Clarence Bethea of Upsie: “How to Provide a Wow! Customer Experience”

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine
Published in
7 min readMay 27, 2020

--

Talk to your customers first. They will help you develop what they need and want. Before we built a real product, we talked to hundreds of customers and figured out if there was a real problem to solve.

As part of my how to provide a wow customer experience column, I had the pleasure of interviewing Clarence Bethea. Clarence is the founder and CEO of Upsie.

Thank you so much for joining us, Clarence! Our readers would love to “get to know you” a bit better. Can you tell us a bit about your ‘backstory’ and how you got started?

I worked with a local trucking startup and in less than one year, negotiated new contracts and increased revenue by 200 percent while managing a team of 10. It was my first real job and it showed me that I was capable of so much more. I went on to help launch another startup and in the first two years, helped them reach $1.5 million in revenue. All of my earlier experiences strengthened my foundation and gave me confidence in my abilities prior to starting Upsie.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lessons or ‘take aways’ you

--

--

Kristin Marquet
Authority Magazine

Publicist and author based in New York City. Founder and Creative Director of FemFounder.co and Marquet-Media.com.