Ayesha Ashfaq of Creative Calligraphy: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist

I wish someone told me to love solitude. It’s good to feel solitude and be at peace with yourself. Famous mindfulness practitioner Jon Kabat Zinn said. ‘It is indeed an act of love to sit down and be quiet for a time by yourself. Painting is an act of being with yourself, fully present which is an important aspect of mindfulness.

As a part of our series about “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became An Artist” I had the pleasure of interviewing Ayesha Ashfaq.

Ayesha is an Arabic Calligraphy Artist. She has authored a journal on Self Belief, created an online calligraphy course and has introduced traditional Arabic calligraphy and Persian miniature Art to the western audience. Ayesha is a Founder of ‘Creative Calligraphy’ where she designs and creates traditional Arabic art. Her work can be accessed here .

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Can you tell us the story of how you grew up?

The pleasure is mine. Thank you for interviewing me.

I was born in an aristocratic family, my father, was an independently wealthy man who didn’t need to work to support himself. He owned a large amount of land, while his days largely consist of engaging in various pursuits for intellect and leisure. My mother would perform social duties, such as paying calls, reading books, playing music and engaging in needlework. Spending time with children was not a top priority. Among aristocrats, house guests and long visits from relatives were common; single or widowed aunts and sisters were part of the family group.

I loved books: reading and writing were my favorite pastime. Religious values and virtues were taught to us by our parents and grandparents in daily life. Life was slow and peaceful. The days were spent in school, homework, tuition and playtime. As time progressed, and morning tv transmission began, watching Tom n Jerry for 3 minutes, was the treat before going to school.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

My mother was an avid reader: she loved books and magazines. She collected them, and in my spare time, I would go through them and enjoyed reading and seeing photos of celebrity interviews. I once took my mother to the Book Fair in my school and bought a lovely, illustrated storybook called ‘Three Grumpy Bears’. That book inspired me to illustrate and draw.

Can you tell us the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Lol …. can’t recall any.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am working on a new calligraphy series, called ‘Calligraphy with glow’. It is the concept where I am merging western art concepts into traditional Arabic calligraphy. This intersection of East, Arab and Western art is very exciting for me to work on. These calligraphy paintings are painted with method and techniques which makes the words glow and illuminate, creating the illusion of light. This is my own method which works every time without fail.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

Most interesting people for me are those who act as gatekeepers of the Art industry and guard the same style of art. Art gallery owners promote the styles already familiar with the audience. They are hard to crack when it comes to a new and different style of work. Once I contacted a local art gallery owner to book a show for my new series of work; after seeing my art, the gentleman told me ‘ This will not sell, create the likes of the style which are famous’.

But, I am continuing with my unique style of Calligraphy, nonetheless. I think I have met more haters and critics since I began working as a Calligraphy Artist who integrates western painting methods in Arabic calligraphy. People don’t like it when someone progresses from the set path of normalcy. Carving my own path is quite a challenge in this male-dominated Arabic Calligraphy Art world I will succeed in creating an audience and collectors for my style of work.

Where do you draw inspiration from? Can you share a story about that?

Inspiration comes from what I think, what I love and how I want to present it in a form of Calligraphy Art. The ideas, the unseen and unrealistic paintings and writings inspire me. I believe humans love the concept of fiction, the feeling of being somewhere else, another world! My perspective is: what life seems, to how it feels is of more value. Feelings are the reality, I have realized this doing my artwork. I want viewers of my work to feel the same emotion as I have felt while creating it. If someone’s art has evoked an emotion inside me; he has succeeded as an artist, and that artist or artwork is my inspiration.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I introduce people to the sacred teachings of God through my artwork. God is Hope, Beauty and Power lying inside every one of us. Look within, pause and reflect.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. I wish someone told me to be bold and expressive in Art

I started as timid and perfectionist, which I would tell inspiring Artists never to be.

Never be afraid to paint what and how you think it should be painted.

2. I wish someone told me to have a Mentor

I began doing art on my own, following some artists on YT, which is not the way to learn Art. Find someone who has been there to make your artistic journey peaceful and enjoyable. I remember I would fret and agitate when the results were not the same as the Artist creating Art in the video. Art requires method, techniques, mediums, imagination and coaching.

3. I wish someone told me to trust myself while painting

Trusting that inner voice to guide me while creating Art comes after years of practice and self-belief. Showing up in my art studio everyday even when I am feeling low and uninspired has helped improve my art immensely. Practice makes progress.

4. I wish someone told me to Network

Learning and creating is step 1 in becoming an artist. There is another step to climb once you are done with your art school or informal art education: going out there and creating your own opportunities in the world of Art. Reach out first to the curators or gallery owners. Don’t expect to be discovered magically.

5. I wish someone told me to love solitude

It’s good to feel solitude and be at peace with yourself. Famous mindfulness practitioner Jon Kabat Zinn said. ‘It is indeed an act of love to sit down and be quiet for a time by yourself.

Painting is an act of being with yourself, fully present which is an important aspect of mindfulness.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

With my influence, I would love to inspire a movement where people, especially women learn to believe in themselves. As much as you want people to agree, to support you in your dream: this is not going to happen, You got to do this ALONE!.

People will hop in when you are doing what you believe when the ball is rolling when they see the insane amount of belief going into your work.

We have been blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she just might see this.

I love Aubrey Marcus and his podcasts. I would love to have a chance to meet him in person. His wisdom and words have helped me in my low times, I am so thankful for his teachings.

What is the best way our readers can follow you on social media?

I am most active on Instagram, where I post daily. My Instagram handle is https://www.instagram.com/ayeshacalligraphy

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

--

--

Edward Sylvan CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group.
Authority Magazine

Edward Sylvan is an Entrepreneur and CEO of Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc. and SEGI TV, a streaming app that showcases niche Film, TV and live sports.