Charlie Bellarose: 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Content Creator

An Interview With Susan Johnston

Authority Magazine Editorial Staff
Authority Magazine
10 min readJul 29, 2024

--

It can be tough to find the right people to collaborate with. Yes, I wear a lot of hats, but I can’t do everything on my own and having a solid crew makes all the difference in the world. You have to find people who are not only talented, but also believe in your vision and with whom you enjoy working with. That combination can be very difficult to find, especially in an industry where you have to manage a lot of egos. I’ve worked with people who I thought were very talented, but our energies on set just didn’t mesh well. That can lead to a lot of frustration and add a lot of unnecessary stress to the process.

As a part of our series called “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Became A Filmmaker”, I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Charlie Bellarose.

Charlie Bellarose is an award-winning French-American actor, writer, producer and director. She has garnered critical acclaim and recognition for her unique, colorful style and raw comedic tone. Her films have been featured in numerous international film festivals, where they have received accolades for their artistic merit and visual aesthetic.

Thank you so much for joining us in this interview series! Our readers would love to get to know you a bit better. Can you tell us a bit of the ‘backstory’ of how you grew up?

My story is a bit unusual. I am originally from Paris, France, but I grew up watching American cinema. My parents had a library’s worth of films that I would binge on as a kid. I would get lost in the characters and their stories; living vicariously through them. I’ve always had a wild imagination, a knack for storytelling and a need for artistic expression. I would often perform skits for my family, making up elaborate scenarios. I loved entertaining others and making them laugh.

Can you share a story with us about what brought you to this specific career path?

After I graduated college, I had an inexplicable pull to move to Los Angeles and try my hand at acting and filmmaking. I figured, “What the hell, it’s now or never.” My first year in Tinseltown, I ended up joining a writing group whose members were young professionals working in the film industry. Every week, we would read a screenplay that one of us had written and give each other feedback on how we could improve it. I had written several screenplays over the years. When my turn came, I chose a pilot that I had written for a web series called “Hollywounded.” Everyone loved it. “We have to make this,” they said. And just like that, I had a whole production team at my disposal. I ended up creating a small production company (Hollywounded Productions) and began submitting the series to various film festivals. This was in 2019, right before Covid. In the last 2 years, “Hollywounded” (which I wrote, directed, produced and star in) has won 8 awards for best comedy series and I couldn’t be happier. I also completed my award-winning film “Jacques”; a whimsical dark comedy about a stray dog who finds refuge in the arms of an eccentric young woman. All I can say is that I feel incredibly blessed to be where I am today and I look forward to creating more content in the future.

Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that occurred to you in the course of your content creator career?

When I was looking to hire crew members for my latest film “Jacques”, people thought I was crazy. “The main character is a dog? That’s insane!” I kept getting rejections because people didn’t think I could pull it off. But one thing about me is; I love to prove people wrong, especially those who doubt what I’m capable of. It took me a while but eventually, I found people who believed in me and the project just as much as I did, and together, we created something beautiful. My point is, even if other people think your idea is completely insane, don’t give up. Eventually, you’ll find people who match your level of crazy.

Who are some of the most interesting people you have interacted with? What was that like? Do you have any stories?

I worked with Comedian Bill Dawes and that was a riot. I love working with comedians because they have no filter and they don’t take themselves seriously.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

I want to thank my writing group. They all had plenty of film experience under their belt and had been a part of some major projects working alongside filmmakers like Terrance Malik and Woody Allen. Needless to say, I was a little intimidated considering my very limited experience, but they’re the reason that I got into filmmaking. They were the first ones to encourage me to shoot something that I had written, and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

A friend of mine once told me, “Don’t give up before the magic happens.” That really resonated with me. The film/entertainment industry is one of the most difficult and most competitive industries out there, and it takes a lot of hard work and dedication to succeed. It can be difficult to keep a positive attitude when it seems like all your hard work isn’t paying off the way you want it to. Rejection can be very taxing on the soul. I’ve had moments where I just wanted to say, “To hell with everything! I’m done!” It’s tough when we see others with similar goals succeed before we do, but I’ve learned that it’s important not to compare ourselves to others because we are all on a different life path and what might work for one person, may not work for another. Just because things are tough now, doesn’t mean they’re always going to be. You never know what amazing opportunity is just around the corner, and if you give up, then you’ll never find out. No one should sell themselves short. They say; “If you can dream it, then you can do it,” and I, for one, believe that our dreams are worth pursuing. So my major life lesson is: don’t give up before the magic happens!

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now?

I am currently working on a feature about young woman who struggles with sex and love addiction. It’s still in the early stages so I don’t want to give too much away. It is very dark and raw, but also humorous; basically all the things that I love. My show Hollywounded was picked up for distribution by Select Services Films Inc. Having distribution does help with future projects.

