Author Jeanne McIntosh Rietzke On How To Write A Book That Sparks A Movement

An Interview With Jake Frankel

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
10 min readJun 17, 2024

--

Grow a thicker skin. All art and creativity involve constant rejection. Your success or failure does not boil down to one person’s opinion — there are other people! When I finally got a rejection explaining why my books were not considered publishable in the United States, I was able to look elsewhere. Sturgill Simpson says it best in his song Keep It Between The Lines: “The only word you’ll ever need to know in life is why.” When you get that rejection or acceptance, ask why.

As part of my series about “How to write a book that sparks a movement” I had the pleasure of interviewing Jeanne McIntosh Rietzke. Jeanne is the multiple award-winning author and illustrator of Caroline, The Painted Turtle:

The Journey Begins and Caroline, The Painted Turtle: Life in Key West, a series of empowering children’s picture books that promote diversity, inclusion, self-awareness and friendship. Since 1992, she has been a professional watercolor artist and her colorful, coastal and marine themed paintings have sold nationally and internationally, won numerous awards, and been featured in national and international publications. Through her work, Jeanne is on a mission to teach both children and adults that our differences should be shared and celebrated. Touching lives around the world, Jeanne’s books are a wonderful example of how a book can spark a positive movement with ripple effects across our nation, and the world.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share the “backstory” of how you grew up?

I grew up a privileged white girl in a southern, conservative, Christian home. I am one of three daughters. My father was a travel agent, and my mother was a stay-at-home mother but worked from home as a journalist. Our house was in downtown Charleston, South Carolina before it became so affluent. We were sent to a private school, Ashley Hall, so we wouldn’t be the only white children in the public school, which was on our street. As much as I love and miss my parents, we were raised in a racist household. Realizing this, truly changed my life.

When you were younger, was there a book that you read that inspired you to take action or changed your life? Can you share a story?

I started reading Ernest Hemingway a bit too early, but he is my favorite writer. I wasn’t a good reader as a child. None of the stories about other children interested me. I enjoyed animal stories, murder mysteries, and Hemingway. Hemingway let me know that all the travel we did with my father was the best education. Meeting people where they live is an experience like no other. I started noticing that other countries and areas of our country were not as racist as where I lived. Hemingway fought side by side, hunted side by side, and loved people not based on skin color. My all-time favorite Hemingway novel is For Whom the Bell Tolls.

What was the moment or series of events that made you decide to bring your message to the greater world? Can you share a story about that?

Writing wasn’t on my radar. It sounds funny to say that now, but it wasn’t. I’m an artist. I’ve been painting since I was six. My college degree is in Fine Art — drawing. When the pandemic hit, I was flipping houses in Wilmington, North Carolina, using my art degree to pick colors and lay out new floor plans. Suddenly, we couldn’t get supplies, realtors weren’t showing properties, and everyone was scared. We sold our last house and hunkered down to stay healthy. I brought out my paints and started posting pictures of my work on social media. Just about that time, George Floyd was murdered. Something inside of me took his death harder than any other death by a police officer that I had heard about. It made me question everything. I honestly believe it was the video of his death that changed me. My soul hurt. I cried over a complete stranger. I suddenly felt as if my entire life had been a lie. I had heard that Wilmington, my new home, had a racist past. I wanted to learn the truth, so I read Wilmington’s Lie by David Zucchino. It’s the story of the only successful government coup in the United States in Wilmington, North Carolina in 1898. White people lost control and black people were succeeding. White people murdered the blacks or drove them out of town to regain control. Hundreds died. How many smart, kind, wonderful people have been killed because of their skin color? Millions probably. While I was trying to learn how I could make a difference, a random social media comment was posted: “You should illustrate children’s books.” I knew immediately that my turtles could help change the world, but I had to write the story.

What impact did you hope to make when you wrote this book?

I was hoping to help the next generation accept differences. Maybe even a few adults would get the message as they read it to their children. Humans need to come to terms with the fact that we are all one race. I struggle every day to get this message out. Our differences are what gives humans so much potential.

Did the actual results align with your expectations? Can you explain?

My expectations? Surely, you jest. Humans never cease to amaze me. The day my first two books were published, Russia invaded Ukraine. That is soul-crushing. Ultimately, I hope Caroline resonates with all people. She is me. A white girl trying to learn that it’s better to have some color and that our differences are wonderful.

What moment let you know that your book had started a movement? Please share a story.

I honestly think the movement is still building and should always build and change with the changing world. Hatred of differences knows no boundaries in the human world. I knew I had written the story correctly when a young black man came up to me at a group art show we were both in, told me he had read my books, and hugged me. We’ve been close friends ever since. We couldn’t be any more different from each other, but we see everything the same. We’re working on our first art show together.

What kinds of things did you hear right away from readers? What are the most frequent things you hear from readers about your book now? Are they the same? Different?

Right away, the most frequent comment was on the vibrant colors I used in the illustrations. Adults are always surprised that I wrote and illustrated the books. Children comment on how long they are. The first book is 2000 words. I was writing for ages six to eleven. Recently, I have been getting more comments that this message is timely and that more adults should read the books. Adult humans are still behaving badly.

What is the most moving or fulfilling experience you’ve had as a result of writing this book? Can you share a story?

