Commercial Interior Design: Jackie Wilcox of BKV Group On How To Design Office Spaces That People Love To Work In

Authority Magazine
Authority Magazine
Published in
9 min readNov 30, 2023

Integrate choice. Allow employees to choose how they are working. Some people are most productive when they are in quiet and calm spaces, others thrive off noise and activity of others. The modern office no longer considers a static workstation. The workstation can move from a desk to comfortable lounge seating to a quiet huddle room or out to a vibrant work café.

As part of our series called “How To Design Office Spaces That People Love To Work In”, we had the pleasure of interviewing Jackie Wilcox, AIA, IIDA, Director of Interior Design and Associate Partner, BKV Group.

Jackie has over a decade of experience leading and designing a wide range of project types, with a dedicated focus on creating high performing interior environments. As director of interior design, she is embedded in the design and building process from concept to completion, ensuring the overall vision is realized and omnipresent in every detail. Spanning her professional education to career practice, Jackie is fascinated by the effect interior space has on culture, occupant mood, and well-being, and approaches each project with the intention of connecting people to their environment and each other.

Thank you so much for joining us in this series! Before we dive in, our readers would love to learn a bit more about you. Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

When I began my schooling, I knew I loved architecture + design, but also was curious about psychology. I committed to the architecture program at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and partnered my architectural focus with several classes in psychology. Ultimately my love for architecture, and specifically interior architecture, surpassed that of other interests and I graduated with a degree in architecture which led to licensure. However, the psychology of space and how it affects human behavior has remained a passion of mine. I find it fascinating how spatial relationships can influence human behavior and love analyzing the social and emotional effects of interior design.

People first design has become my personal ethos, and a driver to my process.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you started this career?

For me, the most interesting project stories all tie back to process, and the journey to reaching a design solution.

I came to that ‘aha’ moment while working with a group of teens and administrators for an adaptive reuse of a bank building in one of Chicago’s western neighborhoods. Its new usage was to be an after-school program for teens along with the satellite offices for the administration team that runs the program. At project commencement, our design team hosted an all-day workshop focused on the teens and their program providers. Through a series of exercises, we shared stories which detailed their complex relationship with the city and shed light on their diverse backgrounds. We were able to understand the user at a level beyond the basic programmatic room data and provide them with a product that they did not know how to ask for. The resulting space was one that gave the teens ownership and pride in their environment and became a representation of their creativity.

The story has personal interest for me because it marked a turning point in my approach to design. Rather than starting with a ‘form and function,’ laying the foundational design drivers as characteristics of its users has led me to my most meaningful projects.

It has been said that sometimes our mistakes can be our greatest teachers. Can you share a story about a mistake you made when you were first starting and a lesson you learned from that?

Lessons learned can be gleaned from every project and experience to this day. At a high level, I’ve learned the importance of communication. How we choose to communicate with our teams, clients and industry partners is key in becoming an effective leader and creating inspiring work. Through years of trial and error I’ve learned that messaging is key to telling a compelling story, leading to a more fulfilling career.

Specifically, I remember presenting design materials early in my career. It was all about ‘what looked cool’ through my own lens and perspective, of course. At first, I didn’t get why clients and peers didn’t immediately latch on to presentations of zoomy interior spaces with the trendy finish palettes. After years of experience and forced iteration after iteration I’ve discovered the importance of linking design to story and purpose.

Can you please give us your favorite “Life Lesson Quote”? Can you share how that was relevant to you in your life?

This is somewhat cheeseball, but ‘You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take,’ quote by Wayne Gretzky stands out. In essence — go for it, don’t be scared. And if there’s failure, read response above regarding trial and error. Repeat. Also note, I am still frequently scared.

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story about that?

There have been so many people that have gotten me to where I am today, each for separate reasons. There are some that had the patience to teach me technical skills. There are those that lit a fire under me to always do my best design work. The influence of team members has molded me into a better communicator. And there are those that encouraged me to be fearless in my pursuits and maintain big dreams.

During a pivotal point in my professional development, I was mentored by a design firm principal, Matt Wylie, AIA. It’s through that relationship that I’ve moved to each chapter in my career with confidence, and have developed my own personal mission.

What are some of the most interesting or exciting projects you are working on now? How do you think that might help people?

Two separate projects immediately come to mind as ‘most interesting’ and another for most helpful to people.