Which aspect of your work makes you most proud? Can you explain or give a story?

I believe that what sets me apart is having a unique and compelling creative vision. Everything that I do has a very specific aesthetic. I love bright, bold colors and eccentric sets that pop off the screen and capture the audience’s attention. I also have a distinctive voice and writing style that is very raw and rooted in authenticity. I like to tell stories in a way that feels fresh, innovative, and authentic by infusing my work with personality and originality. Audiences always seem to be pleasantly surprised by my work. I hear the following phrase a lot: “It’s not at all what I was expecting.” Well good! Looks like I’ve done something right.

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me when I first started” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

  1. Funding is hard to find. Film is an oversaturated market with limited funding channels. It’s incredibly difficult to get access to public funding and the application process is grueling and requires prior experience, which is impossible for emerging filmmakers. This is why I have self-funded all of my content. Most people don’t know how much effort it takes and how expensive it is to make a film. Even a 10 to 15-minute short can end up costing between $30,000 to $50,000. Sure, I could shoot something cheap on an iPhone, but I’m not interested in cheap. I’m interested in quality and quality doesn’t come cheap.
  2. Filmmaking is grueling work. When you have limited funds, you end up doing the job of a dozen people — not only am I the writer, but I’m also the director, the producer, the actor, the hair and makeup artist, the production designer, the location scout, the editor, and the casting director. Is it easy? No. But I love every bit of the filmmaking process, so I do it.
  3. It can be tough to find the right people to collaborate with. Yes, I wear a lot of hats, but I can’t do everything on my own and having a solid crew makes all the difference in the world. You have to find people who are not only talented, but also believe in your vision and with whom you enjoy working with. That combination can be very difficult to find, especially in an industry where you have to manage a lot of egos. I’ve worked with people who I thought were very talented, but our energies on set just didn’t mesh well. That can lead to a lot of frustration and add a lot of unnecessary stress to the process.
  4. Watch out for deceitful individuals. One of my biggest lessons on this journey is to not let other people take advantage of you. Like I said, this is a very tough industry and a lot of people aren’t who they portray themselves to be. They’ll say they want to help you, but in reality, they have ulterior motives. It’s important to stand up for yourself and surround yourself with genuine people, especially as a female trying to make it in a male-dominated industry.
  5. Getting the right people to see your work. This has been the biggest challenge so far. Almost no one buys short films. I believe Medium even published an article about this very subject. And although, yes, it’s true that there are many platforms where you can showcase your content such as YouTube, Vimeo, social media etc., it’s important to keep in mind that these platforms are also oversaturated. And in some cases (like mine), your content may not be suitable for a particular platform due to their strict content policies. Apart from having my films showcased in festivals, it’s been very difficult getting the right people to see my work.

When you create a film, which stakeholders have the greatest impact on the artistic and cinematic choices you make? Is it the viewers, the critics, the financiers, or your own personal artistic vision? Can you share a story with us or give an example about what you mean?

To be completely honest, I don’t think about that when I’m making a film. What matters most to me is that I’m staying true to myself and my artistic vision, and telling the stories that I want to tell. I realize that the content that I create might not be for everyone, but that’s okay. I also know that there’s always going to be an audience who’s interested in what I’m creating. Of course, if someone came to me tomorrow and said, “We’re offering you a couple million dollars to make this film, but we’re going to need you to change a few things,” well, I think that deserves a conversation.

You are a person of great influence. If you could spread an idea that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can prompt. :-)

Laughter. Not only does laughter reduce stress, tension, and anxiety, but it also brings us together and helps us keep a positive attitude in the face of life’s challenges. We live in a world filled with such chaos and misery that it’s easy to get sucked into a dark hole, but if we are able to somehow laugh in the midst of that darkness, only then can we see the light at the end of tunnel. If I can make one person laugh today, then I’ve done my part for the collective.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? They might see this. :-)

Probably Casey Bloys, the Chief Content Officer for HBO and HBO Max. It’s always been a dream of mine to create a hit series for HBO. So mister Bloys, if you’re reading this, give me a call.

How can our readers further follow you online?

Instagram @hollywounded I’m working on original content for TikTok at the moment so stay tuned for that.

If you would like us to tag you on social media when we share it, please list your profiles:

@hollywounded

About The Interviewer: Susan Johnston is a Media Futurist, Columnist as well as Founder and Director at New Media Film Festival®. The New Media Film Festival® — honoring stories worth telling since 2009, is an Award-winning, inclusive, and boundary-pushing catalyst for storytelling and technology. Susan was knighted in Rome in 2017 for her work in Arts & Humanity.

--

--