Boston Dynamics’ Cassie Moreira On How We Can Increase Girls’ Participation in Engineering and Robotics

An Interview With Vanessa Ogle

Vanessa Ogle
Authority Magazine
12 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Don’t underestimate the skills and determination you have to offer. While detailed résumé matters, critical thinking, communication, and excitement about the subject often matter more than hard qualifications.

Despite the growing importance of engineering and robotics in shaping our future, women remain significantly underrepresented in these fields. This series aims to explore and address the barriers that discourage girls from pursuing careers in engineering and robotics. We are talking to educators, industry leaders, pioneering women engineers, and robotics experts who have made significant contributions to their fields, to discuss the strategies they believe can inspire and increase the participation of young girls in engineering and robotics. As part of this series, we had the pleasure of interviewing Cassie Moreira.

Cassie Moreira is an electrical engineer at Boston Dynamics, where she works on rigid and flex PCBA design, dynamic cable assembly design, and failure analysis of electrical systems. She is also responsible for electro-mechanical robot troubleshooting, upgrading, and improvements. Prior to her current role, she served as an electrical technician. Moreira has been at the company since 2008 and has worked on several of the company’s robots, including Spot, Big Dog, Littledog, Petman, and Atlas. She graduated from Cape Cod Technical High School where she learned computer maintenance, basic soldering, CAD, and started tinkering in hobby robotics.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! Before we dig in, our readers would like to get to know you a bit more. Can you tell us a bit about your “backstory”? What led you to this particular career path?

I attended Cape Cod Technical High School, where I learned about computer maintenance, basic soldering, and CAD and started tinkering with hobby robotics. Initially, I took exploratory courses that covered a variety of trades, which is when I realized how much I enjoyed computers, troubleshooting problems with electronics, and fixing things.

I built a small robot from plastic and metal strips bolted together for my senior project. It’s one goal was to avoid bumping into obstacles, and at the time, it was quite a challenge for me as the project incorporated software, hardware, and firmware. That’s when I realized I was more interested in hardware and less in the software and firmware side of things. It was a unique learning experience, and the electronics aspect was a little insight into what I’d be doing later in my career.

I brought this robot with me to my interview at Boston Dynamics, which didn’t work at the time. However, talking through how I could troubleshoot to fix it with the team was another insight into what my job would consist of once I was hired. I had always been a fan of Boston Dynamics, so getting hired, nonetheless, and being able to interview with the company was such an accomplishment.

I spent my first 11 to 12 years at Boston Dynamics as an electrical technician, and for the last four to five years, I’ve been on the electrical engineering team. My career progression came from naturally wanting to push my knowledge of the subject matter further, as there’s always more to learn in robotics.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Seeing new ideas come to life is always an exciting part of my job at Boston Dynamics; this example is more general and not a specific instance, but it is one of my favorite parts of my job. The first things that come to mind are the instances in which I’ve built relationships with my team. Working with my colleagues to troubleshoot, run experiments, and build off each other’s ideas to find a solution together is always interesting. The most satisfying part of what I do comes from the culture of working together and going hard at a problem. There are many enjoyable and exciting things when you work with robots but getting to know people while working together is also very gratifying. Whether it be staying to help a teammate solve a problem or bouncing off each other’s ideas, it not only increases productivity, but those interactions have made my career even more enjoyable and interesting in the end, and I’ve built some true friendships.

What inspired you to pursue a career in engineering or robotics, and how can we replicate that inspiration for young girls?

I have a great support system, including my parents. They saw that I always put forth my best effort in school and encouraged me to follow what I was interested in. I think it’s important for young girls to be encouraged to try new things, even (or especially!) if its primarily boys doing them. Even though my interests were “out of my parent’s wheelhouse” they trusted the tech school and other adults to mentor me.

For example, my parents were initially hesitant about me attending a technical high school, which is a unique route, but I wouldn’t be where I am today if I didn’t go and take courses that led to my interest in hardware and robotics and my parents hadn’t given it a chance. We can create that inspiration for young girls today by encouraging them to try weird or less common new activities, supporting them throughout, and giving them a chance to learn about the engineering and robotics fields, such as clubs like Girl Scouts.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

Gosh, what a difficult question. I have SO many. My parents and teachers saw that I put forth my best effort and supported me. They let me know that I could be competent in anything I put my mind to (which was robotics in my case) no matter what, even if there weren’t many other girls like me doing it I would especially include the interviewers at Boston Dynamics who took a chance on a young woman straight out of high school who didn’t know a lot at the time but had a lot of excitement to tinker.

