Behind the Scenes of D-Railed with Actress Carter Scott

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2019

Carter has an extensive background in stage work studying at Tish, after which she came to Los Angeles to pursue her acting career. She has done a lot of shorts, and is exploring her passion as a writer and producer, which has been going very well.

Her latest project is called ‘Don’t Call Me a Millennial’, a dark comedy sketch show which she describes as Amy Schumer meets Black Mirror. She also has a role in fantasy/thriller “D-Railed” starring sci-fi icon Lance Henriksen playing the lead role of Evelyn.

“D-Railed” is currently on the film festival circuit and has won many awards including five Platinum awards from the International Independent Film Awards in the following categories: Concept, Costumes, Sound Design/Editing, Cinematography and Directing. It has been nominated for Best Practical FX at the PDXtreme film festival in January.

What was it about D-Railed that was appealing to you:

It’s understood that in Hollywood you are what you look like as far as what your casting is, so in general I don’t get the hero, bad ass, kicking ass and saving everybody; that’s generally not what I get called in for, so that’s what excited me about this!

What drew you to the character:

I remember telling Everette that I think that if I was in the situation that Evelyn was in, I would do what she does.

What did you do to prepare for the role:

This is probably a total cop out answer, but the truth is I’ve been preparing forever with studying I suppose. I feel like one of the reasons that I was cast as Evelyn is she made a lot of sense to me from the beginning. I remember in the audition I told Dale the director that she kind of reminds me of Jack from ‘Lost’ and how he was very much the leader and that is very much what she is. From the get go reading the script I kind of understood who she was.

What were some of the challenges of the shoot:

We worked the longest hours oh my goodness! I was there for all of the days except one and we were working long hours throughout the night. Everybody that worked on this movie worked their ass off.

--

--

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine

Misty Schwartz is a public relations and marketing guru, she also enjoys doing charity events in her spare time. https://schwartzentertainmentmedia.com/