Author Tracy Schumer: 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readMay 4, 2021

--

Have a work ethic and stick to it. I wrote five novels while living aboard a sailboat at sea. And this was with four other people living alongside me. To preserve my concentration, I often wrote in the head. I used the toilet as my chair, with my laptop straddled across my knees. I learned to write inside a rocking, rolling, pitching, sailboat. That’s the level of dedication I have.

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Tracy Schumer.

Tracy Schumer is an Amazon bestselling author, former freelance journalist, and an instrument rated pilot who crossed the Russian Far East in a single-engine aircraft. She circumnavigated South America by small plane, sailed around the world, and knows how it feels to be aboard a crippled yacht adrift in the Pacific.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

--

--