Can you share a story of a challenge you faced as a woman in engineering or robotics and how you overcame it?

I always wanted to get an A in school, but it didn’t come easy. That’s how working in robotics and engineering can feel sometimes, especially when you are a young woman entering a male-dominated industry. I think there’s some truth to the statement when people say, “You have to be better, work harder, and crush it more than the boys if you want to stick through it” in whatever male-dominated topic you’re discussing. This is true in the hobby car world as well for example. Having tough skin is definitely a great asset especially in engineering as a woman.

In the past nearly 30 years, the science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) workforce has grown 79 percent, with the field slated to increase another 13 percent by 2027. Despite such astronomical growth, women remain a minority in the field. It didn’t feel like a massive hurdle because I knew what I was going into; even in high school, there were very few young women along with me. I was already used to being the only girl in the room. However, girls at college are seeing more women within their major or schools, but it can be a shock once they go into the field of engineering in the real world, especially for those in software.

I’ve always felt valued at my company, regardless of my gender. However, I feel that having more women in our engineering projects has been a very pleasant change. I didn’t realize what I was missing by not having other women around until we had more… I felt even more productive and heard/understood at times. Having more experienced women I can learn from, along with my male mentors, is very well-rounded.

Is there a particular book that made a significant impact on you? Can you share a story or explain why it resonated with you so much?

I tend to read more manuals or graphic novels than storybooks. However, I am a movie and TV person. Over time, I’ve seen the representation of the main characters change. It’s not always about a boy or middle-aged man as the protagonist in a cool action or spy movie, but we are starting to see more female leads doing awesome difficult things. We’re still not used to seeing this image as a society, but it is uplifting when I see a powerful woman in the same way that a man would commonly be portrayed in stories or films. The norm is improving, but I hope society’s image of men usually representing intelligence and accomplishment will transfer to women also being seen as subject matter experts in their field etc.

Do you have a favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Do you have a story about how that was relevant in your life or your work?

“I’ve got a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom.” — Thomas Carlyle

How have you used your success to make the world a better place?

The robots we work on at Boston Dynamics are designed to go where traditional vehicles cannot, and our goal is for them to perform work in support of people. I think working on projects intending to make people’s jobs and lives less strenuous and dangerous is one step closer to making the world a better place. Robots are disposable, human beings should not be.

Ok, thank you for that. Let’s now jump to the primary focus of our interview. According to this report, only about 16% of engineering positions in the US are held by women. This reflects great historical progress, but it also shows that more work still has to be done to empower women. In your opinion and experience what is currently holding back women from Engineering and Robotics?

There are women who want to be involved in engineering and robotics, but I think companies themselves have to go out and find those people. I also think hiring a woman with the intention of building them into the employee you want needs to happen more, which is exactly what happened with me. Maybe they don’t have the right qualifications yet.

It’s also crucial that women, and people in general, don’t think of robotics as a narrow path. For example, the skills of a robotics technician transfer from anything in the automotive industry (working with cars, trains, aerospace etc.). A lot of it is similar to robotics. If you can show others that you’re self-sufficient, look for solutions to problems, ask the right people the right questions, and do research on your own, you can find a niche within the industry that is meant for you, regardless of your gender. For me, it was electronics repair and reliability for a long time.

This might be intuitive to you but I think it will be helpful to spell this out. Can you share a few reasons why more women should enter the Engineering and Robotics fields?

  • You learn skills that are very useful in everyday life, such as fixing your car or appliances or working on your house.
  • Making new things work for the first is the most gratifying thing.
  • Solving hard problems no one has done before with your team is top-notch.
  • You can make a lot of money.

Can you please share “5 Things We Need To Increase Girls’ Participation in Engineering and Robotics?”

1 . Embrace your curiosity about things that might even seem weird to you, and just try it! For example, you can try welding, soldering, Legos, simulation/computer work, or taking apart electronics.

2 . It’s ok to fail or not win — it’s much more realistic. We need to stop socializing girls to expect perfection and fear failure.