Recently, I had the privilege of reading to a local kindergarten class. I read the first book, and then we had question-and-answer time. After a barrage of great questions like “Why did you focus on differences?” and “How old were you when you started painting?” I got this: “Why do dogs run away from people on the beach?”. The teacher’s face was priceless. She started to try to help me get out of answering that, but I didn’t let her. I said, “There are no bad dogs. There are only bad owners. Why aren’t the dogs on leashes?” You could have heard a pin drop in that room. Finally, you could see he understood and said, “You mean humans have to protect the animals, right?” He may have missed some of my lessons, but if that child grows up to be a better human and protects animals, I have changed the world.

Have you experienced anything negative? Do you feel there are drawbacks to writing a book that starts such colossal conversation and change?

Fortunately, I have had very few negative comments, but sometimes, what’s not said lets me know how people really feel. For example, I’ve had “friends” who wouldn’t write a review for me. There are drawbacks to writing about topics some humans ignore, but I’m trying to make us better people. You can’t hide from history, racism, homophobia, women’s rights, hatred of different religions, etc., and be a better person.

Can you articulate why you think books in particular have the power to create movements, revolutions, and true change?

Books are amazing! Reading a story allows the human brain to become one with the writer. You start picturing the characters. You can smell the food. You feel the emotions. I’m sure a neurologist could tell me how that part of the brain works, but I like to think it’s magic. Feeling the emotions in another person’s writing is what creates movements, revolutions, and true change. As smart as humans are, we are still emotional creatures.

What is the one habit you believe contributed the most to you becoming a bestselling writer? (i.e. perseverance, discipline, play, craft study) Can you share a story or example?

I can’t say it’s a habit, but I don’t take no for an answer. I guess perseverance is the closest habit. My husband says I’m stubborn. I was rejected by every agent and never even got a chance to have the books published in the United States. In the US, there is no category for 2000-word children’s books. I quickly discovered you can publish in other countries and found publishers in England. My lawyer acted as my agent, and it all worked out.

What challenge or failure did you learn the most from in your writing career? Can you share the lesson(s) that you learned?

I honestly had not written anything of length, other than some speeches and grant proposals, since college. I knew writers write the story first, then edit and perfect the manuscript. Both of my parents were writers, and my father published two books. But I knew nothing about children’s books. I happened to mention to a friend who has a Ph.D. in education that I had written this story, and she offered to be my “editor”. I mention her in the acknowledgments.

Many aspiring authors would love to make an impact similar to what you have done. What are the 5 things writers need to know if they want to spark a movement with a book? (please include a story or example for each)

First, write about a topic that you are passionate about. When I finally understood that the injustices in this world are based solely on humans misunderstanding our differences, I couldn’t write mine fast enough. A personal story I’ll share: I lost my mother back in 2018. My mother and I were not close. We loved each other, but we didn’t agree on anything. When she died, I was thrown into the fire as the executrix of her estate. It was overwhelming. One day, in a moment of frustration, I said something negative about my mother to my younger sister. She had a very close relationship with our mother. She took it the wrong way and we haven’t spoken since. She can not understand that the woman she adored was someone I could barely converse with at times. It never ceases to amaze me that people who should be very similar can have completely different feelings in the same situation. You have to be sensitive to this fact.

Second, write your truth. That doesn’t mean the story is true. That means the story comes from your soul. I learned this lesson from the late, great Jimmy Buffett. In my opinion, his music made him the ultimate storyteller. I was listening to the song, Stories We Could Tell, and a line stuck in my head. “If you ever wonder why you ride the carousel, you do it for the stories you can tell.” I honestly believe Ernest Hemingway lived his life that way too.

Third, if you have something to say, write it! Don’t worry about the “haters”. Any writing that can spark a movement will offend someone. What if you save a life? What if you save a nation? What would this world be like without Dr. Martin Luther King? Amanda Gorman? Colson Whitehead? These are three very different writers, but all have made a difference in this world with their writing.

Fourth, let someone read your manuscript, poem, etc., who knows you well, and let someone read it who doesn’t know you well. The feedback you get is priceless. I sent my manuscript to children worldwide whose parents or grandparents I knew and to my grandchildren. My favorite comment from a child who didn’t know me was that they were now concerned about the rubbish in the ocean. My oldest granddaughter sent me a video answer with a real critique about the length and some of the vocabulary. It all helps.

Fifth, grow a thicker skin. All art and creativity involve constant rejection. Your success or failure does not boil down to one person’s opinion — there are other people! When I finally got a rejection explaining why my books were not considered publishable in the United States, I was able to look elsewhere. Sturgill Simpson says it best in his song Keep It Between The Lines: “The only word you’ll ever need to know in life is why.” When you get that rejection or acceptance, ask why.

The world, of course, needs progress in many areas. What movement do you hope someone (or you!) starts next? Can you explain why that is so important?

I would like to see the word “race” no longer applied to humans. In Webster’s Dictionary, there are four definitions. Numbers three and four are antiquated and offensive. I believe what we mean to say is ethnicity. The federal government, the Red Cross, and medical surveys ask for your “race.” I am a human. I belong to the human race. Help me spread the word by using the hashtag #onerace.

How can our readers follow you on social media?

My social media accounts are:

Facebook: Caroline The Painted Turtle and Painted By Hand

Instagram: @Carolinethepaintedturtle and @painted_by_hand_ilm

Twitter: @JeanneMLirola

Threads: painted_by_hand_ilm (Jeanne McIntosh Rietzke)

LinkedIn: Jeanne Rietzke

Thank you so much for these insights. It was a true pleasure to do this with you.

--

--