Need To Create A Successful Career As A Journalist

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine
Published in
12 min readSep 6, 2022

--

… Number two, go into it with an open heart and don’t make assumptions about people based on their looks or where they live or based on somebody who’s been through something similar. I think having that beginner’s mindset is very helpful. Not only as far as putting together an accurate story, but also that impression of openness allows people to open up to you because they don’t feel like you’re making assumptions about them, and you’re looking at them as a whole person.

Another key to success in journalism is to be a good listener. It might be ironic to hear that because I do so much talking as part of my job. But, still, I think what’s helped me a lot is to be a good listener and to try to ask follow-up questions and tune into what people are telling me…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Authority Magazine

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator