Christine Whitmarsh On The 5 Things You Need to Know to Become a Great Author

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
8 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Ask for help when and where you need it — don’t try and go it alone!

As part of my interview series on the five things you need to know to become a great author, I had the pleasure of interviewing Christine Whitmarsh. Christine “Ink” Whitmarsh is a memoir expert who helps authors write life-changing books. She is a bestselling author of five books, most recently the memoir “The Power of the Curve” which has been described as an “Inspirational story about a curved journey to personal and professional success!” Christine also hosts the daily podcast for authors, “Your Daily Writing Habit.”

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you share a story about what brought you to this particular career path?

In 2000 living in Los Angeles, desperate to launch a freelance writing career, rubbing pennies together for heat, my mom (highly motivated to help me earn money) suggested I place an ad in the local college newspapers offering to type student term papers. A UCLA student visiting home tossed a copy of a paper with my ad on the family kitchen table, classified section up. Dad walked by, spotted my ad, contacted me and asked if I could type 20 years of notes he had for a book he wanted to write. The typing job became an editing…

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.