Author Lenore Borja of The Last Huntress On How To Create Compelling Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories

An Interview With Ian Benke

Ian Benke
9 min readAug 21, 2022

Routine: For me, routine is everything. I try to schedule my day around my writing, not the other way around. Even if you have a full-time job, set time aside in the morning or at night. Even one hour a day will result in progress. Set a timer if you have to. Just find the routine that suits you and helps keep you productive.

Science Fiction and Fantasy are hugely popular genres. What does it take for a writer today, to write compelling and successful Science Fiction and Fantasy stories? Authority Magazine started a new series called “How To Write Compelling Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories”. In this series we are talking to anyone who is a Science Fiction or Fantasy author, or an authority or expert on how to write compelling Science Fiction and Fantasy .

As a part of this series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Lenore Borja.

Lenore Borja grew up in Phoenix, Arizona. She attended Arizona State University before moving to New York City to study acting at The American Academy of Dramatic Arts. After a brief career as an actress, she spent several years working in executive search and human resources in both New York and San Francisco. She now resides in Fort Collins, Colorado, with her husband and a bossy feline named Maximus. When she’s not writing, she enjoys adventure travel and anything that gets the heart racing, whether it’s hiking, running, or getting lost in a good book.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Before we dive into the main focus of our interview, our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you share a story about what first drew you to writing over other forms of storytelling?

I used to be an actress. After landing a role, I’d grab a blank notebook and write down everything I knew about the character. (Though not before I squealed and did a happy dance around my tiny apartment.) Once I had a handle on what the playwright or screenwriter provided, I would work to ‘fill in the blanks’ by developing a background for my character. I usually filled the entire notebook, regardless of the role. I never shared this work with anyone, but the exercise helped me connect with my character and deliver her lines with intention and purpose. This process made me realize I had stories of my own to tell.

You are a successful author. Which three character traits do you think were most instrumental to your success? Can you please share a story or example for each?

  1. Focus: I don’t think many successful authors lack the ability to focus. Sure, there will be distractions, and sometimes you get derailed for a day or two, but the only way to finish is to keep going. Keep showing up. I find that shutting my office door helps. Otherwise, I risk my husband wandering in for a chat or my cat deciding my keyboard is the perfect place for his afternoon nap.
  2. Humility: I think it’s important to remember that writing is an art form. It’s subjective. There will be bad reviews, and there will be people who don’t like what you’ve got to offer. I’m proud of what I create, and I hope readers enjoy it, but once it’s out there, it’s out of my control (which is exciting and terrifying!) As an actress, I had to deal with my fair share of rejection, which was never fun. But it helped me learn how to process rejection in a way that doesn’t elicit feelings of anger or resentment. We’re all just doing our best, and that’s all we can do!
  3. Perseverance: Four years ago, I was living in San Francisco and working in human resources. While it was a great company that allowed me to work with smart and talented people, I had zero passion for the work. I was good at it because there was no other option. It was sink or swim, so I swam. The day I sat down at my laptop and decided to start writing a novel, I applied that same mindset. I either write this thing, or I don’t. Nobody else is going to write it for me. And even when I felt lost and wasn’t sure where the story should go, I sat down in that seat. I just kept writing. Fast forward, here we are. It’s surreal because I can’t recall how it all came together. All I know is that it did not happen overnight. Writing a book takes time and effort — oceans of it — but the reward is holding the final book in your hands and knowing that despite all the twists and turns, you stuck it out. You did it!

Can you tell us a bit about the interesting or exciting projects you are working on or wish to create? What are your goals for these projects?

I’m currently working on book two in the Mirror Realm series. There will be four books in this series. Each installment will focus on a different ‘huntress’ while continuing Alice’s story arc (the main character from book one). I’m also working on a standalone paranormal romance that is dark, funny, and a bit twisted. (We write what we know!)

Wonderful. Let’s now shift to the main focus of our interview. Let’s begin with a basic definition so that all of us are on the same page. How do you define sci-fi or fantasy? How is it different from speculative fiction?

I define sci-fi as grounded — albeit loosely — in the laws of physics. These stories involve technology or technologically advanced civilizations that do not exist in reality, though theoretically they could (e.g., androids, interstellar space travel, time travel, aliens, etc.).

Fantasy doesn’t have to adhere to specific rules other than those the author applies to the world they create (e.g., winged horses, dragons, fae, etc.).

Speculative fiction is an umbrella category that encompasses both of these genres. It mainly refers to stories with elements that don’t exist in reality or the known universe.

It seems that despite countless changes in media and communication technologies, novels and written fiction always survive, and as the rate of change increases with technology, written sci-fi becomes more popular. Why do you think that is?

