Brian Weaver Of Weaver Films: Five Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Launched My Business or Startup

An Interview With Doug Noll

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine
7 min read3 hours ago

--

Make time for friends, family, and yourself. Being a business owner can be incredibly demanding, and it’s easy to get lost in the hustle. However, it’s crucial to set aside time for the people who matter most and to take care of your own well-being. This balance not only keeps you grounded but also ensures you’re operating at your best.

Taking the risk to start a company is a feat few are fully equipped for. Any business owner knows that the first few years in business are anything but glamorous. Building a successful business takes time, lessons learned, and most importantly, enormous growth as a business owner. What works and what doesn’t when one starts a new business? What are the valuable lessons learned from the “University of Adversity”? As part of this interview series, I had the pleasure of interviewing Brian Weaver.

Brian Weaver, the mastermind behind Weaver Films, embodies a seasoned filmmaker’s vision and dedication. With a focus on wedding and corporate videography, Brian’s expertise lies in curating compelling storylines that resonate globally. With Weaver Films, Brian continues to leave an indelible mark on the filmmaking landscape, driven by a passion for excellence and a dedication to his craft.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I was always creating movies with my neighbors’ video camera when I was a kid. I started in the wedding industry as a DJ. I was trying to get my boss to invest in a video camera so I could branch out into wedding videography, but he wouldn’t do it. I finally started a company called KB Studios with my best friend, Kelton, and began to learn and build a wedding film portfolio in early 2018.

Can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey?

I don’t think there was ever an easy moment trying to get this business to start working. From just getting married to having a newborn son and then Covid hitting us hard, it’s just been a really rough ride.

Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?`

I have always strived to be the best version of myself I can possibly be. I decided to choose one of the hardest things to be good at, which was becoming a singer-songwriter from the age of 15 to 27. I have traveled and played over 300 shows, and I still can’t put the music down. I’ve tried, I always end up recording a few songs every year. Surprisingly, transitioning into wedding videography was easier than pursuing a career as a musician. My resilience to learn and adapt has helped me become the man I am today. One thing my dad has always told me while growing up was to put in the work, and you will achieve what you want in life.

So, how are things going today? How did grit and resilience lead to your eventual success?

The business thrives today as a solo entrepreneur. I have filmed over 150 weddings since 2020 and have worked with nonprofits such as Easterseals, Hope Movement Coalition, Pathway to Freedom, and The Confess Project. I had the opportunity to film all three former governors of Arkansas thanks to Pathway to Freedom. If there were an opportunity to film an event or a story, I would take it and do the best job possible.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

So, for my first two weddings, I shot everything in 24fps and then tried to achieve that slow-motion look by slowing it down to 40%. However, this resulted in a choppy wedding video. It’s all part of the learning process. lol.

What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

My company stands out for many reasons. I care about my clients, giving them the utmost respect throughout the entire process. My storytelling throughout my wedding films is another essential key to my success. Helping vendors on the wedding day, if I have time, sets me apart as well. I’ve assisted DJ’s, florists and makeup artists in hauling their equipment up and down stairs and out to their cars. Doing small things like that can really go a long way.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

I would recommend staying focused, putting in the work, and continuing to build a portfolio that you can be proud of. Avoid taking on excessive weddings or jobs that you cannot handle. Instead, take your time, slow down, and focus on doing the best job possible on each project that comes your way.

How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I have helped a lot of nonprofits, such as Hope Movement Coalition, that are truly making a difference in the fight against the opioid epidemic. I often provide nonprofits with a special discount for my services. Creating testimonial videos is just one way that fulfills my purpose in life.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first launched my business,” and why? Please share a story or example for each.

1 . Have a contract for everything. There have been a few times when clients have let me down by running off with the product before it has been paid. Having everything in writing shows that you are a legitimate company as well.

2 . Save 25% of every dollar you make.

3 . Make sure you are satisfied with your company name. This name should be with you forever. You don’t want to build a successful company name and then change it 5 years later, only to start all over again.

4. Have a five-year plan and set daily goals to achieve that plan.

5. Make time for friends, family, and yourself. Being a business owner can be incredibly demanding, and it’s easy to get lost in the hustle. However, it’s crucial to set aside time for the people who matter most and to take care of your own well-being. This balance not only keeps you grounded but also ensures you’re operating at your best.

Can you share a few ideas or stories from your experience about how to successfully ride the emotional highs & lows of being a founder”?

Self-help business books have truly helped me understand business. I simply just want to be a better person than I was the day before. I strive to stay humble, but I also don’t want others to mistake my confidence for ego. I will always do the best job I can for my clients.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

I think starting a non-profit for videography services would be a meaningful way to help people. Accepting donations to tell stories to reach viewers in need would be amazing!

How can our readers further follow your work online?

You can follow me on instagram @weaverfilms or visit my website at https://weaverfilms.co/.

This was very inspiring. Thank you so much for joining us!

About the Interviewer: Douglas E. Noll, JD, MA was born nearly blind, crippled with club feet, partially deaf, and left-handed. He overcame all of these obstacles to become a successful civil trial lawyer. In 2000, he abandoned his law practice to become a peacemaker. His calling is to serve humanity, and he executes his calling at many levels. He is an award-winning author, teacher, and trainer. He is a highly experienced mediator. Doug’s work carries him from international work to helping people resolve deep interpersonal and ideological conflicts. Doug teaches his innovative de-escalation skill that calms any angry person in 90 seconds or less. With Laurel Kaufer, Doug founded Prison of Peace in 2009. The Prison of Peace project trains life and long terms incarcerated people to be powerful peacemakers and mediators. He has been deeply moved by inmates who have learned and applied deep, empathic listening skills, leadership skills, and problem-solving skills to reduce violence in their prison communities. Their dedication to learning, improving, and serving their communities motivates him to expand the principles of Prison of Peace so that every human wanting to learn the skills of peace may do so. Doug’s awards include California Lawyer Magazine Lawyer of the Year, Best Lawyers in America Lawyer of the Year, Purpose Prize Fellow, International Academy of Mediators Syd Leezak Award of Excellence, National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals Neutral of the Year. His four books have won a number of awards and commendations. Doug’s podcast, Listen With Leaders, is now accepting guests. Click on this link to learn more and apply.

--

--

Doug Noll
Authority Magazine

Award-winning author, teacher, trainer, and now podcaster.