Bespoke Tailor Stephen Richards Jr: 5 Things You Need To Succeed In The Fashion Industry

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readApr 12, 2021

--

You need to be constantly keeping up with what your competitors are doing. Make sure they’re not implementing new products and services that are relevant in your industry before you do. I personally refuse to be outworked by my competitors — I even go as far as driving past one of my main, local competitors every day to and from work. If their lights are on when I go to work, I make sure to leave earlier the next morning. If when I’m driving home after work and they’re still there, I turn around and go back to my shop to put in more hours.

As part of our series about the 5 things you need to succeed in the fashion industry, I had the pleasure of interviewing Stephen Richards Jr. He was born and raised in Nashville, Tenn., where he attended Brentwood Academy. He went on to receive a degree in Business Management from the University of Mississippi, and, after graduation, moved back to Nashville to work for his family’s company, Richards &

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.