Author Mary Guillermin: 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Don’t be afraid to cut things that don’t work or that can tighten things up. When I write a paper as I did for this book, my process of waiting for the alchemy to happen means I don’t need to cut much out. But after writing and performing a one-woman show and knowing it was too long, I took the scalpel to several loved scenes. I could tell the story would hang together without those scenes even though I had enjoyed those scenes in the initial performance. Then I found a certain joy in the sacrifice. I liked the crisp sharp movement of the remaining scenes; less detail, smoother story.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Mary Guillermin.

Mary Guillermin was married to John for the last 16 years of his life.

She is the Director of Communications and a Senior Pellin Practitioner at the Pellin

--

--