Beating Burnout: Brendan Cournane On The 5 Things You Should Do If You Are Experiencing Work Burnout

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
Published in
27 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Rediscover the joy — When you started your career, you were drawn to the work for a reason. When you were in the honeymoon phase of your career, there was joy and excitement. What was that ‘thing’ that you desired every day when you woke up and couldn’t wait to do? When I started practicing law, my first project was financing a hospital addition on the southside of Chicago, a hospital in my neighborhood. I was thrilled to see a tangible reward of my efforts when the new wing to the hospital was constructed. I was learning new things and couldn’t wait to learn more. Each morning I awoke early and bounced into the office. I was so excited that I often worked right through lunch and often into the evening. My colleagues were smart, friendly and encouraging. Any mistakes I made in that first…

--

--