Certainly, my most exciting project is for Barstool Sports headquarter office in Chicago. Barstool Sports is a media company that focuses on creating podcasts and video content frequently posted on YouTube. They have a platform of 1.67 million followers on YouTube alone, so the pressure was on in terms of design excellence and delivery. The design challenge for this project was to create a space which best inspired the employees to be creative and produce content, while allowing for flexibility of branding and sponsorship for the varying shows. So, give me a blank canvas, but also inspire us to be our most creative selves. Easy right? The solution was to create a space that encourages impromptu moments of creativity throughout the office, not just within the studios. By integrating, in every nook and cranny, spaces like food and beverage hubs, comfortable and casual seating elements, golf simulator, demonstration kitchen, and a full basketball court, it generates an air of excitement throughout the office.

A project I am currently working on that I feel best helps people is an affordable housing development. I find it valuable to take concepts and ideas from all the overlapping market segments that I am involved with and feather them into projects of all types. The concept of using a nicely designed pantry space to encourage people to create a sense of community translates across project type whether it be a studio for podcasters or a community room in an affordable housing building.

Thank you for that. Here is the main question of our discussion. What are your “Five Things You Should Do To Design Office Spaces That People Love To Work In” and why. Please share a story or example for each.

1 . Connect and understand those for whom you are designing. Solutions are not prescriptive and require us to understand the work culture of each company that occupies office space. For example, I am currently working with a tech company in Minneapolis to move from a historical loft building into a more industrial new construction property. Our challenge as the design team was creating an environment that captured the quirky nature of each varying department, but they were all so different! We ended up approaching the office plan as essentially a city plan, made stronger by the unique characteristics of each neighborhood.

2 . Integrate choice. Allow employees to choose how they are working. Some people are most productive when they are in quiet and calm spaces, others thrive off noise and activity of others. The modern office no longer considers a static workstation. The workstation can move from a desk to comfortable lounge seating to a quiet huddle room or out to a vibrant work café.

3 . Prioritize DEI. Ensuring our spaces are accessible and relatable to all cultural backgrounds. Creating a strong and thriving work culture means creating an environment that welcomes all. Outreach can uncover the diversity of a workplace user and ensure equitable design solutions. This may come in the form of resources availability which puts employees on a level playing field for opportunities. Creating a space that celebrates community and encourages building occupants that they have the platforms for sharing their unique backgrounds.

4 . High Tech. Hybrid work has required that technologies evolve to suit various ways for meeting and connecting. I am eager to see how AI can bolster our work productivity and efficiency. Additionally, how technology can be used to pull data points to inform future design. For example, I was working with a developer who had the technology to analyze ‘hot spot’ zones throughout their amenity spaces. Through this technology they could tell that the comfortable lounge seating near the windows was getting utilized more than the dark and moody phone booths located deeper into the building core. Using technology to ensure we continue to improve and get better as opposed to doing things ‘the way they’ve always been done’.

5 . Providing balance. Balance is an overarching theme to health, wellness and sustainability. Thinking about the longevity and flexibility of space as sustainable is a key element. Wellness components can be balanced by creating moments of activity which are complimented by areas of respite.

You are a person of great influence. If you could start a movement that would bring the most amount of good to the most amount of people, what would that be? You never know what your idea can trigger. :-)

In such a vast industry, it’s hard to believe I’m very influential, but what keeps me going is the positive impact I may have on those in my sphere and that no matter what the project is, myself and the team around me are doing our best work. Through this lens my ‘movement’ is more incremental in nature.

We are very blessed that some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might see this, especially if we tag them :-)

Michelle Obama or Joanna Gaines. I love any story which starts with a rise from humble beginnings to self-made success. If I were to have lunch with either, there would be a lot of fan girling. I’d ask about their approach to empowering women and how they persevered on the hard days. I’d ask if their messages were ever misunderstood and how they combat the negativity. I’d want to hear about how they balance motherhood with careers. I’d ask how they found their life purpose and developed their mission. I’d also ask if we could make the lunch date reoccurring.

How can our readers further follow your work online?

Go to bkvgroup.com, or follow me on Instagram @jackiewilcox

Thank you so much for joining us. This was very inspirational!

--

--

Authority Magazine
Authority Magazine

In-depth interviews with authorities in Business, Pop Culture, Wellness, Social Impact, and Tech