3 . If you ever feel like you are not good enough to apply for a job in engineering or robotics, try not to let that stop you. You don’t need to check all the boxes, most candidates don’t. There’s no harm in applying for a job you are interested in. If you fit the job description, you’re just as qualified as the other person. Pursuing something I thought was beyond my capabilities led me to a career beyond my wildest dreams. If I hadn’t taken that risk, I wouldn’t be where I am now.

4 . Robotics and engineering are broad fields, so if you don’t know what exactly you want to do in the field or where you can apply your knowledge, do the research and talk to people from various sides of the industry who have different roles. Seeking ways to expand your knowledge, like joining a STEM club or attending robotics events, can provide you with opportunities to network and hear from people who have different perspectives of the industry.

5 . Don’t underestimate the skills and determination you have to offer. While detailed résumé matters, critical thinking, communication, and excitement about the subject often matter more than hard qualifications.

In your opinion, what are the most effective ways to introduce girls to engineering and robotics at an early age?

Girls should be encouraged to learn about engineering and robotics through after-school programs, workshops, or courses in school. Additionally, when girls have female mentors or role models who work in the engineering or robotics field, their perception of the industry as ‘meant for men’ may shift. Educators and parents can help create an environment to inspire more girls to pursue careers in the engineering and robotics fields by posing it as achievable and possible.

How do you think the portrayal of women in STEM fields by media and educational materials impacts girls’ interest in engineering and robotics?

The media wants people in the news, movies, and even textbooks to appear credible. However, it’s been hard for them to get past the fact that women are also credible experts in STEM. It doesn’t show as well, not as authoritative.

But things are moving in the right direction, and we have seen more women in STEM interviewed and quoted by the media. I believe it’s possible to find that balance and put unconscious biases behind us because the inclusion of women does matter. Life can copy art, so seeing experts in STEM in the news, on television, and in textbooks can spark the inspiration that young girls and women around the world deserve. These roles should be seen as a real possibility, not a pipe dream.

What advice would you give to girls who are interested in engineering and robotics but are hesitant to take the first step?

If there are engineering and robotics clubs or courses accessible to you, just give it a shot! It might be scary to feel like you don’t know anything but trust me, there are other people like you in those clubs, too!! Taking that step towards something I initially believed was beyond my reach propelled me towards a career far beyond my imagination because I realized how much I loved it.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire a movement that would bring the most amount of good for the greatest number of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger.

If I could snap my fingers and change human behavior defaults, I would update people’s firmware with more empathy. If we shift into an empathic state of mind when we try to solve problems (personal, team, technical), we will likely get a better solution. Putting ourselves into other people’s shoes would open the minds of those who don’t think certain people should be involved in specific careers.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

You can check out my video on YouTube titled: Ask A Roboticist: Meet Cassie | Boston Dynamics

The Boston Dynamics website also shows what we’re working on, and you can find updates on the company’s social media channels.

Thank you for these fantastic insights. We greatly appreciate the time you spent on this.

About The Interviewer: Vanessa Ogle is a mom, entrepreneur, inventor, writer, and singer/songwriter. Vanessa’s talent in building world-class leadership teams focused on diversity, a culture of service, and innovation through inclusion allowed her to be one of the most acclaimed Latina CEO’s in the last 30 years. She collaborated with the world’s leading technology and content companies such as Netflix, Amazon, HBO, and Broadcom to bring innovative solutions to travelers and hotels around the world. Vanessa is the lead inventor on 120+ U.S. Patents. Accolades include: FAST 100, Entrepreneur 360 Best Companies, Inc. 500 and then another six times on the Inc. 5000. Vanessa was personally honored with Inc. 100 Female Founder’s Award, Ernst and Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award, and Enterprising Women of the Year among others. Vanessa now spends her time sharing stories to inspire and give hope through articles, speaking engagements and music. In her spare time she writes and plays music in the Amazon best-selling new band HigherHill, teaches surfing clinics, trains dogs, and cheers on her children.

Please connect with Vanessa here on linkedin and subscribe to her newsletter Unplugged as well as follow her on Substack, Instagram, Facebook, and X and of course on her website VanessaOgle.

--

--

Vanessa Ogle
Authority Magazine

Vanessa Ogle is an entrepreneur, inventor, writer, and singer/songwriter. She is best known as the founder of Enseo