As technology evolves, so does our ability to see beyond what we know as scientifically possible. If you told me when I was in high school (dating myself here!) that I’d one day be able to hold a computer in my hand that I took everywhere, I’d have a hard time picturing it. Yet as I type, my iPhone sits next to me, always an arm’s reach away in case I need to text someone or check how many likes I got on my last Instagram post (I’ll spare you the suspense; not many). The more we evolve, the further our imagination can go. I think that makes diving into alternate universes and advanced technologies easier to do.

In your opinion, what are the benefits to reading sci-fi, and how do they compare to watching sci-fi on film and television?

Sci-fi and fantasy require two imaginations to work: that of the writer and the reader. As an author, I’m giving my reader the tools to enter a new world with me, but what they see won’t necessarily be what I envisioned. If I did my job well, it’d be close. But the beauty of reading is taking what the author gives you and making it your own. You don’t get that option with film and television. That said, visual effects these days are insane. Sometimes the result surpasses my imagination. But if we’re talking about a book-to-film adaptation, I’m begging you. Read the book first!

What authors and artists, dead or alive, inspired you to write?

Jane Austen, Diana Gabaldon, Cassandra Clare, Amy A. Bartol, Stephen King.

If you could ask your favourite Science Fiction and Fantasy author a question, what would it be?

Diana Gabaldon: The Outlander Series is why my husband and I spent our honeymoon in Scotland. I had just finished Voyager and couldn’t wait to drive through the Highlands and curl up in front of a fire in an old drafty castle. My question: You spent a lot of time with Claire and Jamie in the 1700s. If you could travel back in time, would you choose to visit the 18th century, knowing what you know now from your research?

We’d like to learn more about your writing. How would you describe yourself as an author? Can you please share a specific passage that you think exemplifies your style?

This is a tough one. I’m not sure I have a good answer, but I’ll try! I mix humor into my writing whenever I can, and I try to keep the pace quick and the dialogue snappy. I’d say I focus more on flow than anything else. I like to think my writing is easy to read while still entertaining and maybe always one step ahead of the reader. Whenever I can surprise you, I’m game!

Passage:

“Where have you been?” he asked.

“I’m here now,” was all she could say.

He slowly reached a hand toward her face, as if confirming she was real. She closed her eyes again.

His touch was fire. Hot, crucial, life-saving fire. Nothing else mattered. Nothing existed before this moment. She was suddenly, and for the first time, awake.

Which was unfortunate, really. Because a second later, she passed out.

Based on your own experience and success, what are the “Five Things You Need To Write Compelling Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories?” If you can, please share a story or example for each.

  1. Imagination: My only advice here is to go for it. If you’re writing sci-fi or fantasy, you already have a creative mind. Let it run wild. And don’t worry about coming up with a new idea. Chances are someone has already thought of it, but what separates your story from theirs is how you tell it. Stay true to your voice and have fun. Also, READ. Good writers are great readers.
  2. Patience: World-building takes time. You’re creating an alternate reality, and your reader needs to understand it before you plunk your hero onto a winged horse or teleport them to another dimension. Balance and pacing are key. Give your reader some time to get comfortable. Then let ’em have it!
  3. Self-Discipline: A given for any success story. You have to set goals and do your best to meet them. Get a writing accountability partner. Join a writing group. Go on a writing retreat if you can. Reward yourself when you meet your goals. Writing a novel isn’t easy, especially one that involves complicated world-building. It takes hard work, time, and maybe a few tears. But if you keep going, one day, you’ll look up and say, “Holy cow, I just wrote a book!”
  4. Routine: For me, routine is everything. I try to schedule my day around my writing, not the other way around. Even if you have a full-time job, set time aside in the morning or at night. Even one hour a day will result in progress. Set a timer if you have to. Just find the routine that suits you and helps keep you productive.
  5. Google: You’ll need this handy little tool to look up things like, “When will Halley’s comet be back?” or “How long does it take a person to suffocate?” (which reminds me, I need to clear my cache.)

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Entertainment, Business, VC funding, and Sports read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US, with whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch, and why? He or she might just see this, especially if we both tag them :-)

Probably Stephen King. I was fifteen when I read The Stand; honestly, that book never left me. To this day, I’m obsessed with post-apocalyptic books, movies, and television shows. I sometimes walk into a grocery store and picture all the shelves dark and empty or full of rotting food, buzzing flies, and danger lurking in aisle four. I’m pretty sure The Stand has something to do with that. When a book sticks with you that long, it’s pretty darn special. And now I realize that sounds creepy considering the subject matter, but I stand by it (pun intended.) Stephen King is a legend. Who wouldn’t want to have lunch with him? I want names.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

You can follow me on Instagram at @LenoreBorja_Author or sign up for my newsletter at www.lenoreborja.com

Thank you for these excellent insights, and we greatly appreciate the time you spent. We wish you continued success.

--

--

Ian Benke

Writer, artist, origami enthusiast, and CEO and Co-Founder of Stray Books