Big Ideas: “Help women own their careers with project-based, remote, and flexible job opportunities” with Vivian Chen, CEO of Rise

Christina Diane Warner
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMar 1, 2019

--

As a part of my series about “Big Ideas That Might Change The World In The Next Few Years” I had the pleasure of interviewing Vivian Chen. Vivian is the Co-Founder and CEO of Rise, a technology platform that helps women own their careers with project-based, remote, and flexible opportunities. Vivian is a seasoned business strategist and operator who has built high-impact brands and products for Fortune 500 companies, high-growth startups, as well as leading VCs, PEs, and global institutions.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

Sure thing, I actually stumbled upon this path completely by accident. I originally set out to start a skincare company having worked at L’Oréal for many years. I spent eight months developing product formulas, designing packaging, and lining up distribution, but I couldn’t get myself to push the go button to go into production. Unlike my days at L’Oréal, as a small startup, the cost of goods were astronomical. So I started consulting, thinking that I would use some of the money to fund my first batch of products. Soon enough, my clients started referring me to more clients and within a few months, I had…

--

--

Christina Diane Warner
Authority Magazine

Recognized marketing leader with a proven track record in driving growth