“Be Vulnerable” The 5 Lessons I Learned Being a 20-Something Founder

Jean Ginzburg
Authority Magazine
Published in
6 min readJun 29, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Dana Cohen, owner of Cohen PR, a travel and lifestyle communications consultancy that spans worldwide. She founded Cohen PR in 2013 in order to offer clients a full integrated approach to marketing and public relations.

Jean: Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory” of how you become a founder?

  • I’m very fortunate that my first job out of college was at the Miami office of a highly prestigious global PR agency. The experience of working at an agency of this caliber and size is that it essentially felt like boot camp; I was able to work with Fortune 500 companies and tourism destinations, thrust into the driver’s seat, handling the day-to-day responsibilities that come with account management, and really learn all there is to know about PR, client interaction, strategic counsel, tactic development and execution, generating results, managing expectations, and measuring success. I briefly contemplated a move to New York but quickly realized there were more growth opportunities for me in Miami. My agency experience fueled me with the knowledge (and blood, sweat and tears) and foundation to take the next step. Ultimately, I knew I wanted to be able to take on even more responsibility and challenge myself even further, work with clients that I’m…

--

--

Jean Ginzburg
Authority Magazine

#1 best-selling author, serial entrepreneur, digital marketing expert, founder of Alpenglo.Digital