Rising Star Logan Coffey: “Meet and interact with people who are different from you, at least every other day”

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine
Published in
4 min readMar 30, 2020

As every actor says, and especially every LA Actor… it’s tough. There are a lot of people out there. Your competition is prettier, taller, shorter, stronger, whatever it may be, and people at every audition I go to are just that. Comparison is constant and rejection is more common than in arguably any other career path. However, I love it. I love the grind, the struggle, the imagination. If it was easy, everyone would be doing it. The struggles I’ve had as I have started my career in Hollywood have made the tiny successes I’ve seen all the more worth it.

Logan Coffey is an LA-based actor with exciting new tv & film projects on the horizon. Seen as the All-American Boy, he has been rapidly building his resume with various credits and scenes with other high-profile talent. Recently establishing his team, Logan is repped by AQUA Talent (LA) & BYSB Talent (ATL), and managed by THE ESI NETWORK.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

In high school, I was in Speech and Debate, and one tournament I found myself entered into was the ‘Storytelling’ category, where I ended up winning an award for doing different voices as I performed “The Lion King”. It was all about comedic timing and basically how engaging you were for the audience. I remember knowing then that I always wanted to act — to perform as someone or something else.

Can you share your story of Grit and Success? First, can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey?

As every actor says, and especially every LA Actor… it’s tough. There are a lot of people out there. Your competition is prettier, taller, shorter, stronger, whatever it may be, and people at every audition I go to are just that. Comparison is constant and rejection is more common than in arguably any other career path. However, I love it. I love the grind, the struggle, the imagination. If it was easy, everyone would be doing it. The struggles I’ve had as I have started my career in Hollywood have made the tiny successes I’ve seen all the more worth it.

Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?

Thanks to my parents really. I mean, I was always raised to work hard. I’ve always held on to that. When it’s gotten really, really tough, I’ve just worked that much harder.

What are you currently working on?

In 2020, I’ve got two films coming out; one is a Christmas film starring Eileen Davidson (DAYS OF OUR LIVES) and Trevor Stines (RIVERDALE), while the other is a crime thriller. In April, I’ll also be in an episode of a new Netflix series, HOLLYWOOD, directed by Ryan Murphy; and then, later this summer, catch me in a reality competition show, CANNONBALL.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that.

The one that instantly comes to mind is when I auditioned for some holiday Grinch thing the first 6 months I was out in LA. I had like 3 commercial auditions that day, all over town, and this was the last one. We had to improv, and they wanted us to show holiday frustration. I was doing some sassy, pretty obnoxious Who from Who-ville and I regretfully said some pretty intense (maybe funny) adult language that I noticed one person in the room not responding to that well. Turns out, the audition was for live performers for kid’s birthday performers. I thought my agent had sent me out for a holiday play or something, but needless to say, I definitely did not get that callback for the party performers.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

If you want it, it’s a marathon, not a sprint. Gear up, and if it’s not for you — the rejection mainly — that is okay.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

I was definitely blessed to have had some great roommates out here. I moved to Los Angeles with some best friends from college, and our small family grew into our bigger family. As fellow artists in various fields, I was beyond lucky to have that support system that I did while I was working at the YMCA and taking headshots in bushes.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me before I started and why:

  1. Get good at everything: different languages, various sports, cooking, violin, painting, knitting — try it.
  2. Save money.
  3. Meet and interact with people that are different from you, at least every other day.
  4. You can outwork anybody if you need.
  5. If you think you’re talented, hold on to that. That’s yours.

How can our readers follow you on social media?
@coffeyboyy (Instagram)
www.logancoffey.com

--

--

Misty Schwartz
Authority Magazine

Misty Schwartz is a public relations and marketing guru, she also enjoys doing charity events in her spare time. https://schwartzentertainmentmedia.com/