Big Ideas: “Use AI, Blockchain, and Edge Computing to reduce food waste and stabilize world hunger”with Somdip Dey

Christina Diane Warner
Authority Magazine
Published in
14 min readFeb 24, 2019

--

As a part of my series about “Big Ideas That Might Change The World In The Next Few Years” I had the pleasure of interviewing Somdip Dey. Somdip is an Embedded AI scientist at the University of Essex, UK and a Research Engineer at the Samsung R&D Institute, UK with more than 40 published peer-reviewed research papers in computer science. Somdip is a serial entrepreneur, and prior to pursuing research as an Embedded AI scientist, Somdip co-founded Codeepy Pvt. Ltd. and held a position as Managing Director at ReMe Basket Ltd. To keep up with his latest work in AI and Edge Computing, follow his personal website and connect with Somdip at LinkedIn or Twitter.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I come from a humble background. When I was born in Kolkata, India, my family used to live in a one-bed studio apartment with a leaky roof. But in order to provide me with a better life and education so that I can achieve anything in life, both of my parents worked hard, day and night. After completing my undergraduate studies and working for almost a year post graduation in India, I knew that I can’t just stop my pursuit of knowledge. I needed to pursue higher…

--

--